We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it's ok”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yes it's ok”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have to say I expected a lot more it was nothing special. The bar area was quite smart but the room I wasn't impressed I've stayed in much nicer hotels and for less money. You pay for the name not the quality/quantity of the hotel or maybe I have been spoilt in other hotels.

Room Tip: Don't have a room facing the street on a Saturday night as plenty of drunken people walking past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuHaHe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    950
    431
    165
    88
See reviews for
500
1,168
131
663
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This hotel I would say is one of my favourites of all time. We booked an exec upgraded room and we had just about everything you could ever think of. The most comfortable bed ever, a fridge filled with drinks, chocolates etc... a massive TV, full air con, a MASSIVE bathroom, bath and shower. The range of channels of TV were really very good was very impressed. Food was out of this world a be it a bit expensive. Staff were friendly, considerable and extremely nice very professional service. Pool I didn't get to see neither did I the car parking. They messed up the cots but sorted it out immediately and gave us a discount on our next stay because of it. No stunning views here and if your on the bottom floor its noisy as your right in the centre of town.

Not a chip on the wall, not a scratch on the glass, not a stain on the carpet. Absolute bliss,

Room Tip: Book upstairs noisy downstairs as your in the centre of everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Good friendly service and excellent breakfast. Room clean and a good size.

It's one of those new build city centre hotels so looks a bit like a council sports centre with ugly carpets inside.

Overall tho pretty good and has everything you need. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antspants04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Rooms are spacious and beds large and extremely comfortable. Good-sized bathroom and huge walk-in shower. Rooms looking out towards the Castle have great views. Breakfast was unexceptional (apart from the excellent black pudding and sausage and better-than-average orange juice): typical corporate fare. Dinner was better-than-expected, but make your choice carefully. Veal with asparagus - great! Scallops with black pudding - surprisingly tasty! Steak - average. Watch the wines - they are very expensive indeed. Service in the restaurant was smiling and efficient.
My main issue was the check-out. I was with a party and they tried to make me pay for the entire drinks bill. I was the only one who had stated what I had and was penalised for my honesty! They were unapologetic and cavalier. They should train their staff to check such details at the time the meal/drinks are consumed. There is a swimming pool which I did not try, but my colleagues really liked it.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the castle. Check your bill carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Basically, what you expect from a Hilton. Comfortable and plush, gym is small but pool and spa very nice.

Room Tip: rooms on the one side could be quite loud on some nights so i'd ask for one on the 'inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodleboxrecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
1.0 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.8 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
2.6 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): $148 - $622
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing