We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$86
Expedia.com
AU$96
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
AU$93
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
big-bill3
Bristol, United Kingdom

Good value

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Mar 2024via mobile
We chose this hotel for its value for money and its central location specifically to the station and the Utilita arena. I would class the hotel as functional and clean. The room was not noisy despite being on the precinct
Breakfast was not available in the week but there are plenty of cafes to choose from nearby
24hr access was easy but there is only stairs to reception
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Access is only by stairs Discounted parking is available Easy access to trains and buses
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards, Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$162
  • Vio.com
    AU$161
  • Priceline
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
    AU$162
0.3 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
AU$72
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
    AU$112
  • Vio.com
    AU$63
  • Agoda.com
    AU$63
0.3 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$198
  • Expedia.com
    AU$198
  • Agoda.com
    AU$173
  • Hotels.com
    AU$198
0.1 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$69
  • Priceline
    AU$69
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$62
  • Vio.com
    AU$69
0.9 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Lobby View
Booking.com
AU$183
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$183
  • Hotels.com
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$183
0.5 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Travelodge
AU$60
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Exterior
Priceline
AU$77
Go to your Happy Price
  • Travelodge
    AU$69
  • Agoda.com
    AU$65
  • Trip.com
    AU$75
0.3 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Booking.com
AU$211
  • Priceline
    AU$211
  • Expedia.com
    AU$211
  • Hotels.com
    AU$211
2.2 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$123
  • Vio.com
    AU$123
  • Skyscanner.com
    AU$122
  • Agoda.com
    AU$123
1.7 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$157
  • Novotel
    AU$157
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$142
  • Priceline
    AU$157
0.8 km from Cardiff Sandringham Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
380
476
217
62
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
380
476
217
62
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift city centre trouser press millennium stadium rooms are basic bit dated single room plenty of hot water train station street noise few minutes walk comfortable room top floor would stay again fantastic location night's sleep tea and coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2024

This is such a lovely hotel, really lovely rooms, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much. Would definitely come back to here again when we visit Cardiff. Really fairly priced. Can’t wait to come back again. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Such brilliant feedback. Thank you so much Carrie, we really appreciate it.
It is great to know you would stay again and we look forward to seeing you.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

For a budget hotel, it's 5 stars. The location is perfect, right in the city center. The service is fantastic, warm and welcoming. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean. One of the beds was a bit broken down, but slept fine. You will definitely need ear plugs if you're here on a weekend. Cardiff likes to party late. Be warned, you will need to climb some stairs, but that's part of the charm.

Room tip: Avoid weekends, unless you bring earplugs. People in Cardiff part hard and late. Lots of stairs, so be warned if you have mobility issues.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you Jason for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us.
I am really happy that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2024

We stayed here for rugby and had a great stay. Staff are so friendly and it is such a fantastic location beside everything. Rooms are dated but are kept quite clean, linen especially very clean. We had breakfast one morning and it was nice and tasty. Would definitely recommend, can't get better location and friendlier staff. Hopefully will return in the near future.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank irenemH5300SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

Thank you so much Irene for your review.
It is always our pleasure to welcome friendly guests and I hope we get the opportunity to see you again.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

15 of us stayed here recently for my hen weekend. Great location, right in the centre of St Mary's Street. As to be expected some of the rooms nearer the front of the hotel experienced a little noise from people enjoying their nights out, but this is the case with any city centre hotel and not much that can be done about it! Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and everyone enjoyed. Staff were all friendly and helpful and also prompt to answer and queries I had before our stay. Nothing was any trouble during our stay and we were able to drop off our bags before checking in and even after we checked out, so we could spend a few hours around the city before our journey home.
If you wanted to be picky, the hotel is a little dated perhaps, but still clean and tidy. One of the rooms did have some condensation inbetween the 2 layers of glazing which probably needs looking at. All in all a great stay and I will definitely look to book again next time I plan a trip to Cardiff and I know lots of the party will do the same.

Room tip: Ask for a room nearer the back of the hotel perhaps if you're a lighter sleeper. No on site parking but they offer a discount code for one of the city centre car parks.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Thank you Sabrina for taking the time to leave this excellent review about us. It was a pleasure to deal with you before your stay and all the staff who worked the weekend said that you were a really nice group and lovely to meet.
I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024

I have stayed here numerous times now and honestly can’t fault the place for value. The main points are that the family and employees are extremely hard working, going out of their way to make you feel welcomed. Unrivalled location, great brekkie, and friendliness.of staff make this place great value for money.. Thank you again all for making our stay a happy one. Keep up good work.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Daveg19762027
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Owner , Owner at Cardiff Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Thank you so much Dave for your excellent review and continued support. We really appreciate it. It is an absolute pleasure for us to welcome you and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews