We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem.....”

Review of Penlan Cottage

Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Penlan Cottage from the River Dee Penlan river bank and terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Penlan Cottage, Carrog
Penlan Cottage from the River Dee
Penlan river bank and terrace
Lower riverside patio
View from terrace view towards Carrog Bridge
Penlan Cottage from the road
Riverside Terrace looking dowwstream to Carrog Bridge
Upstream view from Carrog Bridge (Penlan on far right)
Living Room overlooking river
Kitchen overlooking river
View from the kitchen window
Family bedroom
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Three
Study with sofa bed
Bathroom
Shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark G
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem.....”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Tranquil setting for a house that lacks nothing. We stayed for 4 nights mid July spending most of the time on the patio over looking the river. In fact watching our son catch fish which we cooked on the bar-b-que. We also made use of the local pub which served great food, We are planning to go back later in the year. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyAdele...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW yet again!!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from this beautiful setting, our second visit in s few months.

The location is divine, especially on a very pleasant warm day.

I can highly recommend staying here, the house has everything you need!!

The Grouse, a 45 second walk, is great for a cold beer, the outside beer garden looking over the valley is great.

If you're thinking of going then please don't book as we want to go back every weekend ;-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As good as we remembered!”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We returned to penlan cottage 2 years after our first visit and instantly felt at home once again.
This is the perfect place to just kick back and relax with a stunning backdrop. Plenty of places to explore within easy reach and a pub across the road that serves up hearty meals that are superb. Go and you won't be disappointed, need I say more?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a wonderful location.”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Everything you need and more in this beautiful cottage, views that draw you back time after time and lovely local walks. Could have stayed longer and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Steps to the front door
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sisin0z
widnes england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect all rounder.”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed with friends over the New Year period. Lovely house everything you need and more for a great retreat. Views are fantastic. Pub across the road is very welcoming. Definitely worth a visit to this great unspoilt place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing