We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
29
31
17
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
31
17
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crockery and cutlery private bathroom free wifi stay there again old city walls double bed two nights the location is perfect town centre car park phil toilets castle guesthouse character marina cosy
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Very friendly welcome by the Phil the Manager, Staff very pleasant. Room although small was clean and comfortable. Full English Breakfast was good. We only stayed the one night as we were touring Wales. The only down side was having to share a bathroom (no ensuite) but no hardship really they was two toilets and two showers just down the passage from our room and they were spotlessly clean. If we are in the area again we would stay at Tegfan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank janboKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Very nice room, fine dining-room,
fast WiFi, very fine breakfeast,
nice location, very friendly welcome!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schymroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed in the apartment for a family wedding. We were welcomed by Phil who appeared drunk and a bit overbearing. He was nice but very strange. He took us through the kitchen which was piled with dirty washing. He showed us the apartment which was not the cleanest though ok. It had some rickety furniture, I noticed a chair leg at a funny angle, luckily no one sat on it. The living room was sparce, but it was only for a weekend. The bedroom had four beds including a double, which was very crowded but ok. We only used the kettle and fridge for drinks, but would have struggled to cook.
The bathroom was the best with a good power shower and plenty of towels. The floor was very hot, make sure you stand on the mats or it will burn your feet. The view was of the back of the property with bins, but quiet. It was over all ok, budget, ok for a weekend and somewhere to put your head down. We didn't have the breakfast but went out.
On leaving, we found Phil doesn't take cards. He was swearing and calling a client who had just left a swear word, as there was a dispute about paying cash. It was a bit embarrassing in front of the children, although they thought it funny. He seemed overwhelmed by all the work and struggling.
Overall it was ok, quirky and funny. I probably would not recommend it as it was stressful dealing with Phil. I was definitely on my guard , though luckily it was fine. My cousin liked it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shropshirelass66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

the room was small but clean hospitalty tray was good as it included bottled water the host was very friendly breakfast was very good best value in town

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I would not recommend this place to anyone. The rooms were run down, the toilet never flushed right, the shower didnt work well, they didnt "tidy" up the room after our first night and only one room had "en suite" bathroom. We had to park several blocks away (at least it was free) and the "free wifi" was broken. Plus, Phil is not just "quirky", he's a bit creepy... says very inappropriate things and makes most people very uncomfortable. The breakfast was good, not great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradfowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews