We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday weekend meal with friends”

The Heights Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Llanberis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 23
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Arrived at 7pm on the Saturday bank holiday weekend. The bar was absolutely packed and literally almost every table was occupied. Luckily a young waiter managed to help us find a table for us 4 and cleared it for us. We weren’t looking to eat but noticed they had added a few new meals to the menu so we decided to give them a go. Despite being absolutely packed and the bartender informing us that there was a wait for food our meals came out within half an hour piping hot. I had the spaghetti bolognaise which was honestly the best i have ever had, it was very tasty and a good sized portion. My friends had the bacon chop which looked and smelt amazing, and the others had burgers which there were no complaints and all of us had empty plates going back. We stayed here till about 10pm enjoying the local gin that they had, would of loved to of stayed later but we’d booked a taxi beforehand. Brilliant atmosphere in the pub, plenty of local faces and tourists here. Staff here should be commended coping with the amount of people they serve as it is always busy and they are always nice and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. Thanks for a great evening.

1  Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at The Heights Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review, This Easter was one of the busiest weeks we’ve ever had and as you said we were very busy from morning until close all week. I’ll make sure to pass on the positive feedback to all our team, we’ve all worked extremely hard over the last few weeks and we appreciate all feedback we get. Thank you and see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Visited the heights once again with my sisters for lunch. Once again fab food good atmosphere staff was friendly and helpful.

1  Thank jim2015k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at The Heights Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks again for the review! See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Been coming here on regular basis and have never had any complaints.The food is fantastic and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at The Heights Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you and your husband for your ongoing support. Many thanks for the review. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Came to the heights to watch the six nations, and decided to have some food. I ordered the five bean chilli and it was delicious! It came with rice and nachos! I would highly recommend the five bean! They also had a really good selection of beer and ale. Would highly recommend going to the heights !!

1  Thank Hannah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at The Heights Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Our five bean chilli is one of the most popular dishes we produce and it is always nice to receive positive feedback about our food. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Terrible service. Scruffy. No welcome. Left on our own for a long time and had to get the menus ourselves.
We weren’t told what wasn’t available.
We had to order at the bar and then told there were no fish and chips available. A huge disappointment to 3 of the 5 diners!
Ordered replacements which were disappointing to say the least but
When we ordered the wine it came with filthy glass.
Children’s Spaghetti Bolognaise was too salty
Veggie chilli was ok but came with no nachos - when I asked where they were, I was told they had run out. No apology or replacement offered.
Pies were watery and seemed like they had been microwaved, except the puffed up topper, but that was over cooked. The chips where fine.
To top off the poor service, they didn’t bring my young sons dinner out, and when asked where it was, I was told they had been given to someone else. They said sorry but this isn’t good enough. When it came it was over cooked,
dry and the bacon was burnt.
I was very disappointed and a little saddened for our family holiday meal.
Pretty location, Llanberis is beautiful but this restaurant could be so much more.
Would not go back or recommend

2  Thank Abigail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony H, General Manager at The Heights Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

We dont usually comment on first time single reviewers whos review score is at odds with other customers reviews.
This is clearly the work of a competitor and a clear example of why people are so sceptical of the flawed tripadvisor system the Shed at Dulwich being a prime example.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heights Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
Llanberis, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Heights Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing