We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, and superb value for money”
Review of The Margam Deer

The Margam Deer
Price range: USD 6 - USD 19
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We are regulars at this place, absolutely incredible food, always very tasty, and some of the desserts are insane. If ever you want a good meal, with a good atmosphere and great service, choose the Margam Deer peeps, you wont be left disappointed.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 535 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

Sunday carvery was very nice indeed. Some of the meals when it was the Copper Penny were disappointing, but we enjoyed the carvery yesterday. The meat was tender, vegetables were enjoyable. There doesn't seem to be a great difference since it re-opened in layout/decor etc, and I think I preferred the Copper Penny name as it's nowhere near Margam, but overall we enjoyed our carvery.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

I think the name Margam Deer is not an appropriate name for this pub. Originally called the Copper Penny which was in my view a lovely name.
Changed recently due to refurbishment.
Margam is around five miles from this area so why the Margam deer?
I must say inside it looks very nicely decorated. Although we have lost the prints of old photos of local areas and industry, instead we have a few pictures of deers in silhouette and knives and forks.
Our meals were ok for the money we paid. Good value 2 meals and a bottle of wine for £20.
We asked for a jug of water 4 times with our meal but it didn't arrive until after I had finished my meal.
Was very busy there being a Saturday evening but I noticed when we left there were quite a lot of empty tables which were full of plates and waste food waiting to be cleared.
Which Suggests they are under staffed.
I used to take my grandchildren there occasionally before but I'm afraid not again as the facility inside for children is not good. Children's play area inside was awful, there was more for the kids to play with before the refurbishment. I noticed that there were two amusement machines in that area which needed £'s to use them. Think that's awful!!!! Why not put some educational playthings there instead to keep the children amused.
Won't be returning in a hurry!

Date of visit: March 2018
4  Thank GER666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

excellent meal staff very friendly helpful and could not do enough for us we went along because it has changed hands we had a bad time once before .

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marybC9815GK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

With a couple of friends on Friday who had a carvery each ,wife and I had fish and chips all meals we're excellent quality and warm served by a very cheerful waitress will certainly return.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank ronrY2043MZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Margam Deer also viewed

Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
 
Cwmafan, Port Talbot
Swansea, Swansea County
 
Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot
Llandarcy, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to The Margam Deer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing