We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse bed EVER!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Wigan, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worse bed EVER!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We should have stayed here for 3 nights from 22nd Feb - 25th Feb but had to return home after 1 night because my husband wasn't well. We never got to explore the area, which is a shame, but we will be back at some point during the year. However, it won't be to this hotel simply because of the bed, it was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever TRIED to sleep in.

The hotel was good value and the location was excellent but the bed let it down..sorry!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear jmspeaky

Firstly, I do hope that your husband is feeling better. I'm sorry that you found our bed to be uncomfortable during your recent stay with us.
As you found us good value for money and a great location and are planning a return trip to Cardiff, I'd be delighted if we could welcome you back to the hotel. If you would like to call me on 029 20449000 I'd be happy to discuss this with you.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    342
    176
    45
    9
See reviews for
215
295
30
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

As a family, the cost was important to us, so after getting a great deal online for this hotel, all we hoped for was that it was clean and friendly. We had this and more. The staff went out of their way to help us and we were even allowed to eat our indian takeaway at the restaurant whilst it was closed. The breakfast is lovely, and the staff are so friendly.

All we can say is, gorgeous location, lovely, friendly staff who are willing to help and very clean and comfortable. It's all a family needs and we'd always return on future visits to Cardiff. Really, what more do you need?

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BETH878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Beth878

What a lovely review! I'll certainly share this with the whole team here at the hotel and I'm delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have stayed at this Hotel several times and generally found it to be fairly good with reasonable rooms.

The main problem this weekend was the noise including shouting and bad language, made by the large groups of people returning from nights out in the city center (it was not a Rugby weekend), admittedly the noise did not go on for very long but I was woken on 5 seperate occasions.

The 'standard' room that I had booked turned out to be a very small room with two single beds that were soft, wobbly and uncomfortable. I tried to change room but no double bedded rooms were available.

At £99 I felt that the rate for this room was excessive and the extra £3 parking fee added insult to injury.

Room Tip: Avoid weekends if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandrewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Gandrewz

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm sorry that you didn't have a great experience with us this time.
We do try to allocate groups on busy weekends in advance to try to minimise disruption to our other guests, however on this occasion I realise that this was not a successful option.
If you would like to discuss the issues which you had in more detail, then please call me on 029 20449000.

Kind Regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. Room was standard but comfortable with a nice bathroom. The location is good and it is easy to walk to both the city and the bay.

The staff were lovely and very helpful. We arrived before check in and they locked our bags away, they had maps and gave helpful directions and recommendations and also ordered takeaway for us on our second night.

The only slight negative was that we stayed on a busy weekend and were woken in the middle of the night by people returning to their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear AnnaMLondon

Many thanks for leaving a review for us. I'm delighted that our staff made you feel welcome here at the hotel and will certainly share your comments with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

There is nothing special really about this hotel. It is just a basic Holiday Inn Express. It is very clean and tidy and modern but thats about it. There is no resturant but you are allowed to order in take-away and there is a lovely pub called the Wharf next door.
The Bay area is very pleasent, however, I am sure that for £75 you would be able to find more welcoming accomadation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Ian D

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I'm glad that although as a limited service hotel, we were not able to meet your dinner needs, you found us to be clean and comfortable and in a convenient location.

We are fortunate to have the facility where we can organise any meals taken at the Wharf Pub next door onto our guest's bill - and of course as you pointed out there is also the Takeaway service which we can have delivered straight to the hotel.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,088 reviews
1.5 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,094 reviews
0.5 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 73 in Cardiff
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): $99 - $289
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, IHG, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing