We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cosy cottage for 2”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brook Cottage

Stunning Scenery!!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Scenery!!
Walk amongst the vines and enjoy glorious views of the Usk Valley Cosy living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Stunning Scenery!!
Walk amongst the vines and enjoy glorious views of the Usk Valley
Cosy living area
Relax in comfort
Dining for 2 !
Comfy double bed
Double bedroom
Shower room
Shower room
Vineyard tour
The Vineyards
Seyval Blanc
The brook
The Vineyard early spring
Wine Tasting
The Nantiago Brook an attraction in itself
Harvest - September & October
We have two adjoining cottages, the same layout.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lonerange...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“cosy cottage for 2”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

really lovely little cottage in a beautiful location at the foot of the Sugarloaf. Great accommodation and really kind owner who provided a bottle of the vineyard's bubbly as it was new year. very accommodating of our kitten at last minute. Lovely homely place to see in the new year and get lots of new year's day walking done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmm515
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great setting, cottage dirty.”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The setting in a vineyard with a little brook is delightful. The little cottage was fine in terms of space, but it had not been cleaned properly, very dusty and dirty windows.
Also on our last morning the cold water supply had disappeared making washing toilet etc very awkward. We rang the owner, but she did not pick up our call for 2 hours by which time we were on our way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall location.
Liked least: Unclean floors, windows & surfaces. No water on last morning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
My sincere apologies for any over sights in the cleaning of the cottage, I would have really appreciated knowing about this during your stay and would have corrected the matter instantly. When I was chatting with you half way through your stay I was under the impression from what you said that everything was great with the cottage, . Our comment book praises the standard of cleanliness by numerous customers but occasionally things do get over looked, I'm really disappointed that I could have corrected it and made your stay much more enjoyable had you given me the opportunity.

With regard to the water, we are on a natural water source and very very very rarely we can have a problem so my sincere apologies for that happening at the end of your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sciencegi...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed in Brook cottage for a bank holiday weekend. It was a lovely weekend in a cottage perfect for two. The cottage has a lovely comfy bed, good shower and a nice sofa to lounge on in the evenings. There was a great use of space in the cottage, with the kitchen stocked for all utensils needed for cooking. It was very nice having a TV too which had freeview channels and could play DVDs, which was perfect for us as we stayed in and watched a film one evening drinking the lovely free bottle of wine we had received.

The vineyard itself is great, really beautiful and there is a small shop at the front where you can drink wine in the sun which seemed popular with local families. The location is perfect, just outside of Abergavenny so it feels really rural but close enough to get to town. We did not have a car so we walked everywhere and it was about half an hour walk to town which was fine. We also climbed a couple of mountains, the Blorenge and the Sugarloaf which I thoroughly recommend as the views were incredible.

All in all a great place to stay for the weekend, I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again in future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RachDrevi...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All you need for a comfy few nights stay. Shame about the spiders.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Brook Cottage, Sugarloaf Vineyards. The cottage is basic & old decor but has everything you need for a few nights stay (self-catering) and in a great location for Abergavenny town (5 min drive away) and nearby walks.

Our only negative comments would be:

1) shame about the large-ish spiders! I expect creepy crawlies out in the sticks, however the cottage seemed to have a problem with them. Despite getting rid of about 10 on our arrival (not a great greeting - why did the cleaner not get rid of them?), more appeared over the 3 nights we were there.

2) Although it is a great location - be warned you may have to frequently reverse up very narrow roads close to the cottage to let other cars pass. Annoying, but it didn't spoil our stay.

All in all, you get what you pay for and this cottage is reasonably priced. The free bottle of wine from the vineyards was a bonus! I'd recommend to a friend who isn't afraid of spiders!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Spiders
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing