We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,292)
Filter reviews
4,292 results
Traveller rating
1,783
1,199
791
349
170
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,783
1,199
791
349
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviews master suite cardiff bay overlooking the bay spa facilities on arrival mermaid quay car park pay and display floor to ceiling windows robes and slippers relaxation room birthday treat an upgrade afternoon tea welsh cakes bars and restaurants reception area
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 4,292 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked a superior king room and found that the room was cold as the air conditioning wasn't working properly. The bed was actually two single beds zipped together without any mattress topper over. This meant that there was a gap in the middle of the bed - hardly romantic!
The room we were changed to had a much smaller (double) bed which was very poor considering the room size, but at least it had working air conditioning. It was only after getting in bed after returning late to our room we found that the bed was the hardest we've ever slept on and the springs stuck into us. This effectively meant that you could not sleep on your side!
We complained and asked for a mattress topper to see if that resolved the problem as it was late and we really didn't want to move rooms for a second time. The housekeeper put on a very thing mattress protector (not a topper) and left.
Unsurprisingly we did not sleep at all. When we left in the morning my partner literally had trouble walking as the bed had given her a bad back.
Considering the hotel brands itself as five star luxury, the reality was extremely disappointing. Even though it was the most expensive hotel we've ever stayed at (and we've stayed at hundreds world-wide), it was literally the worst night sleep ever. It is amazing how a five star hotel can put in such poor, cheap and nasty beds. I would recommend you book Premier Inn, they have much better, larger beds and guarantee a good nights sleep. There were a whole host of other problems too. Rip-off car parking charges (£20 a night) plus they forgot to mention that the Cardiff half marathon was on and that we would not be able to actually leave until the afternoon.
My challenge to the hotels general manager is to spend a night on that bed (room 320) and then tell me whether the hotel is worthy of five stars.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NZ-nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTraveler820770, Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Dear NZ-nick
Thank you for your review, it’s disappointing that the hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Our Guest Relations department has reached out to you in a private message and hopefully we can discuss with you in more detail. There are many changes still to implement in the hotel in terms of refurbishment and exciting developments to announce in the coming months.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel. Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

It was our first visit to your hotel and we were very impressed. We booked for Afternoon tea but after looking at your menu we decided to have the gentleman tea instead . We can truly say it was amazing. We will be definitely be back soon.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank helensmalley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOCO-CARDIFF, Hotel Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

helensmalley10,

Thank you for your lovely review of our afternoon tea offering. I have shared your feedback with our service and kitchen teams.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

My fiancé booked this hotel as a birthday treat, we have stayed here before and to be honest for

what you pay for this hotel it is rather disappointing. Started off well with a card and 2 free drinks which was lovely but then they gave us the timings for the spa for hotel guests which were totally inconvenient as you could
only use it between 5-10pm and then 7-10am unless you were willing to pay a fee of £20 per head! I have stayed in a number of hotels such as Marriott, Celtic manor, Hilton to name just s few that include the use of their facilities for free as a paying guest. You also have to pay £20 for using their car park to stay at their hotel. The breakfast was lovely but had to ask them to microwave mine as it was cold! This is the 2nd time we’ve stayed here but doubt there’ll be a 3rd.

Stayed: October 2018
Thank Mandy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOCO-CARDIFF, Hotel Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Mandy E,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The St David's Hotel.

I'm happy to read that the team recognised your birthday with a small treat upon arrival.

Our spa timings have changed this year to ensure an enjoyable experience for all clientele that should wish to use the hotel. It is sometimes possible depending on the volume of guests for residents to gain access with a day pass, alternatively anyone enjoying one our treatments will be entitled to access all day.

I have shared all of your feedback with our management team for review.

We hope to welcome you back to St David's soon.

Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

What a great place to hold a special business function. The rooms are well positioned looking over the bay which on a nice day is highly impressive.
The food was very good but only reflects what you spend.
The ground floor venue has a good size anti room with bar to congregate and comfortably takes up to 200 people.
The level one venue is smaller, the views are better but the anti room is long and thin so not as comfortable.
Pay and display Car parking is immediately outside the hotel and it’s a great location to move to the bay or for a walk to clear the head.
This is definitely the premier corporate meeting venue for large parties in Cardiff.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank InspiredReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOCO-CARDIFF, Hotel Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

InspiredReviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us.

I have shared your comments with our team who love to hear what guests think of their experience with us at St David's Hotel.

We look forward to hosting another event for you soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

My second visit to St David's hotel and never disappoints. Booked three nights for my 50th birthday. Room had a great view over the bay. Room very clean and high standard.
Bar eating area very nice after revamp, fantastic breakfast great place will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book a revamped room
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VOCO-CARDIFF, Hotel Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

shazWorcester,

We are so happy to read that your second stay was as good as your first!

We are continuing our revamp from this month with the remaining bedrooms and the Spa during early 2019.

We look forward to your return visit.

Regards

Brady

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews