We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideallic Setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Set in a wonderful rural location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in a wonderful rural location
Swallows Cottage bedroom Swallows Cottage - romantic dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Set in a wonderful rural location
Swallows Cottage bedroom
Swallows Cottage - romantic dining
Swallows Cottage - fully equipped kitchen
Swallows Cottage - bedroom
Dog friendly
Dee Valley Cottage - child friendly
garden
River View near the cottages
Upside to a showery day
Swallows Cottage - dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick L
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideallic Setting”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The setting is ideal. Far away enough to be a peaceful retreat but close enough to visit all the local attractions. Visited Chester twice which is only 35 minutes in the car. The Llangollen Railway literally runs past the bottom of the field next to the cottage. A trip on the train is a worthwhile treat. We will definitely return here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Thanks for the review. We love the setting for the cottages, and the area as it there is so much to see and do around here. It is always rewarding when guests return as it confirms we are getting things right, you would be very welcome to return. Best wishes Richard andvJenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahdove...
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

What a lovely and relaxing stay at swallows cottage . The cottage was cosy and adequate for a family of 4 including 1 2 year old and 1 dog. The bedrooms are good sized ( which u can easily fit a travel cot if needs be ).

The kitchen is well equipped and the cottage has everything u need for a relaxing holiday.

The views are idellique and my son enjoyed watching the sheep in the field and watching the train at the bottom of the field which can be seen from the cottage .

I would highly recommend this beautiful cottage and would defiantly like to return in the near future .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thank you for leaving the review, it was a pleasure meeting you and your family. It is always a pleasure knowing that our guests have enjoyed themselves. we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamsin W
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A magical place to unwind.”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I arrived home yesterday after an absolutely wonderful 5 nights at Dee Valley Cottages. We stayed at Swallows Cottage with our four month old daughter Bea and our cocker spaniel Teddy.
The setting is just perfect, nestled in the valley surrounded by beautiful views of the lush green hills. There are lovely walks along the magnificent river Dee (where we were able to let Teddy race along off lead)and a steam train which runs along the bottom of their fields with a tiny platform for you to pop into Llangollen if the mood takes you.

The cottage itself is a dream, gorgeous exposed beams, tiled floors, vaulted ceilings (especially in the breathtaking master bedroom where the back wall is given over to a giant window overlooking the best of the scenery) cosy fireplace and bright, gleaming bathroom. Although filled with rustic charm the owners have spared nothing in ensuring you have everything you could need for your stay. We were very sad to leave but will be returning in the new year-it is an absolute treasure, thank you Richard and Jenny!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2016
Hi Tamsin and Roland (not forgetting Bea and Teddy), Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thank you also for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. It was a pleasure having you here, we always get a vicarious pleasure when our guests so obviously appreciate the countryside around here, and the efforts we have made to ensure your comfort. We look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bennettja...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"What a gem"”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just arrived back from a fantastic week at Dee Valley cottages (we stayed in swallows cottage)We could not fault anything,the cottage was comfortable and cosy with everything you could ever need.The views were amazing ,with lovely walks down to the river.The steam train was also visible from the cottage and can be flagged down for a trip into Llangollen.
Richard and Jenny were very welcoming and understanding,especially as my husband is oxygen therapy,and allowed us to arrange delivery and storage of the equipment in the property,can't thank them enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views and tranquillity
Liked least: clearer sign to property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it is much appreciated. No problem regarding the oxygen... Our aim is for all our guests to have a good holiday and will do whatever we can to help achieve that. Hope to see you all again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katieamph...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great views, everything you could want”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were given a lovely welcome by Chris and Norma, who were looking after the cottages for the owners, who were away. Unfortunately, we arrived a day late due to illness but the views at the cottage made up for this and made the journey worthwhile. The accommodation was signposted on the road, warning it was close but we missed the entrance a couple of times as there was only a small sign at the actual entrance, which was hard to read as it was face onto the road, we would definitely have missed it if we'd arrived in the dark. The cottage itself was lovely and everything we need was there for a very comfortable stay. It was clean and well looked after, both inside and outside. We had amazing weather and being able to sit out in the communal garden was a bonus. We are sorry we didn't get to meet Richard and Jenny but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in their Wagtail cottage. Llangollan is a beautiful area, walking along the canal, and a narrow boat trip to the Aqueduct is a must.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was so well equipped and comfortable, everything was to a high standard.
Liked least: It was a bit nearer to the main road than we expected, which was very busy and noisy if you sat outside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Hi Katie, Good that Chris and Norma looked after you, we do try to make sure our guests are taken care of, even when we are away.

Sorry about you missing the sign, afraid that we are not allowed to erect a larger sign at the top of the drive. We do hope that the sign at the end of the layby a couple of hundred yards away - coupled with our indicators in the driving instructions we send out make sure that our guests find us. However, most people can get entranced by the scenery and can miss us. We ask that guests let us know their estimated arrival time, if this is possibly going to be after it gets darker, we arrange with guests that we will put on our outside lights to ensure they can spot us easily. If all else fails, we either talk people in or go and find them, no problem!

it is always good to hear that guests have found the cottages to their liking, we do try to ensure that we think of everything we would want when renting a cottage out ourselves.

Maybe if you return we can get to meet you both, thank you for such a lovely review. We are always grateful when people take the time out to tell us they enjoyed themselves, and that we helped in some way.

Jenny and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing