We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Welsh Traveller
United Kingdom

Unwelcoming Coal Exchange

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2024via mobile
Stayed just a Saturday night
On arrival the girls behind the reception wasn’t very inviting. The lads that were on later were much more front of house material
All a customer wants is a big smile a hello welcome to the coal exchange. Enjoy your stay. It’s not rocket science.
Room was very clean and very quiet
We did have a drink at the bar - but had to ask for someone to come and serve us
That’s why it was only one
Half of the building is derelict
I must say how happy and welcoming the staff at Breakfast were an absolute credit to the hotel..
Surrounding area as gone down hill in my opinion.
Rubbish tipped all over the pavements
The back of the hotel is a pig style
I wouldn’t return personally to the area
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shannon Mason, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review
Responded 30 Mar 2024
Hello Food Critic,
thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I have passed on your comments to our reception team regarding a warm welcome on arrival, I'm sorry you didn't feel like you had that experience with us.
We're currently undergoing refurbishment and the building is changing all of the time, unfortunately the surroundings of the building is out of our control. We feel extremely lucky to be at the heart of Cardiff Bay with a ton of facilities just a couple of minutes away.
I am glad to hear you had some lovely interactions with our nights and breakfast team. I'll be sure to pass on the lovely feedback.
Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we can only hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Best wishes,

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$160
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • HotelIndigo.com
    AU$160
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$165
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • vocoHotels
    AU$199
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$61
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$80
  • Travelodge
2.0 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
Booking.com
  • ibis Budget
    AU$64
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$59
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$144
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$61
  • Travelodge
1.4 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Lobby View
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$162
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Free Wifi
Pool
PremierInn.com
AU$78
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Cardiff
Reviews (1,560)
Filter reviews
1,560 results
Traveller rating
1,122
193
127
61
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,122
193
127
61
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath main hall grand hall amazing building beautiful hotel bridal suite original features bottle of prosecco beautiful room building work dressing table fabulous stay afternoon tea function room birthday treat breakfast was delicious mermaid quay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,560 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2024

Our stay was amazing, the room was beautiful and warm, the rain fall shower was to die for and breakfast was the best ive ever tasted. All the staff we saw were polite and friendly. Especially Hayley in the restaurant and jamie on check out. Only downside to the whole stay was that a housekeer knocked on the door at 10am despite check out being 11am. I felt like i was rushed out by them.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vacation62509300319
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ieuan Davies, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Hi Vaction62509300391, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing stay and enjoyed the beautiful and cozy room, the luxurious rain shower, and the delicious breakfast. It's great to know that all the staff you encountered were polite and friendly, especially Hayley in the restaurant and Jamie during check-out.

We sincerely apologise for the housekeeping issue you experienced with the early knock on your door. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will address this with our housekeeping team to ensure that our guests do not feel rushed during their stay. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we hope it did not overshadow the rest of your exceptional stay with us. We appreciate your understanding and look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

The coal exchange is a very very special hotel.
When it closed down briefly at the beginning of the year, I hoped and prayed it would reopen as I cannot describe how special it is to me.
My late grandfather worked here in the 1960s/1970s, so I always stay in his old office. When we arrived for our stay the lovely receptionist (forget to get her name) recognised me and my husband when we arrived.
So glad to see the new owner is improving things, more furniture in reception area, improvements in the bathroom.
The food in Culleys was as always amazing, had lunch on Saturday there and breakfast on Sunday there, the staff are always friendly and will go the extra mile to make your stay amazing.
Keep up the good work, I'm looking forward to seeing all the improvements they are planning for the future.
Everyone needs to go and stay here, the more people stay here the sooner all the improvements will be made, this is in my mind the world's greatest hotel.
Just keep my favourite room avaliable for my next visit.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkiparrybailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ieuan Davies, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Morning Vikkiparrybailey, Thank you for sharing your heartfelt experience at The Coal Exchange! We are touched to hear how special this hotel is to you, especially with the connection to your late grandfather who worked here. It's wonderful to hear that you were able to stay in his old office and that the receptionist recognised you and your husband, creating a personalised and memorable experience for you. We are thrilled that the new owner is making improvements and that you noticed the enhancements in the reception area and bathroom.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Culleys and that the food was amazing. Our staff takes great pride in ensuring that each guest has a fantastic stay, and it's lovely to hear that they went the extra mile to make your experience unforgettable. Your kind words and support mean the world to us, and we are excited about the future improvements planned for the hotel.

We will definitely make sure to keep your favorite room available for your next visit. Thank you for your glowing recommendation, and we can't wait to welcome you back to The Coal Exchange in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

Had a fantastic overnight stay.
Room was lovely and big.
Bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi bath Is just amazing.
The staff very friendly and helpful. Will look forward to returning again and also trying out your restaurant. Such a beautiful building

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leapfrog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ieuan Davies, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Hi Leapfrog1234, thank you so much for your glowing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic overnight stay with us and that you enjoyed our spacious room and comfortable bed. Our jacuzzi bath is a guest favourite, and we are delighted that you found it amazing. Our staff takes pride in providing excellent service, so we are happy to hear that you found them to be friendly and helpful. We can't wait to welcome you back again and we hope you will enjoy dining at our restaurant as well. Thank you for your kind words about our beautiful building. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024

Had a really great one night stay here.
The room was huge and beds really comfortable. Loved the jacuzzi bath.
The breakfast was excellent with a really good choice and breakfast staff really friendly.
Would definitely return if in the Cardiff Bay area again.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LH3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ieuan Davies, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Hi LH3456,

Thank you for your positive words! We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic one night stay with us. We take pride in providing spacious and comfortable rooms. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. We would love to welcome you back again if you find yourself in the Cardiff Bay area in the future. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2024

Beautiful, stunning hotel in the heart of Cardiff Bay, large room, comfy bed, clean and tidy, jacuzzi bath with shower, lovely and quiet, friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast, not to far from parking facility, fabulous Hall for all occasions, would highly recommend 🙂

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ieuan Davies, Guest Services / Front Office at The Coal Exchange Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hello Richard,
thank you ever so much for your lovely feedback, we really appreciate it.
I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed every moment of your stay!
We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel soon.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews