We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent holiday home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of No 8 The Sidings

Open plan coastal style living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan coastal style living area
Views out across Red Wharf Bay and Pentraeth Forest Fully fitted kitchen with modern appliances, including integrated dishwasher
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Open plan coastal style living area
Views out across Red Wharf Bay and Pentraeth Forest
Fully fitted kitchen with modern appliances, including integrated dishwasher
Dining area comfortably seats four
Rear facing double bedroom with sea views
Double bedroom
Ensuite shower room
Al fresco dining on the patio with stunning panoramic views
One many nautical accents throughout the house
Comfortable twin bedroom with coastal decor
Coastal style bed linen and towels
No 8 the Sidings - a nod to the site's previous life as a railway cutting
Newly built in 2014
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pentraeth, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
FellowTra...
1 review
“An excellent holiday home.”
Reviewed 3 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Location is great. The beaches at Red Wharf Bay Benllech, and Beumaris are different , accessible, and ideal for children of all ages. The boat trip to Puffin Island from Beumaris Pier was a highlight.
There are many local food options with the Bull at Pentreath being the best value for money. The carvery meal available each night was a special attraction with friendly staff.
The highlight was the cottage itself. Everything you could want is provided (inside and outside). Everything is quality and nothing is too much trouble. Our granddaughter did not want to leave!! This cottage has been prepared with loving care and provides a really attractive holiday home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann L
1 review
“8 The Sidings, Pentraeth, Anglesey”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

House very pleasant and clean. Wonderful view. Plenty of parking space. Nice to have en suites. The Ship (pub) and The Boathouse (cafe) at Red Wharf Bay serve good food. We didn’t visit The Bull.The only drawback for us was that having a pushchair, we couldn’t walk anywhere except along the main road. Otherwise, we would certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and found good food served in the local eateries. Sorry to hear that you didn't find the many stretches of coastal path suitable for pushchairs - maybe next time you visit beautiful Anglesey.
Best wishes, Elizabeth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eirlys
Ipswich
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house was very well-appointed in terms of it having an excellent lay out but I was bitterly disappointed to have paid as much as we had for what turned out to be a very modern terrace of houses plonked on a sea of tarmac. The views to the rear of the house were fab as had been shown in pictures but none of the ugliness of the front was shown which is very disappointing.
Basically, it's taken me a year to actually put this down because I really do not like to write negative reviews but after holding it in so long I'm afraid I'm going to just unleash!
There were basic bits not given, like some cooking oil or a few dishwasher tablets, (I did inform the owner but she just said the cleaner must have forgotten to put any out for us) there was no bottle opener and the bin lid was broken. That said, there were a few washing tablets for the washing machine which I would never have expected.
The terraced area outside was fenced with massive gaps so that my small dog could slip through, meaning we had to tether him whenever he went out and we had to walk out of the front and right off around the houses to let our dogs get onto grass.
The double bed was the most uncomfortable bed either of us has ever slept in, it seemed to have a camber to it and we would both roll away from one another and off towards the floor either side! Very odd, the worst week of sleep since our twins began sleeping through the night!
Still, everyone else seems happy with it judging by the other reviews but we obviously found it a big disappointment, particularly given how much we'd paid for it. Check out Buck Cottage if you want the proper Anglesey experience in the same area (Menai Cottages website, cheaper that this utilitarian terrace).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
We take reviews very seriously, both positive and negative and we would always try hard to make improvements where constructive criticism is made. We are dismayed to see that you have written a review almost 12 months since the end of your stay in No 8 The Sidings. Prior to leaving your belated review you have not given any other indication that you were dissatisfied with No 8.

We received an email from you one day after you vacated the cottage to let us know that there was only a dribble of washing up liquid left, no dishwasher tablets and no spare bin-bags. We replied to you on the same day and told you that the cleaning company would be contacted immediately. If the lack of some essentials had been reported at the start of the your holiday, the cleaners would have been able to rectify the shortfall during your stay.

Apologies if you were unable to find the bottle opener but it is located on the end of the wine corkscrew. To my knowledge the bin lid has never been broken, occasionally the mechanism between the peddle and the lid unhooks and is easily fixed.

The fencing surrounding the rear patio does have gaps as all ranch style fences do. Infact it actually has one additional panel than usual to make it safer. The photographs of the property on Holiday Lettings give a very clear idea of what the rear garden looks like including the perimeter fence. All of this could have been discussed with you had you informed us at the start of the booking process that you were intending to bring a dog. Well behaved dogs are very welcome and many guests have brought their pet dogs (free of charge). No negative comments regarding the fence have previously been made.

We are sorry to hear that you had a poor sleeping experience. We put considerable care and expense into choosing the beds and mattresses. Choice of a mattress is a very personal taste, some preferring soft to medium to hard. However, having received many reviews praising a comfortable nights sleep, we are satisfied that we provided the best choice to suit most preferences.

No 8 is on a very small development of eleven houses. The style is clear from the photographs, as is the date of its construction. Without the Tarmac road and the small turning circle at the end there would be no access to the properties.
We check our rental rates regularly and are confident that they are competitive with similar style 2 bedroom cottages in the area.

Clearly No 8 The Sidings was not to your taste and we wish you luck for the future in finding a property that matches your requirements.

Regards, Elizabeth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronwyn B
Skipton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A lovely well equipped cottage that is well situated for discovering Anglesey , north wales and the Lleyn peninsula. Loved the beach decor of the place and everything was clean and tidy. I especially liked that dishwasher tablets, washing tablets and other little essentials was provided, not always the case in some cottages. The double bed was very comfy as was the settee. I liked that there was 2 ensuites as this made life easier in a morning. We would certainly recommend this cottage and would certainly visit again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Many thanks for leaving such a positive review. Its good to hear that you liked the decor, we feel it resonates with the wonderful views down to Red Wharf Bay. We always aim to provide a starter supply of essential kitchen items such as, cling film, foil, kitchen/toilet rolls, washing machine and dishwasher tablets etc and we are glad that you found them useful. It's very reassuring that you found the beds and sofa comfortable and enjoyed the benefit of two en-suites.
Thank you for considering to recommend No 8 to others and perhaps we can welcome your return in the future.
Best wishes, Elizabeth.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan M
1 review
“very good”
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Property is kept well, children enjoyed there stay, eventhough dish washer was not working we enjoyed our stay and weather was at its best thorough out our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2018
I'm glad to hear that your children enjoyed their stay in No 8 and you benefitted from a spell of good weather. Had you been agreeable to me calling to take a look at the dishwasher it would have been attended to immediately. As it was, it was very quickly remedied. The normal washing cycle had been interrupted, presumably by the previous guest. I hope the hand-washing didn't cause you too much inconvenience or spoil your stay in No 8.
Thank you for your feedback, best wishes, Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing