We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Village Hotel, a nice hotel, middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Farnborough, UK
Level Contributor
173 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The Village Hotel, a nice hotel, middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

£101 in breakfast

Good points: Very close to a customer of mine. Good breakfast option. Close to the Motorway. Staff friendly. Rooms are nice. Quiet.

Bad points: £12 taxi trip to Cardiff, lift very slow. Expensive if you don't use the pool/fitness.

I didn't check out the swimming pool/fitness suite.

Room Tip: The 500/600 rooms seem to offer more (room size, sofa)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    685
    404
    198
    125
See reviews for
369
878
53
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel last month on business due to it's proximity to a client that I had to make a presentation to at 9am the next morning. I asked for a quiet room at check-in after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. This was given - noise wasn't really an issue for me unlike some other reviewers.

The room was comfortable but the bathroom could have done with a little more cleaning especially for the spare hairs (this was not much of an issue, I have stayed at worse). Dinner was good at the Grill restaurant - my colleagues enjoyed the sizzler on the square stone.

The issue with my stay at this hotel was the way staff handled the fire alarm. The fire alarm went off at about 12pm - we made our way out to the assembly point in front of the hotel via the fire exits. The fire truck showed up and after about 20 minutes, we were let back into the hotel. I heard as I was walking past reception that a guest had set off the fire alarm by smoking in their room. Though I appreciate that this was not the hotel's fault, there was no communication to guests during the fire alarm process. There was no attempt to check names against the hotel register when we gathered at the assembly point to make sure there was no one left inside. There was no apology issued to guests or any explanation given. It was treated as a routine occurence and reminded me of being woken up in the middle of the night at my halls of residence at university when an exuberant student would set off the fire alarm on purpose.

This type of experience is not acceptable before a business meeting and in view of the lack of acknowledgement and communication by the hotel staff, I would not recommend staying here unless you are on holiday and can afford to forgo a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the main reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The hotel feels like a poor quality service station. The price they charge is a rip-off when you consider what else you can get for the same or even less money.

The annexe which is located over the far-end car park takes an age to walk to down long corridors.

The floor in the annexe moves when you walk on it. It makes a noise and if you are in the level 500 rooms when the person in the room above walks around you can hear every foot step and trace their movement around the room above.

To add insult to injure with the over priced room they then have the balls to ask for a £2.50 surcharge when you pay by credit card.

Would not advise you to stay here, done it once never again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Dirty carpets and heating systems that do not function are not what one expects in a hotel of this price, nor is the rather ungracious reception. Rooms are standard, and beds are comfortable. My room was quiet, but overlooked a car park and a wall. There are better places to stay in Cardiff

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Brilliant Customer service, lovely room which was spotless! Dined in the restaurant - the food was great and very reasonably priced. Also had a massage and used the pool, steam room and jacuzzi which were all very clean.

I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
7.3 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
3.4 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
6.3 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
6.8 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
6.3 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Cardiff

Property: Village Hotel Cardiff
Address: Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road | Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Cardiff)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): $107 - $337
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Cardiff 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 118 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing