We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant accommodation and location”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast The patio.....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The Old Barn in its glorious setting
The sunny courtyard - perfect for al fresco breakfast
The patio.....
...with that view!
the superbly equipped kitchen
the lovely oak dining table seats up to 12
Relax in comfort after a day in the hills amid the warmth of old oak beams and a roaring fire
the open and spacious living space
The West Bedroom - light, bright and ......
very cosy.
The East Bedroom - extra-wide single beds and, of course, the view!
more beautiful oak beams upstairs
A quiet corner for a read or a doze
The Bat Room - Sugar Loaf views and an ensuite wetroom
triplet lambs receiving extra tlc from the hens as well as their mum!
Feeling blue - bluebells carpet the woodlands above Porth-y-Parc
it's worth the pull up to the summit of Sugar Loaf....less than an hour's walk
summer sunset over Sugar Loaf
Autumn glory at Porth-y-Parc
Sugar Loaf looking very well sugared indeed!
Go Wild!  Nothing beats a cool river dip after a hot summer walk!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wanderer0...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant accommodation and location”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Barn is a perfect place to stay for complete relaxation and excellent walks. The accommodation is first class, with an exceptionally well equipped kitchen, tasteful furnishings and warm and cosy throughout! It is a really well thought out holiday let with spectacular views from all the rooms. The hosts provided basics for our arrival and there are several good restaurants and pubs nearby, as well as local supermarkets. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie L
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A holiday gem in beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My goal was to find somewhere in the Brecons with a bit of luxury to celebrate my 40th bday.
The Old Barn certainly ticked all of my requirements on the www search fields so i booked direct with the owner (the start of a great holiday experience, very warm and welcoming).
You never quite know until you arrive how well the pictures stack up to reality- they really do not do this property justice. Simply put we were speechless on arrival, the barn is restored and furnished as such that it felt like a home from home, fresh eggs, welsh cakes, wine and a lovely postcard left by the owners set the tone of the holiday, a lovely touch!
The barn has everything, from a hi fi system (and a great selection of dvds, cds, games, walking maps) to a roll top bath, lots of parking and garden furniture to dine outside ...you could easily hole up here and not venture out at all.
When you do venture out to explore on foot - lots of great walks on the doorstep and by car you can access lots of towns, villages and mountains in under 30 mins (the nearest town is 5 mins by car)- excellent for a novicewalker like myself who wants a balance of rural escapism on the one hand, but still has access to shopping and pub grub on the other.
I would highly recommend a stay here and will certainly be returning - thanks to the owners hard work, warm welcome and little touches that hotels can never achieve, this truely is a holiday gem at outstanding value for money. I wont forget my 40th thts for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property
Liked least: i liked everything
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn2282
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Kept Secret in Wales”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have had the most glorious stay at The Old Barn. From our first contact with the owner, Ros Smart, who sent us details and information, to our very reluctant departure, I cannot stop thinking how amazing this place is. Old Barn was perfect for what we wanted - a rural location, spectacular views, ultimate luxury, yet only a few minutes drive from Abergavenny. We travelled with our extended family from South Africa, two young children and a young pup and everyone was delighted! A freshly baked farm loaf, fresh eggs awaited us on arrival, and every need is catered for, with plenty of books to read, CD's, DVD's and a wealth of local information. Easy access to the multitude of walks and places to eat nearby. The Old Barn is so well catered for that I felt it was our own home away from home. It has been very tastefully decorated, cosy and warm and we sometimes just wanted to stay in and enjoy the luxury of it all! We will definitely be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this property!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomdorvic
Layer de la Haye
1 review
“Perfect holiday retreat, fantastic location and scenery”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We are a family with two small children and we stayed at The Old Barn in March. It's such a beautiful setting, it truly is like a picture postcard.
The Barn is tastefully decorated and very well equiped with everything you would need. The home made cake, wine and fresh eggs from the farm's chickens are a wonderful touch.
Families with children and couples alike will enjoy exploring not only the Barn but the surrounding area. There are wonderful walks straight from the doorstep with breathtaking views. Our doggie was particularly happy!
It was an absolute joy watching our 3 year old daughter running freely across the fields to see the lambs.
The location is also excellent as even though it's so quiet and private, there are shopping amenities and restaurants within a short drive.
If you stay at The Old Barn you are guaranteed to feel totally relaxed and be extremely impressed with the accommodation as well as the setting. Would 100% recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B
London
1 review
“Heavenly cottage and beautiful surroundings, couldn't have asked for more”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A warm and cosy cottage, restored to an incredible standard and also very tasteful. Didn't feel like a rental property at all and completely loved it. Am very keen to return with the family next year. The surrounding countryside and walks were breathtaking but it didn't feel a million miles away from civilisation with the town ten minutes away. We had such a warm welcome from the owners who couldn't have been more helpful - fresh eggs and even a homebaked cake to arrive to. We loved this place and it was exactly the sort of break we needed. A surprising amount of things to do with the kids including climbing, riding, the Big Pit etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the style of the Barn and the setting
Liked least: No TV (but I sort of liked that too in a weird way)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing