We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
PICTURE OF COTTAGES FROM HILL OPPOSITE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
PICTURE OF COTTAGES FROM HILL OPPOSITE
ERW GERRIG IS THE END COTTAGE OF 2 CONVERTED FROM A 16TH CENTURY BARN LIVING ROOM  WITH LOG BURNER AND STAIRS UP TO GALLERY BEDROOM
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
PICTURE OF COTTAGES FROM HILL OPPOSITE
ERW GERRIG IS THE END COTTAGE OF 2 CONVERTED FROM A 16TH CENTURY BARN
LIVING ROOM  WITH LOG BURNER AND STAIRS UP TO GALLERY BEDROOM
OTHER END OF LIVING ROOM
HAPPY KIDS SPLOSHING IN RIVER 5 MINUTES WALK AWAY
HAPPY DOGS IN SAME RIVER
GALLERY BEDROOM
'HOBBIT' DOOR THROUGH TO SECOND BEDROOM
SECOND BEDROOM TAKEN FROM ALTERNATIVE DOOR
NEWLY REFURBISHED KITCHEN
OUR BLUEBELL MEADOW
TAKING THE DOGS FOR A WALK IN GARDEN BEHIND COTTAGE
VIEW FROM TOP OF GARDEN
NEW BATHROOM
CORNER BATH WITH SHOWER OVER
THE COTTAGE HAS AN ENCLOSED FRONT GARDEN WITH PICNIC BENCHES TO ENJOY THE VIEW WHILE YOU EAT
THE VIEW FROM THE FRONT DOOR
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca A
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We rented this cottage for my sister's hen do and were very impressed.The cottage was absolutely beautiful and the location was stunning.When we arrived,the cottage was clean and tea and coffee had even been left out for us.The cottage itself had some beautiful rustic features,and we enjoyed eating in the front garden where there was a beautiful view over the hill and we could hear the river.We were surrounded by beautiful countryside with Llangollen only a few miles away.When I phoned regarding a query,the owners were very friendly and helpful.I would definitely come here again - thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scuraboy
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This was an excellent choice. We were warm and comfortable and were close to places to explore and walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne B
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Wonderful cottage, excellent facilities, and wonderful walking in the immediate area. The solid fuel wood burner adds to the atmosphere, and the wonderful silence was great. Lovely walk along the river in the bottom of the valley. Great to be able to take the dogs with us - we were all made to feel so welcome. Plenty of local pubs for good meals for when we wanted to eat out. Will be recommending to all my friends - and hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning scenery and surroundings
Liked least: The steps down to the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabruno1
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A comfortable & peaceful retreat in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from my third stay at Erw Gerrig cottage (the largest of the 3 cottages available). The owners Rob and Mary Lou Kershaw clearly really care about their guests and ensure they are equipped with everything they need with plenty of attention to detail such as tea, milk, biscuits, fresh flowers and plenty of logs for the wood-burning stove waiting for you in the cottage on your arrival. The cottage itself is spacious & well-decorated - very modern & well-equipped but with plenty of olde-world charm with it's original features such as exposed beams & the minstrels gallery bedroom overlooking the fireplace in the sitting room with the "hobbit's" door through to the second bedroom. It is very comfortably furnished with fantastic comfy beds & fresh bedding, and it has a lovely cosy home-away-from-home feel to it. This is by the far the most well-appointed holiday let I have ever stayed in - you will truly want for nothing. The location is simply breathtaking, with stunning views over the Ceiriog valley, river Ceiriog and surrounding hills in every direction. The area itself is fantastic for walkers and adventurers with plenty to see and do - I can highly recommend the pony trekking, quad bike trekking & clay pigeon shooting at Pontymeibion, just 5 mins walk up the road, plus a visit to Pistyll Rhaedr, the highest waterfall in the UK & approx 20 mins drive away through breathtaking scenery, is a must - you will feel like you've been transported to the set of the Lord of the Rings! But for the less adventurous & those who want to do nothing but relax then Erw Gerrig is the perfect getaway & trust me - you will feel instantly de-stressed as soon as you walk through the door! I can't recommend Erw Gerrig highly enough and have just booked my 4th stay in July as I just can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;