We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
17
11
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
11
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drying room converted stables great country breakfast was excellent walking holiday lovely location owen climbers walkers bedroom accommodation snowdonia
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Stayed a couple of nights having booked it as BnB. This is akin to a back packers but for grown ups. In fact the average age was over 65. The rooms are clean and pleasant. Ours was in the converted stables. En-suit bathroom. TV etc. The meals are taken together on shared tables, but everyone is friendly and you are soon chatting away. The staff a super friendly and the food good. In fact one of my evening meals was frankly 5 star - stunning. If I return to Snowdonia I will without hesitation stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Very clean and tidy, the place had a good high quality feel to it. Rooms well equipped and the en-suite brand new in my room. Breakfast was excellent and staff friendly. Great country location for walkers and a short drive to Snowdon.

Room tip: Need to drive to village and for some rooms mind slippery steep outdoor steps.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We were staying here as part of our guided walking package. We had chosen a 7 night holiday taking in five days of guided walking. Never been to Snowdonia before. The hotel was typical of one which is dedicated to people who like the outdoors in that it is not luxurious but provides everything for which the walker/climber could ask. Good accommodation; good bathroom; good drying room; good food; nice lounge and bar and entertainment each evening if required.
All the staff were helpful and very pleasant. The food provided in the evenings was excellent and the packed lunches more than adequate with a variety of choices available. As we were part of an organised holiday all was laid on for us. However, it doesn't deter from the fact that this is an excellent location from which to explore the grandeur of what Snowdonia has to offer. We had a great time and will certainly return someday.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We are members of HF(Holiday Fellowship) and will have visited all the HF's by Oct ,some of them twice.
Don't expect HF to be a normal "contemporary " hotel,it is a co-operative and prides itself on good food ,good company and a countryside environment ! All the hotels are different,some a bit better cosmetically than others but it adds to the experience. unlike a previous "negative" commentator we also had the "Mezzanine" bedroom on our first visit and found it "Quirky!. Bedrooms do not have two chairs there are lounges and a conservatory you can read or drink in ! Yes the bar is small but you can overflow in other rooms and it is a smaller hotel than many. The staff are great ,they work spilt shifts are paid minimum wage and have to multitask as they serve ,clean the rooms and serve meals. If you are expecting staff who cater to all your needs and be around "reception" you are in the wrong place ! However if you like socialising with other guests and enjoy the countryside you will value Hf as i do ! Well done Owen and his team ,it is not an easy job and it is difficult to retain staff being so isolated ! Will see you in the next couple of years again.

Room tip: a room at the front or in the stables !
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

An excellent room in the old stables -it was in a stable, with the Victorian orginal floor of bricks and ironwork. Very good conversion, with underfloor heating and nice bathroom. House is full of character, nice and warm and with friendly and helpful staff. Nice food, good quality. Nice grounds, have a walk behind the stable block to meet the Dragon and see the Waterfall.
Only downside to the holiday was if you holiday in Snowdon do not have an accident -Lady on our holiday fell on a walk and broke her hip. She was there for three hours before an ambulance from Wrexham turned up.Then an hour wait in Ambulance to get admitted to Hospital. The Welsh NHS service is in a mess .

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank robertjrossonwye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews