We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Gem in a Beautifull Place”
other travellers have booked this property
Set in a wonderful rural location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Set in a wonderful rural location
Swallows Cottage bedroom Swallows Cottage - romantic dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Set in a wonderful rural location
Swallows Cottage bedroom
Swallows Cottage - romantic dining
Swallows Cottage - fully equipped kitchen
Swallows Cottage - bedroom
Dog friendly
Dee Valley Cottage - child friendly
garden
River View near the cottages
Upside to a showery day
Swallows Cottage - dining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llangollen, Denbighshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JohnValMa...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in a Beautifull Place”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were returning from a weeks holiday aboard a narrowboat and not ready to end our holiday. We had visited the nice town center of LLangollen and did not hold out much hope of finding accomodation as it was bank holiday Saturday.
Driving along the A5 a few minutes out of town we spotted the sign for Dee Valley Cottages a couple of hundred yards on the right, not holding out much hope due to the August bank holiday weekend and the fact we also had two old Labradours with us, we turned down the driveway thinking we might be wasting time but well if you dont ask you will never know.
Well were we glad we made that turn. The driveway led us down the hill to a beautifull place on the hillside with magnificent views across the Dee Valley, as we got out the car the steam train whistled as it chugged past at the bottom of the hill.
As luck would have it we were greeted by Kim who we later found out was house sitting with her partner John Paul as the owners Richard and Jenny were on holiday themselves. Well i can say reading the reviews on here Richard and Jennyseem to be great hosts, well i can assure them they left thier property in great hands. Kim and John Paul could not have been more welcoming and to our great satisfaction informed us that one of the cottages, Wagtails was free and it was agreed we would stay for 3 nights, just the extension to our holiday we needed.
We were shown around the cottage and could not believe the standard of not just the cottage but all the furnishings and contents. We tried to think of something which had been missed but we failed, everything we thought of, it seems Richard and Jenny had thought of already. The beds were so comfortable, everything was so clean and on top of all that there was an excellent welcome basket full of provisions.
There were some excellent walks right from the door including along the banks of the Dee which also ran along at the bottom of the hill.
The location was also ideal to explore further afield, less than an hour away we spent a sunny bank holiday afternoon on the beach at Barmouth.
There are also lots of choice for places to eat, we were impressed with the Grouse only 10 mins drive and reccomended by John Paul, although we would also be quite happy to stay in the cottage as everything you would need is supplied in the excellently equipped kitchen.
The free wifi was welcomed by my 10 year old son.
Thank you very much and we will certainly be returning in the future, next time for a longer break and look forward to meeting Richard and Jenny next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The standard of everything
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review, and for your subsequent booking for next year. It was a pleasure talking with you. When we originally set the cottages up, it was our intention to supplement our pension and also maintain an interest in our retirement. Our values have always been to provide our guests with the best experience we can. We meet many guests in the course of the year and want to be able to do so with pride, we get so many positive verbal responses from our guests (many of whom we have got to know well over the years). However, seeing it in print helps confirm our success in achieving our aims.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim S
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful view!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Mum and I stayed here for one week in may, in swallows cottage.
It was very well equipped in the kitchen, and other areas.
Great location for travelling around to other places, to walk the dog.
Would definitely go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful view of the forest
Liked least: everything was great!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we try to provide and maintain the cottages as we would wish to find the places we use when we go away. It is a good place to bring your dog, as walking around here is usually rewarded by splendid views. You will be very welcome should you wish to come and explore further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omen480
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very near to the A5 but you would never guess.”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for one week during the Eisteddfod and although there was a considerable increase in traffic on the A5 it could not be heard in the area of the cottage.
Very nice place all round with comfortable beds and all facilities you need to prepare meals.
On arrival it was nice to walk into a very clean and well organised cottage and we settled
down straight away as if we had been many times before.
Richard and Jenny the owners are very welcoming people and what they have done in keeping their cottages as nice as they are has resulted in many people having a very enjoyable holiday. Nice place to visit is Ruthin and Chirk Castle. No dislikes for this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and the views at the front.
Liked least: Joining and exiting traffic on the A5 at the cottage road entrance.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate guests taking time to leave comments. We figured the reason for the cottage's continued peace and quiet, is that although the A5 is handy, the road is on a completely different level and hidden by trees. There is so much to see and do around here, we hope you will return to explore further.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunandbea...
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy and clean cottage with spectacular view!”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed with my partner and our dog for 3 nights. We did not arrive until evening time and it was already dark. We did miss the road once but the cottage was not difficult to find overall - just need to follow the direction step by step. The owners were very considerate, the heating was on before therefore when we arrived in the evening the house was already warm. We did not see the view until we woke up the next morning - it was beautiful! It was ashamed that we only stayed for 3 nights, therefore too much to see in too little time, and we definitely did not have enough time to relax in the cottage. Love to go back in summer time! Had a really good time, thank you Richard and Jenny!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Short day light......
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that we met your expectations, it is always a pleasure to hear. It was good to know you both enjoyed yourselves. There are so many things to see and do around here that 3 days can be gone so quickly, we are still discovering new places of interest after living here for fifteen years! The seasons all have their characteristics, in fact each week or even within a day we can be given different perspectives on the beautiful countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramberli...
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Idyllic cottage with amazing views”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Home from home but with views to die for. Great location very near to lots of places of interest. The cottage is very cosy with all the equipment you'd ever need on holiday. Don't often want to return to the same place twice but would defiantly stay here again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. You would be very welcome anytime you wish to call by, maybe the chain bridge will be restored by next time you come to the area. All the best to your lovely family too. regards Jenny and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing