We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely house in an excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rachel R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A lovely house in an excellent location”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had a perfect stay at Town and Country Cottage. We had everything we needed in the house and more. It was beautifully furnished, clean, tidy and cosy. We would have enjoyed sitting out in the garden had it been warmer (but it was November). The house was within easy reach of the town by foot and there were several shops and restaurants within 5 minutes' walk. The town itself was a great starting point for trips into the Black Mountains, the Brecon Beacons and places such as the Big Pit (I would highly recommend a visit to the latter).

If we go to Abergavenny again, we will stay in Town and Country Cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you for your very appreciative comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little cottage - highly recommend”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This cottage is very well located in Aberganvenny - just a 5 minute stroll and you are in the centre of town and yet the road itself is very quiet and peaceful with parking outside.

The property is more like a home-from-home than a holiday let and we felt very comfortable here - and I am fussy! Extremely well equiped, there wasn't a thing we needed. The double bed was super comfy with a memory foam mattress. The garden too is delightful with a raised patio area and views of Blorenge.

Entry to the property is via an electronic keypad so no faffing with keys.

Would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the property and the location
Liked least: Hefty deposit required and 10 days to pay it back
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
What a super review. Thank you my aim is for people to feel at home and welcome.

I look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards

Gay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady_and...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful, warm and comfortable”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Ty Pinc Cottage in Abergavenny is an absolutely lovely rental and very well located for exploring the Brecon Beacons, and the whole of the South of Wales. Like another reviewer has said, do not judge this cottage by its exterior – it looks like all the other houses along the street. But once you are inside, it is comfortable, spacious, very clean and contains all the amenities required. The kitchen was especially appealing, for those of us who like to cook, and had everything you could want to manage meals (including close proximity to a large Waitrose!). The shower was great, hot with good water pressure, the street was quiet and sleep was no issue at all -- and had the weather permitted there was a wonderful garden for enjoying a meal and a glass of wine. The walk to the center of town for the market, castle and odds and ends is all of 5 minutes. And communication with the owner was easy and efficient– even though she is not very close by all the time, she was very responsive to queries both before and during our trip. We fully recommend Ty Pinc if you are looking to explore the Brecon Beacons and South Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2015
What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a full review. I am so glad you had a good time and yes I love cooking too.

Kind regards

Gay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chris1959...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice House”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A very well maintained house,well equipped and furnished in a convenient central location with easy parking in the street.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
Thank you for your kind remarks. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P
1 review
“Delightful comfortable, cosy holiday cottage”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely clean and cosy holiday cottage. Very comfortable and well equipped and in a great location - a short walk from the shops and restaurants of Abergavenny and a great base for touring the Brecon Beacons. Nice views from the raised garden patio. The welcome pack (eggs, milk etc) was thoughtful and very much appreciated.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your kind remarks. My hope is that my guests will feel completely at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 126
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing