We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My idea of the perfect get away from it all!”

Review of Penlan Cottage

Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Penlan Cottage from the River Dee Penlan river bank and terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Penlan Cottage from the River Dee
Penlan river bank and terrace
Lower riverside patio
View from terrace view towards Carrog Bridge
Penlan Cottage from the road
Riverside Terrace looking dowwstream to Carrog Bridge
Upstream view from Carrog Bridge (Penlan on far right)
Living Room overlooking river
Kitchen overlooking river
View from the kitchen window
Family bedroom
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Three
Study with sofa bed
Bathroom
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lizhowe19...
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My idea of the perfect get away from it all!”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Penlan is in a beautiful setting, well equipped and close to many attractions. Wales has so much to offer and finding time to do it all is difficult. We ate out at The Grouse Inn and the Corn Mill both we can recommend. We had a 5yr old and 3 yr old who loved paddling in the river and sat for ages looking out of the window watching the tractors and birds.. We saw a Heron and a Kingfisher and it was a competition to see who could spot the fish. Locally Llangollen has many things to see and do, Chirk has a beautiful castle and of course Snowden for walking and climbing. A lovely short holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickinson...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent a week at Penlan and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, despite the less than favourable weather. The views are wonderful and the cottage itself is very well equipped. Sally was quick to respond to all my emails and accommodating with requests. We loved watching the river below. Lots to do in the area - days out to Snowdon, mountain railways, Llangollen, canal trips, Bounce Below (for the kids), slate mines, Lake Vyrnwy, walks, and a good pub just behind the cottage. We all agreed (Grandma, 10 and 13 yr olds, and parents) that we'd like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F
2 reviews
“Amazing views!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage is beautiful and in a great location. The views are amazing and a pleasure to wake up to every morning. The cottage has everything you could possibly want and the welcome pack is a real treat! It was so relaxing sitting out on the terrace with a glass of prosecco and a good book. Great walks nearby and the steam railway was a fantastic day.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisl33l...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had one of the best weekends away. So relaxing. Cottage had all amenities and was lovely and clean. Right on the river, we paddled, canoed, and both adults, child and dogs had the time of our lives. Loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: River and surrounding areas.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnybell...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a gem! Great cottage great location”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We all needed a bit of a break after a hectic few months and this cottage gave us just a wonderful mid week break. The location is spectacular, and just sitting on the terrace looking at the river was wonderful . Despite the mixed weather we BBQ'ed most days. The cottage has everything you need and provides a peaceful "home from home "

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing