We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”

Review of Glan Tywyn Hall

Glan Tywyn Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glan Tywyn Hall
Kitchen/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Glan Tywyn Hall
Kitchen/dining area
Reception room
Lounge/ sofa-bed  with Cathedral ceiling
Top corridor
Double bedroom
En-suite bedroom
Twin bedroom
Main bathroom
Christmas at Glan Tywyn Hall
Large walled garden at front
Local beach 5 minutes drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Belal M
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Glan Tywyn Hall.
Top place for friends get together, especially large groups.

Well equipped for large parties and well maintained.

Owner was nice, stopped by to say hello and have a chat.

We would recommend this place for sure. Snowdonia is beautiful.

All the best, 3rd Base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big place
Liked least: needs WIFI/internet
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Glad you all enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vkyblu
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A large spacious house perfect for family gatherings”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We've just returned from our stay at glan Tywyn, my family loved the size of the house with its 2 staircases, there's plenty of living room space with another one upstairs. The beaches nearby were lovely and we were fortunate enough as to have nice weather. The kitchen was well equipt. Our party size was 9 and yes the fridges were pretty full (mainly with wine) but we managed just fine. We loved the out door patio with its quirky antique BBQ. The house it's self is ancient so if your looking for a brand new modern holiday home then don't bother ! However if you fancy a grand old house with antique furniture and plenty space and character then I would recommend this house, as for someone moaning about cobwebs, the house is huge and was clean just a little worn. jackie was lovely and made sure we were comfortable. We have 6 dogs and so it was great to be able to seperate them all when we needed. The gardens enclosed at front with enclosed yard at the back. I would defiantly stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Glantywyn Hall. Your tan was fantastic! Just to let you know, we have now installed a large American style fridge/freezer to the Hall. Look forward to hearing from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilekat
nottingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas stay”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We've just arrived home from a 5 day stay at Glan Tywyn for Christmas. From start to finish, Jackie and Eric bent over backwards to make us comfortable and relaxed. The few little issues (which usually arise on any holiday let) were dealt with quickly and efficiently. This house is NOT a 5 star boutique hotel. Its far more charming and unique. It's old and rambling, the furnishings are a mix of antique shop & jumble sale, its in the country so yes, there's mud/ flies/ funny smells, it doesn't have wi fi, the latest games console or more than one tv so if that's the experience you want (as a previous reviewer seemed to) glan tywyn is definitely not for you. As a large group of 10 adults and 4 kids, we wanted a warm, cosy house big enough for us all relax in, near to several lovely beaches and fantastic walks, with nooks to hide away and read some of the many books in, fires to sit around and chat in front of and a kitchen big enough for all to congregate in. Glan tywyn fit all those requirements perfectly. There were ample bathrooms for everyone-I can't say I noticed how long the bath took to empty, we were far too busy having fun to think about it! The only downside was the weather-100 mile an hour winds and storms. But the house was just a lovely place to spend time in and no one wanted to leave, which is the strongest possible testimonial! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here and a big thank you to Jackie and Eric for making it such a great holiday home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
It was lovely to meet you all. Happy you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to hearing from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aphrodite...
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!!!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 5 day stay at Glan Tywyn Hall, the owners were very warm and welcoming and could'nt do enough to make out stay comfortable and trouble free. The house was plenty big enough for our party of 10 adults and 4 children. As the house is very old it has plenty of character. We did'nt have any trouble finding the house as Jackie sent us detailed instructions. I have to answer some of the negative feedback that one or two people left. The house was VERY clean, as for cobwebs, we did'nt find any. In the kitchen there were enough knives, forks etc for everyone and also other utensils. Yes there is only one TV, but who wants to spend their time watching TV on holiday, I certainly don't. I loved the quaintness of the place and would'nt hesitate in recommending it to friends and hope to stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Massive potential but overpriced and sadly lacking on many fronts.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The house and location promised so much but unfortunately, on most things, failed to deliver.

Firstly the good things:
Anglesey itself is a lovely Island with lots of great beaches and scenery,
The Hall is in a great location ~5 miles from Rhosneigr,
Some of the furniture was quite grand (although some looked like it had been rescued from house clearances!)
The garden was fairly large and good for kids to play in, it was a bit unkempt and had a lot of nettles but generally ok,
The house itself is big and could be wonderful if the owner spent a bit of money on refurbishing and generally tidying bits up.

Unfortunately there where many bad things:
General cleanliness (there were cobwebs in many rooms and the place needed a good hoovering and some of the tired furniture replacing),
The flies (it is next to a working farm but this should be taken into account and measures put in place to alleviate the situation - fly traps, fly screens, etc.),
The sleeping arrangements (this house doesn't sleep 14 as the sofa bed, which is supposed to sleep 2, isn't fit for anyone to sleep on),
Kitchen utensils and equipment (the fridge and freezer are tiny, the dishwasher was ok but the cutlery tray in it was unusable and looked like it had been swapped from an old dishwasher! The general utensils were hit and miss and mainly old and tatty),
No front door key and only 1 back door key for potentially up to 14 people!
Poor state of plumbing and general repair (the baths and showers drained very slowly and there was evidence of flooding on the kitchen ceiling, there was a light hanging off in the kitchen which could have been dangerous),
The BBQ (which wasn't a BBQ but just a grate, not a grill, on some bricks and needed totally re-organising to just barely function),
The outside patio/eating area (which was worn and sat right next to an area where pigs were being kept),
Lack of modern amenities (1 TV in the whole house, DVD player that needed swapping as it didn't work, no wi-fi and stereos that still had record decks! - luckily the weather was good when we stayed but if it wasn't the kids would have been bouncing around the place),
Lastly the price - we've stayed in far superior places for around the same kind of money but unfortunately we left it late to book and this was all that was available. This in itself should have set some alarm bells ringing as everywhere else was fully booked all summer.

We still had a good holiday and got lucky with the weather so didn't let it spoil our holiday but unfortunately we couldn't recommend Glan Tywyn Hall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house and the general location.
Liked least: The sleeping facilities, patio and BBQ area, general state of kitchen equipment, issues with flies, general cleanliness.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
I wasn’t going to reply to this but so many people have been on touch, I will. I am not going to get into a slanging match with this vociferous person but here we go!!!
The front garden has got some nettles in the borders, it also has a family of hedgehogs living there. This year we were lucky enough for a family of hares to be born and reared in a corner of the border. The 3-pigs are kept in the field at the side of the house, we keep for the enjoyment of the guests. They love them. We don’t eat meat. The BBQ is a pile of bricks, one on top of the other, but it was built by a bricklayer. The grill on top isn’t a proper grill but is an antique cast iron floor grill which will hold around 25-steaks and is beautiful. This person is right, we do only have one TV for 14-people, but does not mention the library of books in the house and the quiet corners in which to read them. The sofa bed [+2] is as stated, a sofa bed. I let this person know that a new mattress has been bought but this person said this wasn’t good enough. This person is right about the radio, it is only a radio with a record deck, the one in the kitchen plays CD’s. The fridge and freezer are standard under the counter models, with an extra counter top fridge. Glantywyn caters for 14, with adequate cutlery and crockery. This person is right about the cutlery container in the dishwasher, well spotted. There was one under the sink. This person is right about the bath being slow to empty, I wonder what it is? It takes around 4minutes to empty the bath, but if in a rush there are 2-showers and another bath en-suite. The only contact we had with our guests, was when we went to see if everything was OK at the start of their holiday and when we changed the DVD. The people we met, one was the guest who made the booking, were very nice and said the house was lovely and that the children were having a wonderful time. Glantywyn is a happy house, that rings with the laughter of children and people enjoying themselves. This person ‘didn’t get’ Glantywyn Hall, this person could be right, I could be wrong but I am not going to change a thing, even the 3-little pigs will stay. Before now we have had boy scouts camping in tents on the front lawn. I don’t care so long as everybody is happy. As for the cleaning, 3-cleaners work for 6-hours on a Saturday, this house is clean. Glantywyn is over 400 years old, sometimes I’m amazed its still standing but it is clean. All this bother and the booking was for 8-adults for one week. Our contact number is in the kitchen and we live 20-yards away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing