We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quicker to get to than central France”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Cottage

Stunning Scenery!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Scenery!!
Walk amongst the vines and enjoy glorious views of the Usk Valley Cosy living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Stunning Scenery!!
Walk amongst the vines and enjoy glorious views of the Usk Valley
Cosy living area
Relax in comfort
Dining for 2 !
Comfy double bed
Double bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
Vineyard tour
The Vineyards
Seyval Blanc
The brook
The Vineyard early spring
Wine Tasting
The Nantiago Brook an attraction in itself
Harvest - September & October
We have two adjoining cottages, the same layout.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Patrick K
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quicker to get to than central France”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was such a surprise. A vineyard on the edge of the Brecon Beacons really did seem unlikely, but the weather was really continental, and our walks in the evening were accompanied by cricket song. The cottage was comfortable and fairly well equipped. It is tucked behind a café and shop where you can sample home-made cakes and the vineyard's really quite delicious wine. Abergavenny town centre is close by, and its a short drive to Crickhowell and the Black Mountains.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect quiet, rural, relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Perfectly placed to explore Brecon Beacons and Abergavenny. Very comfortable cottage with everything you need plus a babbling brook!

p.s.Tiny things but I would recommend adding a bin in the bathroom and instructions for how to leave the cottage after a stay, also we couldn't get the cold tap in the kitchen to work, but the hot ran cold at first so that was fine

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable, rural and peaceful with some small reservations”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Peaceful cottage and nice rural location even though it was attached to the vineyard shop premises. Good parking beside the cottage. Adequate space for two people and good heating throughout our one week stay Plenty of hot water for the shower. The cold water tap produced water with an amazing amout of sediment so we bought lots of bottled water. Be aware that there is no razor point so you may want to bring a razor adapter. The quality of the mattress was really excellent which made a change from the usual cheap non real spring ones we have suffered of late which resulted in bad back ache. We found the duvet was very heavy and far too too warm for us. Had we stayed for a second week we would have asked if a less warm lighter one was available. No big spiders but the windows really needed cleaning as did other aspects of the cottage. Some of the glasses and pans etc could have done with replacing. Cottage generally could have benefited from some TLC but we enjoyed our stay and Louise was helpful when we asked for replacement mugs to replace the stained and damaged ones when we arrived. Orange mobile reception came and went in the cottage and outside and Internet was also a bit hit and miss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The good support provided by the mattress.
Liked least: Dirty windows, bad condition pan/s with flaking anti stick, poor state of glasses.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lonerange...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“cosy cottage for 2”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

really lovely little cottage in a beautiful location at the foot of the Sugarloaf. Great accommodation and really kind owner who provided a bottle of the vineyard's bubbly as it was new year. very accommodating of our kitten at last minute. Lovely homely place to see in the new year and get lots of new year's day walking done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmm515
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great setting, cottage dirty.”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The setting in a vineyard with a little brook is delightful. The little cottage was fine in terms of space, but it had not been cleaned properly, very dusty and dirty windows.
Also on our last morning the cold water supply had disappeared making washing toilet etc very awkward. We rang the owner, but she did not pick up our call for 2 hours by which time we were on our way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall location.
Liked least: Unclean floors, windows & surfaces. No water on last morning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
My sincere apologies for any over sights in the cleaning of the cottage, I would have really appreciated knowing about this during your stay and would have corrected the matter instantly. When I was chatting with you half way through your stay I was under the impression from what you said that everything was great with the cottage, . Our comment book praises the standard of cleanliness by numerous customers but occasionally things do get over looked, I'm really disappointed that I could have corrected it and made your stay much more enjoyable had you given me the opportunity.

With regard to the water, we are on a natural water source and very very very rarely we can have a problem so my sincere apologies for that happening at the end of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing