We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of an hostel than "hotel"”
Review of Elgano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elgano Hotel
Ranked #25 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

pro:
- cleaning was acceptable
cons:
- Room 8 was very small
- strong smell of chemical bathroom in the room
- hospital like bathroom
- furniture had painting coming off
- extremely noisy. coulndt sleep as walls are basically made of paper and doors banging all night long


Worse experience ever.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank novesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

Pros: the room was clean and quiet (although I did use ear plugs)
Good to have a free breakfast
Fast wifi

Cons: many of the staff did not speak good English so it was difficult getting the food I wanted n the morning

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooks the road which could be annoying for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bittersweet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

As a group of four girls it was our first time to Cardiff .we booked two rooms 3 and 8 .both clean and tidy as for size room 3 is better . The staff was very friendly . We stay at the restaurant for dinner that was very nice . Breakfast was good . You got a choice of juice and yogurt with a cooked breakfast . I will definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank markviks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Fabulous hotel and restaurant !!! My room was really comfortable and with all the necessary utilities !!!! Dinner at the restaurant seemed to really eat in a typical Italian restaurant, with genuine and tasty products !!!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Took a long time to open the front door (1500 pm), could not find my booking, could not find my e-mail requesting an early breakfast. Found my booking but not my e-mail. Asked about car parking at the back of the hotel, would rather I did not as they had a large party coming in Saturday - told me to park on the main road. I had a room in the Coach House, clear, tidy, room not too big, central heating working, the curtains had seen better days but the hot water in the shower was lovely. I went to use the internet and realised that they had not given me the password, so I had to ring the restaurant. Thank you to the person who put the empty wine bottles in the recycling bin in a very very loud matter, it woke me up. The car park had 2 hotel vans, 1 car and 1 motorcycle plenty of room for other vehicles, so why stop me from parking? I went to breakfast at 0745 pm and eventually was able to have a cup of tea, cornflakes, banana and brown toast.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#12 of 74 in Cardiff
1,424 reviews
3.1 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
3.3 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,950 reviews
0.4 km away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#10 of 47 in Cardiff
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elgano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elgano Hotel

Address: 58 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $169 - $894 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elgano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elgano always gives a warm welcome. Situated within walking distance of the City Centre, Millenium and Swalec Stadiums and beautiful Sophia Gardens. All rooms are en-suite, modern, and comfortable. Secure Parking. Fast internet connection. Traditional breakfast cooked on site. Residents license with attractive Orangery and Lounge for guests to meet and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elgano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elgano Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing