We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A getaway that was not too far away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sychnant Pass Country House
Ranked #4 of 22 Conwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
2 reviews
“A getaway that was not too far away”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We spent two nights at this lovely country house just before new year and were completely charmed by the place, the location and the owners and staff.

Our room was incredibly spacious and fabulously relaxing with two of the comfiest sofas and a huge bed with the best quality cotton bedding.

The food and wine was of an excellent standard. Our second night fell on 30 December so there was a delicious hot buffet served with a view to encourage the guests to get to know each other and the quality of food was superb, which certainly helped to break the ice. What a lovely evening. We were quite sorry not to be staying for the new year's eve dinner party.

Our main objective was to get a good deal of walking in and the location could not have been better with a range of walks right outside the front door of the hotel.

Our break delivered everything we could have wished for. I expect we will be back and would happily recommend the Sychnant Pass House Hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshasama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
It was lovely to meet you - and your gorgeous dog! Sorry you had to leave before the New Year celebrations - but there's always next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    50
    12
    16
    4
See reviews for
52
158
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

A fantastic weekend break in beautiful surroundings. The Sychnant Pass country house is a fantastic setting if you are looking for a relaxing break in North Wales.
Hugh and the staff make you feel very welcome and will accommodate your every need. The accommodation is very comfortable with impressive rooms. The pool, sauna, gym and hot tub cater for all.
The food in the restaurant was excellent, I would highly recommend along with the wine list.
Thank you very much for a great weekend, we look forward to seeing you again in the new year.
Tony & Julie.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed in Calon Lan for one evening and had a wonderful night. Hugh was a very welcoming host and attentive without being OTT.

The five course meal was amazing, well cooked food and even though it was five courses we didnt feel over faced. The only problem was choosing what to have, everything on the menu looked delicious. Sychnant Pass has a comprehensive drinks menu at sensible prices and again the lady that served us in the restaurant was prompt.

We went for a walk around the neighbouring hillside on arrival then for a swim in the saltwater pool. The pool is great and just long enough to do a few lengths and work up an appetite for your evening meal.

Cant wait to go back

Room Tip: Call and speak to Hugh to discuss your requirements and choose whether you want a view or a secluded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HNRP, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 24 November 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay here and especially the food. We work hard to try and make everyone's stay an enjoyable and relaxing one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Hugh, the owner, made us feel very welcome and ensured our stay was really very relaxing. The five course meal alone would have been well-worth the total we paid including the room!

We arrived on Saturday at about 3, and once checked-in headed straight for the pool, which was great (and empty!). Since we have a 3 and a 6 year-old we arranged to go down for dinner fairly early. It really felt like we were living in our own country house before dinner as we played board games with the kids in the sitting room, sipping G&T's in front of the lovely big open fire. The only distraction was when Hugh appeared briefly to check if anyone wanted another drink; that's the kind of distraction I can certainly live with!

When we were ready we were taken through to the dining room to make a start on our 5 course meal. The kids were included in this, being offered the same choice as my wife and I, and we all enjoyed an absolutely exquisite meal. The kids were most impressed with the 'ice-cream' (sorbet) after the first course! We were very well looked after but made to feel very relaxed during the meal. Hugh was surreptiously keeping an eye/ear on the kids and I'm sure he'd have intervened if they were ruining the atmosphere for the other diners. Fortunately they were behaving anyway though, and we felt very comfortable.

After dinner we enjoyed cheeses and another drink in the sitting room (with the fire again), and then had a lovely night's sleep in our four-poster whilst the kids enjoyed their seperate room in the family suite.

The suite was great, 2 large rooms each with TV, one even had a decent fridge. Plenty of tea and coffee, and awesome 'proper' antique oak furniture.

On top of all this, we had a lovely walk around the grounds in the morning, went swimming in the lovely pool, had a sauna and I even got 20 mins away from the kids in the gym!

On the way home we stopped down the road to feed apples to the wild(ish) mountain ponies, and then nipped into Conway Castle.

All in all a great weekend, one of the most lovely places we've ever stayed. We're already checking the diary to see when we can go again...

Room Tip: Just call the place direct and speak with Hugh, the owner. There are only 12 rooms and he knows the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizaLilian, Owner at Sychnant Pass Country House, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you for your kind comments - we loved having you stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Thank goodness we decided to hold our wedding in this lovely hotel. Hugh and Janet were so friendly and helpful, the accomodation was fabulous! We had the whole hotel to ourselves and our guests which was great.
The swimming pool before breakfast the next day was gorgeous - salt water - so nice not to smell the chlorine!
Wish we could do the whole thing again!

Room Tip: Just ask to see them - they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conwy
2.6 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,143 reviews
3.0 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,536 reviews
4.8 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,186 reviews
2.3 km away
Bryn Derwen Guest House
2.6 km away
George & Dragon
George & Dragon
#9 of 22 in Conwy
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sychnant Pass Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sychnant Pass Country House

Property: Sychnant Pass Country House
Address: Sychnant Pass House Sychnant Pass Road, Conwy LL32 8BJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Conwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Conwy
Price range (per night): $205 - $328
Hotel Class:5 star — Sychnant Pass Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Edwardian country house is set in 3 acres of grounds with leisure facilities which includes swimming pool, sauna, gym and outdoor hot tub. We have charging points for electric cars and ample off-street parking. Situated in the Snowdonia National Park, we are in the heart of the countryside and yet only 1.5 Miles from the historic town of Conwy and less than 15 minutes' drive from the seaside resort of Llandudno (voted top UK seaside resort on Trip Advisor). We are easily accessible and well placed for both business and leisure stays. Our candlelit restaurant is highly recommended and is open 7 nights as week to residents and non-residents alike. Our seasonal menu offers a choice of starters, main courses and desserts and the food is freshly cooked to order, using local ingredients wherever possible. We can offer a great wine list to complement your food. Our location is convenient for Conwy, Llandudno, Bodnant Gardens, Mount Snowdon, Anglesey and we are a very useful stopping off point for those travelling to the Holyhead ferry terminal. Outdoor pursuits of walking, golf, mountain biking are all on our doorstep and just a short drive away, you will find the longest zip-wire in Europe and the only indoor surf resort at Surf Snowdonia - as well as plenty of other outdoor activities to enjoy. Alternatively, you can just curl up with a good book in our comfortable lounge! A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sychnant Pass Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sychnant Pass House Hotel Conwy
Sychnant Pass Country House Conwy, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing