We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Hospitality, Perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Byre

Time to relax and unwind in tranquil surroundings with stunning views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Time to relax and unwind in tranquil surroundings with stunning views
The views change constantly, depending on the time of day, year, weather and  light conditions Plenty of time to enjoy an early evening drink before strolling down to The Griffin for supper
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Time to relax and unwind in tranquil surroundings with stunning views
The views change constantly, depending on the time of day, year, weather and  light conditions
Plenty of time to enjoy an early evening drink before strolling down to The Griffin for supper
Outside The Byre with views stretching towards the Black Mountains
The downstairs bedroom with french windows onto the decking and views beyond...
The sitting room with flagstone floors, oak beams, french windows, log burner and comfy seating
The kitchen area with stairs up to the second bedroom suite
View from the decking and bedrooms towards the Brecon Beacons
A misty morning
A little uninvited guest investigates the new barn conversion
A frosty winter's morning viewed from the warmth and comfort of a king-sized bed
The famous Brecon Beacons - the perfect backdrop to bbq's on the decking
The upstairs bedroom with views of the Brecon Beacons and the Black Mountains
The roll-top bath has been positioned to enjoy a soak whilst admiring the views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
luke_rack...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Hospitality, Perfect location”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Couldn't have asked for more from our stay at The Byre, the facilities are superb and the hospitality was great. close enough to great local pubs and towns but far enough away for total relaxation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review Luke - I'm delighted you enjoyed such a relaxing stay and that it was indeed the perfect place for you both to create and record music as you had intended. You were wonderful, appreciative guests and I hope that we will see you again in the future. Warm regards to you both, A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwoodhead
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and well equipped in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A two bedroom barn conversion just a few miles outside Brecon. The location is stunning and the property is well maintained and clean. There is a log burning stove in the living area (which was much needed on October evenings), and two double bedrooms with very comfortable king size beds. The owners state that the central heating is fixed at a comfortable temperature - we found it rather cold at times, hence the dependence on the wood burner for which plenty of fuel is available.

The kitchen area is small and adequately rather then well equipped and the only other grip is that the seating in the lounge area consists of one small sofa, which is reasonably comfortable, and two very upright high backed chairs that are rather less comfortable for relaxing with a book.

Other then at all was good and the owners are friendly and helpful. This is certainly somewhere we would consider staying if we visit the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and very comfortable beds
Liked least: Lack of a door on ensuite bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so sorry that your stay fell short of the mark, especially since two out of three of your 'gripes' could have been so easily rectified. It is such a shame that you didn't tell us about the heating as we could have resolved that problem immediately. The system is highly sensitive which is why we fix it at a recommended temperature but we would willingly have modified it to suit your requirements. Likewise with the kitchen equipment - had there been anything in particular you required to make your stay all the more enjoyable we could easily have provided it from the plethora of utensils and equipment that we keep on standby to avoid over cluttering up the small kitchen. Unfortunately the chairs will not be changed in the foreseeable future as all our other guests have found them comfortable. I will, however, bear your comments in mind when I come round to seeking out and upholstering replacement armchairs in the future. Kind regards, A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jake23081...
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“fabulous accommodation superb location and views to the beacons.”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Byre has been remodeled to the highest standards of design and furnishings. It is comprehensively equipped to satisfy all ones holiday needs. The views from the decking area are spectacular and with the accompaniment of some nearby sheep,goats and flocks of birds one is transported into a relaxing pastoral setting.
On our arrival our immediate reaction was WOW! We all hope to return at sometime in the not too distant future. Thanks Amanda, Jess and Ben

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view, design and decor location near to great pub/restaurant The Griffin
Liked least: lack door on the upstairs en suite, we are a bit old fashioned
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed a wonderful Bank Holiday Weekend here in The Brecon Beacons and hope you will indeed return again, perhaps for a longer stay next time? Warmest regards to you all, A
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquility Base Calling ...............”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our daughter and husband gifted us 3 nights here, then before coming we topped up our time and stayed a full week ............ that was one great decision. It is a tranquil place to stay with views over a valley and then onwards to the Black Mountains.

We had such a relaxing week, some walks, visits to local towns & attractions, good food. The weather was all over the place, but loved it as we nestled down with a log fire and watched the sunrise or sunsets, whilst snow fell or the rain lashed down.
The property is a rebuilt stone barn, completed a year or two ago. It is very well fitted out with wonderful slate floors, underfloor heating, modern bathrooms and kitchen, a spacious high-ceiling lounge/dining area with all the right touches.

The two double bedrooms with comfy beds are on separate levels with their own en suites, so perfect for 2 couples or a single family with children. We were one couple so it felt really indulgent having the place to ourselves but somehow we coped!!

Amanda gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and that set the tone for the whole week. We felt we had a proper holiday away from the busy sides of life.
We thoroughly recommend The Byre and it is very well placed to explore the region: up to mid-Wales and even down towards Swansea or Cardiff.

Go one day if you can ....... hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the property, the location, peace & quiet.
Liked least: Nothing really ......... my wife will kill me but the wi-fi was slow at times, to be expected in such a remote location!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
You were such delightful and enthusiastic guests and I'm thrilled you had a wonderful break in spite of the weather. Hopefully Spring is on its way; it certainly feels like it as the day after you left both our goats gave birth to twins!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth R
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous place to stay, straight out of Country Living.”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This beautifully converted barn has stunning views of the Brecon Hills. From the moment you enter The Byre you are impressed, welcomed and relaxed. The attention to detail is seen through the whole house. The space and ambiance was delightful. The beds are soft and cosy. Each bedroom has an en-suite with both a bath and a shower. There are so many interesting and beautiful places to explore in the area whether by car or on foot. But if you really only wanted to snuggle in and not go anywhere there are plenty of books and games to keep you engrossed before the log burner. We had a wonderfully relaxing time and can't wait to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
Thank you for your generous comments. It was a pleasure having you to stay and I am delighted that The Byre matched up to your expectations. It was lovely to see you relaxing with a good book on the decking and I look forward to welcoming you back again in September. Hopefully we'll have an Indian Summer and you can continue to enjoy the outdoors to the full. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing