We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal”
other travellers have booked this property
Surrounded by mature woodland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Surrounded by mature woodland
Red Cow House, with private parking spaces on the front Double bedroom 1, overlooking the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Surrounded by mature woodland
Red Cow House, with private parking spaces on the front
Double bedroom 1, overlooking the garden
Double bedroom 2
Neat and tidy bathroom with power shower
Living room with deep, comfy chairs and sofa
Log burner with a free basket of wood
Kitchen with barn door leading into the garden
Fully supplied kitchen, just bring your food
Looking up the garden
River running alongside the garden
The river is just outside the back door
Guest photo. Dan Yr Ogof. The National Showcaves Centre for Wales
Guest photo. Exploring the local area
Guest photo. Enjoying a splash in the river (dogs are welcome at no extra cost)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brecon, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Robyn L
Williton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Booked last minute as a place to stay with a group of friends and we all completely fell in love with this place! Log burner in lounge and river going through the garden were the highlights - perfect bird watching spot (spotted gold crest and tree creepers). Didn't notice we were right next to an A road.

Hoping to come back in summer as 2 nights was not long enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G
Llanrhystud, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent dog friendly cottage, great base to explore!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Red Cow House is a fantastic place to stay, either to explore the local areas or just to relax in the wonderful garden. We took our dog Rosie who was 5 months old and she absolutely loved the enclosed garden with her own river! Linda the owner was fantastic from start to finish and even left us and Rosie some wonderful treats!

The information leaflets in the cottage were great and helped us decide on where to go each day. In the evenings we lit the fire pit and relaxed on the patio -ideal!

Definitely worth a visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The cottage overall - just as a cottage should be!
Liked least: No TV channels, but this is what we expected so not a complaint.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akane1912
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Took all my dogs there and they loved it. The house and garden was lovely and clean. We had everything we needed. Location is great for walking the dog at halfway.would plan for a return visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail A
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Cottage was very clean, had all amenities needed. Large rooms and enough seating for everybody. Glorious garden and stream to listen to and paddle in. Lots of activities nearby ranging from spectacular walking to amazing caves and red kite feeding. Highly recommend and want to revisit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: No television and poor radio reception but this was expected
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isis P
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed in the Red Cow House just before Easter with some friends and our dogs.

The house was easy to find and spotless when we arrived with lovely size rooms, a fully equipped kitchen and two separate living rooms. It was nice to find somewhere who didn't charge extra for our dogs.

There were stacks of logs left for us to light the open fire and we felt at home straight away.

The local villages were close with pubs,places to eat and lots of shops to buy all our food.

We had a lovely time and the owner was very helpful and quick to respond when we booked.

Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: felt homely - chatting, drinking and playing cards around the log burner
Liked least: no wifi but 3G on phone perfect and no problems with mobile signal
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing