We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage”

Review of Penlan Cottage

Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Penlan Cottage from the River Dee Penlan river bank and terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Penlan Cottage from the River Dee
Penlan river bank and terrace
Lower riverside patio
View from terrace view towards Carrog Bridge
Penlan Cottage from the road
Riverside Terrace looking dowwstream to Carrog Bridge
Upstream view from Carrog Bridge (Penlan on far right)
Living Room overlooking river
Kitchen overlooking river
View from the kitchen window
Family bedroom
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Three
Study with sofa bed
Bathroom
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John W
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Second time we've stayed there. Cottage great location, wonderful views of the valley. Cottage very comfortable, good living rooms and spacious bedrooms. Grouce inn excellent and very close.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Dear John
Thank you for taking the trouble to write this review. So glad you had a good time and I hope you visit again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Dear Roger
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - we really do appreciate it and are delighted you enjoyed your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MapManUK
Kent, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Penlan Cottage is ideal as a holiday cottage, in a quiet village setting and very comfortable. It is more like a ‘home’ than the ‘show home’ feel of some holiday properties. The kitchen is wonderful and has almost everything you could need in terms of equipment and utensils, including a rolling pin for making pizzas. The welcome pack of bits was very comprehensive and much appreciated. The living room is stylish and very cosy. Both the kitchen and living room have great views over the river, the farmland and steam railway beyond, to the surrounding hills. One evening we all sat out on the terrace to make the most of the weather and enjoy the views, the children played in the shallow bit of the river opposite and we made use of the kayak (which we have previous experience of). The house is well located with easy access to Snowdonia and the north Wales coast. The property had no mobile reception for BT / Tesco, which was great. The wifi is a little slow but bearing in mind the house is in a rural location it is perfectly usable. If we have another holiday in this part of Wales we would certainly consider coming back to Penlan Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Dear Neil
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write this great review. We really do appreciate it and hope you do visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garethspu...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, an ideal break in North Wales”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We came across Penlan Cottage while searching last-minute for a place to take our son (nearly two) on his first family holiday, along with friends and their five-year-old daughter. We were very fortunate they had a midweek opening.

The house and location are as stunning as the photos suggest. We were genuinely taken aback when we arrived. I tend to stay in the UK for my holidays and Penlan Cottage is perhaps the most idyllic place I've stayed in. There are beautiful views of the valley from almost every window, as well as a lovely outside area where you can eat and drink overlooking the river. The house itself is very well equipped, with a lovely kitchen and dining area, sitting room and ample sized rooms and bathrooms. Even though there are several flights of chairs the property is particularly child friendly, with a cot in one of the rooms and several stair gates.

While there's not a lot of space to park outside the house, the nearby pub allows guests to use its car park. You're not obliged to but we said thank you by buying a meal there one evening. You won't be disappointed if you do - the food was very nice and the views of the valley are great too.

All in all we had a great time at Penlan Cottage. We were talking about our next visit before we even left. It's a real hidden gem which we would all wholeheartedly recommend.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thank you Gareth for taking the time to write this fantastic review - it is greatly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you come back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this cottage!”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We all loved this holiday cottage - parents, teenager and 10 year old. The views out of the lounge and kitchen were glorious - never have I enjoyed washing up before! The kitchen was well equipped and spacious. The lounge was very comfortable with a good stock of dvd's and video's - not that we watched any as the view was amazing. A choice of 3 bedrooms - all comfortable, airy and clean. A compact shower room - and a large bathroom. We spent most of time on the terrace and by the river both fishing and trying to catch tiddlers. We made ourselves known to the Grouse Inn and had no problem parking there. We enjoyed several drinks there and an extremely tasty meal. Lots of places to visit nearby - a trip to Llangollen, Post Merion and also Liverpool. Would certainly stay here again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you so much Helen for this review. I am so glad you enjoyed yourselves.
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing