We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
local287
Somerset West, South Africa

A unique and happy experience.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
A very quaint and quirky hotel. Unique. The rooms were spacious and clean, the restaurant was very good, the hotel is very central to the bay area so an easy walk. Wifi signal not strong in the room due to the thick walls, but works fine in the lounge and bar area. Staff were pleasant and very helpful. A very different type of hotel and fitting for the history and area. Thank you
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Local287,
Thank you for your thoughtful review! We're delighted you appreciated the quaint and quirky charm of our hotel. It's wonderful to hear that you found the rooms spacious and clean, and enjoyed the restaurant. We apologize for any inconvenience regarding the WiFi. Our staff always strive to provide pleasant and helpful service, and we're pleased you found them to be so. We agree that our hotel's uniqueness is fitting for the history and area, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Best wishes,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$162
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$173
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$173
1.7 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$202
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$202
0.5 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
AU$146
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
AU$190
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.1 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Pool
Restaurant
Lobby View
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.1 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$69
  • Priceline
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Travelodge
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$62
  • Algotels
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$100
  • Algotels
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$141
  • Novotel
    AU$155
1.2 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,574)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveller rating
1,129
198
128
61
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,129
198
128
61
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath main hall grand hall amazing building beautiful hotel bridal suite original features bottle of prosecco beautiful room building work dressing table fabulous stay afternoon tea function room birthday treat breakfast was delicious mermaid quay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

We're so glad that the Coal Exchange has reopened, our favourite place to stay in the Bay. Such a wonderful, historic building with individually decorated bedrooms, full of character. Loved the huge jacuzzi bath and rainfall shower. Breakfast in Culleys the following morning was also excellent.

All members of staff we encountered were a credit to the hotel, but a MASSIVE thank you to Louise for making my Wife's birthday a memorable one. We hope to see you again soon.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PhilTriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Phil,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay at the Coal Exchange and that Louise made your wife's birthday special. We take great pride in our historic building, individually decorated rooms, and excellent amenities like the jacuzzi bath and rainfall shower. Your appreciation means a lot to us, and we can't wait to welcome you back soon for another memorable visit!

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2024

The hotel was extremely disappointing and dated. Having waited a long time for a reason to stay in the bay, we booked the coal exchange only to be completely underwhelmed & dissapointed.

The room was filthy and the standard of the room wouldn’t be acceptable in a cheap £20 per night motorway hotel. Make up running down the walls from previous guests, stains on almost every carpet, piles of dust/dirt behind doors in corners of the rooms, black mold in the grout in the bathroom. They boast a jacuzzi bath and part of the tap fell off in my hand as I used it (as the baths are extremely old). I stayed in a presidential suite so goodness knows what a standard room would be like.

We were on a tight schedule for a reservation so admittedly I was unable to raise these issues during the evening of our stay (only had an hour to check in and get ready after work). Having complained the following morning I was only offered a small % off a future stay. Having stated that I didn’t wish to stay again, no further reassurance was given that these issues would be resolved for future guests and no other resolution for my complaint was offered.

My complaint was initially lost, then deleted. Management uninterested in feedback and at no point seemed like they cared, their only priority during the small amount of communication they had was keeping hold of money.

There are far better more reasonably priced options in Cardiff Bay. My advice would be to not use this hotel for a night away

Room tip: Avoid it, it’s not the stay that you think it’ll be
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2024

Hello 167owainc,

We regret to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you encountered some issues with your room.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We want to assure you that we take all guest feedback seriously and use it as an opportunity to improve our services.

However, we would like to clarify that during your stay, we did not receive any reports of these issues from you or any other guests. If we are not made aware of issues, we simply are not able to rectify any of the concerns at hand.

Please know that your feedback has been shared with our management team, and we are taking immediate steps to address the issues you have highlighted to ensure that they are not repeated in the future.

While we understand your decision not to return, we hope that you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Should you choose to stay with us again, please do not hesitate to reach out to our team directly so that we can ensure your next visit is nothing short of exceptional.

Kind reagrds,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2024

Recently reopened this accommodation is a once in a lifetime encounter in a restored old trading building. The building itself stands within walking distance of the quay and Millennium Centre. A train and a bus taking you to the city centre are 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.
Half of the building is in a derelict condition and needs reconstruction soon. The area in use however is an architects dream... like an old cinema, railway station or theatre. The rooms are big, stylish and comfortable.
The personnel are very friendly and welcoming. The evening meal in the attached cafe/restaurant (where the great breakfast is also situated) is worth a visit on its own. As is the central 'hall'... but I won't spoil your trip by giving too much away.
The general area is well in need of renovation and a clean up but try to look beyond the dishevelled state of some of the surrounding streets. The Coal Exchange hotel is a unique experience.

Room tip: We approached the hotel from the 'wrong' side and were taken aback. Don't be put off though...
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exploration747341
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Dear Exploration747341,

Thank you immensely for taking the time to share your experience of staying with us at The Coal Exchange hotel. We're thrilled to hear that you found your time here to be a once-in-a-lifetime encounter.

Our historic building, steeped in the heritage of old trading, stands as a testament to Cardiff's rich history. We're delighted that you appreciated its charm and proximity to attractions like the quay and Millennium Centre.

We understand your observations about the surrounding area, and we're grateful for your understanding as we work to restore and rejuvenate the neighbourhood. Your feedback inspires us to continue our efforts to enhance the community around us.

We're thrilled that you found our accommodations to be spacious, stylish, and comfortable. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and welcoming staff, as well as the culinary delights offered at our cafe/restaurant. We aim to create memorable experiences for our guests, and we're glad we succeeded in doing so during your visit.

As for the central 'hall' and other hidden gems within our establishment, we're delighted to hear that they added to the magic of your stay. We believe in preserving the historical integrity of our building while also offering modern comforts and amenities.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your thoughts. Your feedback is invaluable to us as we strive to provide exceptional experiences for all our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay in the future.

Best wishes,
Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2024

Please don't laugh but I had booked our weekend away wrongly and when we got there the lady at reception couldn't find our booking. I stupidly had booked 2025. So we were a year early!!!!!!
Anyway after lots of laughter and some embarrassment they found us a room and sorted it all out. I have to thank Yian.... he was amazing, nothing was too much trouble. Sam and Jenny in the bar were brilliant and made us really welcome.
The room was fantastic, the breakfast brilliant. Their food is lovely we had loads of nibbles and starters with wine. Good value all round.
The building is beautiful and conveniently situated a 5 minute walk from the bay.
100% will go back.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keefmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Dear Keefmo,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, and don't worry, we're certainly not laughing! We're just grateful that despite the initial hiccup, you were able to enjoy your stay with us.

We're delighted to hear that our team, especially Ieuan went above and beyond to make sure you felt welcome and taken care of. It's always wonderful to receive such positive feedback about our staff members, and we'll be sure to pass on your kind words to them.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your room, breakfast, and dining experience with us. Providing delicious food and comfortable accommodations is what we strive for, and we're glad to see that reflected in your comments.

Our location near the bay is indeed quite convenient, and we're glad you found it convenient for your plans.

We can't thank you enough for your understanding and for choosing to stay with us despite the booking mix-up. We truly appreciate your kind words and your 100% endorsement to return. We'll be eagerly awaiting your next visit, and we promise to make it just as enjoyable as this one!

Best wishes,
Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

Reception staff very helpful and the building has a great history which is displayed within the hotel and also in the Pierhead building.
Breakfast was tasty and although is a buffet you can order items such as egg styles a-la-carte. The chef did a great job of having sufficient hot food on the buffet and topping up as it went down so always freshly cooked.
Location is good for Marina Quay, pierhead etc. is around 25mins walk to city centre so you may need to decide your priorities.
Room decor (and building generally) is as you may expect for an old, listed building and finding your way around is like navigating a maze. Clean and tidy (although room windows are old sash windows, uncleaned and inoperable). We did know in advance that the hotel is under a period of gradual renovation.

Room tip: If you want a modern hotel experience then this may not be for you
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tigerram
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2024

Dear Tigerram,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a glowing review! We're absolutely thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Providing a comfortable and enjoyable experience for our guests is always our top priority, and it's truly gratifying to know that we succeeded in meeting your expectations.

Your kind words about our tasty breakfast buffet mean a lot to us. We take great pride in maintaining high standards of service and hospitality, and it's wonderful to see that reflected in your experience.

We will be sure to pass along your compliments to our team members, who work tirelessly to ensure that every guest feels welcome and valued. Your feedback serves as encouragement for us to continue striving for excellence in everything we do.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. If there's anything else we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to let us know.

Best wishes,
Shannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews