We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Weekend Break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Birch Tree Barn

Welcome to Birch Tree Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Birch Tree Barn
The Barn on a snowy evening Drive from the Barn, lined with bluebells in May.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Welcome to Birch Tree Barn
The Barn on a snowy evening
Drive from the Barn, lined with bluebells in May.
Open plan living, full of light and beautiful views from every window.
Oak flooring throughout open plan living area.
Open plan kitchen/dining room area.
Satellite TV, DVD and selection of films, ipod dock and WiFi.
Full height windows giving panoramic views and buckets of light.
Enclosed garden for our guests.
Double height ceiling with beams.
Kitchen with a basket of goodies to get you started...
Dishwasher with tablets provided...so no washing-up while you're on holiday!
From the hall into the bathroom.
The bathroom with limestone floor and great pressure power shower.
From the bathroom into the hall.
Feather duvets and pillows all topped off with luxury bed linen.
Bedroom 1 with King size bed and beautiful view.
From the master bed to the hall.
Beautiful views from the master bedroom window.
View from master bedroom window.
Bedroom  two.
Bedroom 2 with twin beds, feather duvets and egyptian cotton bedding.
View into the hall from bedroom 2
View from bedroom two.
View from bedroom 2 window
Double height open plan living with beams and beautiful views from every window.
Birch Tree Barn on a beautiful day.
Stairs to Birch Tree Barn entrance. Utility room door just visible on the ground floor.
Ground floor utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer and secure bike storage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sharon K
Binfield
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Break”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Thank you Gill for such a lovely warm welcome. We arrived at Birch Tree Barn frazzled after a very long week at work an really looking forward to our weekend break. We were so delighted! The accommodation is mainly across the top floor of a beautifully converted barn. Very modern, light, clean and airy with all 'mod cons' and the most gorgeous views. The location is perfect as close enough to Abergavenny to be 'handy' and far enough away to give you the peace and quiet of country life. On the fist evening we ate at The King of Prussia (just a few minutes walk away) and the meal was delicious! Highly recommend the pork belly :-). On the second evening we chose to stay in with a take away, perfect. We would have loved to have stayed longer and will definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the home from home feel.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren h
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

When we arrived we were given a warm welcome by Gill who kindly showed us around a bit and explained how a few things worked. We were pleasantly surprised by the lovely décor a lot of thought has clearly been put into it and it works well. The views from all the windows are lovely, looking out over the fields in the morning seeing the cows grazing etc. was nice and really gave the place a rural feel. We really liked the personal touches that really help make you feel at home at the barn from the beautiful fresh flowers to the eggs, homemade bread (which was lovely I wish my bread tasted that good when I make it!) and homemade cake (which didn't last long! all I can say about the cake is WOW, I bake a lot and my cakes never taste this yummy, I would go back just for the cake!) We found the barn to be the perfect base from which to explore a bit of wales and the perfect place to come back to after a long day, coming back to somewhere nice and comfortable and where you feel at home is really nice especially after a long day! It is fully equipped and has everything you could need to do any cooking you would want to do while there from pots and pans to a dishwasher (no washing up on holiday!) All the extra little things really make this place a home from home and perfect place to stay while in wales. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the barn and would definitely recommend it to friends and family! Our only complaint is that we didn't book for long enough! Other than that it was lovely! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda G
Laurieton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Birch Tree Barn for 4 nights and thoroughly loved it. The accommodation is just beautiful- your own barn separated from the owners house, with its own garden and room to run. The kids had a great time with all the room ( something they haven't had while travelling through Europe and the UK). Everything you need is supplied, washer, everything in the kitchen, even bathroom supplies. My children played with the owners children nearly every night- something they have also missed while travelling ( someone to play with). You would enjoy this place the best if you have a car as it is situated out of town in a country setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Difficulty with the TV
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
early50s
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“beautiful location”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three nights at the Birch Tree Barn and were delighted with the standard and lovely décor of the apartment. We were welcomed by Gill who showed us the place and left us with a welcome pack of bread, butter, eggs, cake and milk. The apartment overlooks some stunning farmland and it was wondrous to wake up to the beautiful views in the morning.
Note: the barn is located on a side road and a car is needed if you wish to see any of the local sights. However, there is a local pub located within walking distance. Also, the barn is located on the equivalent of the first floor so this may be an issue for people with mobility problems.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities and space provided.
Liked least: Lugging suitcases upstairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_E...
East Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“First class comfortable accomdation”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a holiday cottage for a week whilst in the area bell ringing. Our requirements were non smoking, no pets and WiFi. The Friday to Friday let was a great bonus.

We were met when we arrived and made very welcome. The 'welcome pack' included a very good home made cake. Everything was spotlessly clean and everything worked. The open plan main room had splendid views, as did our bedroom. Easy parking, and an area to sit out in when warm.

We enjoyed our week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing