We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Wales”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast The patio.....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast
The patio.....
...with that view!
the superbly equipped kitchen
the lovely oak dining table seats up to 12
Relax in comfort after a day in the hills amid the warmth of old oak beams and a roaring fire
the open and spacious living space
The West Bedroom - light, bright and ......
very cosy.
The East Bedroom - extra-wide single beds and, of course, the view!
more beautiful oak beams upstairs
A quiet corner for a read or a doze
The Bat Room - Sugar Loaf views and an ensuite wetroom
triplet lambs receiving extra tlc from the hens as well as their mum!
Feeling blue - bluebells carpet the woodlands above Porth-y-Parc
it's worth the pull up to the summit of Sugar Loaf....less than an hour's walk
summer sunset over Sugar Loaf
Autumn glory at Porth-y-Parc
Sugar Loaf looking very well sugared indeed!
Go Wild!  Nothing beats a cool river dip after a hot summer walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna S
2 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Wales”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in The Old Barn for a week in July 2014 with my mum, sister and my husband. We absolutely loved it. Location is scenic, it's nice and private, conversion and interior is tasteful and convenient and Roz is the most hospitable host happy to help with our questions. Fresh eggs were absolutely delightful. I wish we could stay longer, as the weather was especially good and allowed us to dine outside enjoying fantastic view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brixtonbe...
brixtonbelle
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Third stay, always wonderful”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We returned to the Old Barn for our third stay in May, this time to attend both the Amlin and Heineken rugby cup finals at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. (Its a 40min direct train from Abergavenny).
We bought different friends with us and of course they loved the cottage, the views, the walk up sugar loaf.
As ever, a very warm welcome from Roz & Pip and we added mutton to our list of farm produce this time around and slow cooked it in the range while we went off to the rugby. Superb.
We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful building, beautifully furbished. Fantastic setting.
Liked least: Its a cliché, but having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Glorious rural escape...!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My wife and I spent a week in the Old Barn with our two children ( 14 and 11 ) in late May 2014. We chose it as a base for visiting the Hay Literature Festival. It worked wonderfully for that purpose ( Hay is about a 40 minutes drive away ) but we ended up falling in love with the barn in its own right. The location is stunning - only five minutes out of Aber but you feel like you're in the middle of the countryside. Relaxing and peaceful with wonderful views of Sugar Loaf Mountain and great walks up into the hills straight from the door. The barn has been beautifully converted with real care and attention to detail. Roz and Pip are perfect hosts. Not intrusive but always there when needed with helpful suggestions, offers of farm-reared produce, and stories of farm life ( my son even got to feed the baby lamb - highlight of his week! ). A real escape from the stresses and strains of modern urban life. We will be back...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location / Charming hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bren553
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect holiday or short break”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

lovely place, grandchildren loved it, owners lovely, will go back, a long bumpy narrow road to the barn but well worth it, the views are fantastic, big open fields for the kids to run free, we took a tent and a small paddling pool and we had 4 hot and sunny days which made it better, had bbq 3 nights, advise to take dvds for kids if weather not good, lovely kitchen well every room lovely , had fresh flowers, home made cake, bottle of wine, eggs and milk waiting for us ,

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise in Wales”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Old Barn in July 2014 and had the most wonderful holiday, we were devastated to leave!

The cottage itself is the perfect blend of contemporary and cozy -- it has some modern decor, but the stone walls, wood burning fireplace, wood beams and many decorative touches give it a rustic feel. The kitchen seems very new and is fully fitted to an excellent standard with everything you could need. We loved the collection of CDs, DVDs and games, perfect for a rainy day or night in! It was not only beautiful and comfortable, but the whole house is impeccably clean.

The Old Barn is tucked away from the road, so it is completely surrounded by country fields with a breathtaking view of Sugar Loaf (which, by the way, can be accessed by a hiking trail feet from the front doorstep). We were desperately seeking some peace and quiet, and we found it at the Old Barn. It is the most serene place I've been, no noise pollution whatsoever. Our favorite activity was just to sit at the table out back with a cup of coffee or bottle of wine and take in the views. We had planned a full itinerary of sights to see, but enjoyed the cottage so much we decided to spend a couple of days just lounging around.

Porth-y-Parc is well situated to explore the rest of Brecon Beacons. The Old Barn is only about 10 minutes drive to a waitrose and other shops, as well as about 15 minutes from a great country pub (the Crown at Pantygelli) and absolutely delicious restaurant by chef Gordon Ramsay (The Walnut Tree) which is not to be missed.

The hosts, Roz and Pip, are incredibly warm, welcoming and helpful. Right from the start, Roz was quick to answer my emails with any questions we had. They left delicious eggs from their hens (who popped by for a visit), cake, milk, fresh flowers, and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. They are very kind and the perfect hosts!

All in all, we are both eagerly awaiting our next stay at the Old Barn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing