We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$106
Breakfast included
Priceline
AU$106
Breakfast included
Go to your Happy Price
Algotels
AU$94
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
dink
Cardiff, United Kingdom

Strange experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Feb 2024via mobile
We had a great time, room was amazing, the food was lovely. There’s only 2 things that id like to point out. First the kettle in our room had limescale/mold inside of it. Secondly which really concerned me is that we went out side for around 10-15 mins to walk around by the water we returned to our room, and the bathroom door was locked. This wasn’t when we had arrived to our room. My partner used a coin to unlock the door from our side of the room and there was nobody inside the bathroom. Im just confused as to if this is a usual thing that happens in this hotel? As I cannot understand a logical reason to how this happened and I was extremely terrified!
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$69
  • Priceline
    AU$69
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$63
  • Expedia.com
    AU$71
1.2 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior
Travelodge
AU$60
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$171
  • Hotels.com
    AU$164
  • Agoda.com
    AU$146
  • Expedia.com
    AU$171
1.3 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
AU$76
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
    AU$120
  • Agoda.com
    AU$66
  • Vio.com
    AU$66
1.4 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$206
  • Priceline
    AU$206
  • Algotels
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$206
1.3 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$123
  • Vio.com
    AU$123
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$122
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
0.8 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Priceline
AU$64
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$54
  • Trip.com
    AU$61
  • Travelodge
    AU$58
1.0 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Booking.com
AU$157
  • Novotel
    AU$157
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$141
  • Priceline
    AU$157
0.5 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$177
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$177
  • Algotels
    AU$171
  • Expedia.com
    AU$177
1.5 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$154
  • Algotels
    AU$136
  • Hotels.com
    AU$154
1.4 km from Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveller rating
358
455
219
56
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
358
455
219
56
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cardiff bay city centre mermaid quay minute walk per night yogurt reception staff car parking night's sleep hairdryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2024

Nothing wrong with hotel apart from the noise. Don't get a room facing the water as there is a steel factory or similar opposite that works 24/7 and is really noisy. The windows double glazing is poor so you hear it all night. If staying and a light sleeper don't get a room facing the water

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Hello Neville W,

Thank you for your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, United Kingdom.

We're determined to make your stay pleasant, and I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your visit. I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I trust that the actions that they will be taking will make your next stay with us better than the last. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience.

I hope you stay with us again!

Best regards,

Clayton G.
Case Manager
IHG Hotels and Resorts Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024

We stayed here last weekend and very completely satisfied with everything. The location was perfect within close walking distance of the bay and a short walk to town centre. We had lovely views of the river, the room was roomy and clean, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was great. All staff were very helpful and friendly 🙂

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

Reputed hotel, spacious rooms, excellent breakfast spread and fast WiFi. The room where we stayed had an enchanting view of the Bay. The staff are quite helpful but maybe due to Christmas, the options for dinner were very limited. The security to exist is guided by a number code, this is excellent for safety. The only disadvantage is that, this hotel is located far away from the city centre and we have to engage a taxi whenever we want to go out. Overall,this is a good place for a leisurely stay.

Room tip: Parking available for those staying in the hotel.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MadanGopalM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2023 via mobile

Firstly friendly staff and easy parking. The room is very clean and comfortable and the food menu although limited is fine with a fair selection of meals. I had the fish and chips which was a good sized portion. Breakfast was good to set you up for the day. The only down points for me was the constant noise from the road and steel works across the old dick which is noticeable all night so maybe ask for a room at the front? Breakfast is at 7 so a little late if you need to be in the road early. But a good place to stay overall.

Room tip: Roommate front due to noise at rear.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Wander51176698314
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2023

What a great hotel lovely position on waterfront. The staff were excellent a mention to the lovely Spanish lady on reception and the blonde lady at breakfast ( 20/11) … we enjoy the holiday inns as there usually the same price as the Travel lodges and Premier Inns but you get free breakfast.. we enjoyed the Cardiff Bay so much we’ve booked again through super.com (best price) purely because everyone of the staff were friendly and welcoming.Well done see you again soon.

Room tip: Check all the third party offers for best price usually best on Tuesdays … super.com best
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mejudy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews