We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wern Cottage

Front view of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front view of cottage
Laburnam Arch at Bodnant Garden
Purple sky at Conwy
The Fairy Glen
Daffodils at Bodnant Garden
Wild Carneddau ponies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Conwy, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ro3ert
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had high hopes of here, and weren't disappointed. Great location, less than five minutes from the A55 and five minutes over the Sychnant Pass to Conwy. Nice and quiet at night. A two minute walk to the local and an energetic 15 minute walk up the pass for amazing views. It seems that everything had been thought about, with all amenities and utensils provided. A great place to stop and a good base for North Wales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your feedback and hope that you will come back and visit Wern Cottage and north Wales in the future. Best wishes, Jane & Laurence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela P
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and Comfort”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in September 2014

This really is a luxury cottage with an extremely comfortable and homely feel. Its a great base for walking, eating out and exploring the attractions of North Wales and the owners spare no expense in making your stay a pleasure with the extra touches they provide. The lovely welcome basket and toiletries make this a special experience and there is everything you need for a romantic evening.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and comfort
Liked least: Leaving at th end of the stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Work2Trav...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage-did not want to leave”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Had a wonderful stay with my grandchildren, ages 9 and 7. Luxury and comfort. The welcome pack was a lovely touch and the flowers in every room added to the warm welcome. We lit the wood burner one morning, didn't need it as we were blessed with very warm weather for April, but because we wanted to experience it! The children loved the x box, but love to be outdoors and the cottage location is a great base to explore the surrounding beaches and towns. We followed the stream one day after visiting the park, which is on the doorstep. One of the highlights was a short walk up the pass where we came upon 2 wild ponies - grandaughter thought they were magical. Another visit took us to Conway where they both loved the crabbing, after visiting the 'smallest house'. Hope to return another year where we can further explore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and cleanliness
Liked least: no mobile signal!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you and your grandchildren enjoyed your stay at the cottage. It is lovely to see the wild ponies close by on the hillside, and at this time of year we hope to see a few young foals too. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon. Best wishes, Jane & Laurence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben B
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Out-of-this-world charming”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed for a week after Christmas and over New Year with my partner and father. The cottage was a great size, had everything we needed and was perfect really. The cottage has plenty of places to sit (a favourite was watching different bird species, and a squirrel, use the garden).

There is the constant sound of water rushing down the creek below the cottage and this is really relaxing.

I found communicating with Jane and Laurence before and during the booking very convenient and they were extremely helpful at all times. The cottage has everything you need to settle in, but also excellent maps, guides and walking suggestions for activities in the region.

On New Years eve we walked 50 m down to the village pub to celebrate and the locals were really welcoming and shared paper lanterns that we all left off after midnight.

North Wales really is a special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2017
Thank you for your very kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have a new summer house coming to the garden soon. Another place to sit and enjoy the sound of the river! Thanks again! Jane & Laurence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick_and...
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful location - imaculate, comfy cottage”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I've visited Snowdonia many times but never stayed in the Conwy area. Racing through on the A55 I had got the impression of somewhat run-down coastal sprawl. We decided that, in veiw of the prospect of very fine Easter weather, we'd take a last minute break - but everywhere in central Snowdonia was full. What exceptional luck to find Wern Cottage and have an opportunity to explore this wonderful coastal district. The cottage is perched high above the coast with stunning views out over the sea. Behind are green hills which - within minutes of arriving we were out exploring. A twisty lane through craggy rocks takes you down the back route into Conwy - a picture postcard medieval fortress town with a huge castle and gorgeous waterfront. The village of Capelulo itself has a decent pub and a couple of reasonable restaurants - positioned to take advantage of the stunning view.
Wern Cottage is a gem. The house was warm, clean and comfy. Our two-year old loved the safe walled garden and watching the sheep and rabbits in the field opposite. The kitchen is well-equipped and the beds very comfy. The owners met us on arrival, were welcoming and helpful with advice. It was a perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing