We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend break”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great weekend break”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Visiting Caemarfon on the spur of the moment we didnt have a booking anywhere and landed on this hotel's doorstep because it boasted a leisure pool. We were not disapointed, the rooms were spacious and very clean and the dinner both nights was excellent as was the breakfast. It has a gym, spa, sauna and pool . The staff were friendly and professional. All in all a great place to stay, only one thing let it down ( this is only my personal opinion) and that was the bar. It didnt have a welcoming atmosphere or the same elegant feeling that the rest of the hotel has.In fact it reminded me of a "men only" bar and was not an encouraging place to sit and sip a wine before dinner hence I rated it 4 stars and not 5. This was the only critisism I can make about this hotel as the rest was of excellent standard.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pannie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    330
    113
    27
    24
See reviews for
184
389
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here last weekend and three things annoyed me. 1st on arrival say a huge bill board in the car park advertising £59 rates, I had paid £139. 2nd I booked dinner bed and breakfast but on arrival was told I basically had to go straight to dinner now (at 6:15pm) or wait until 9pm. As I had booked D,B&B, how could they fail to book a table? We had our meal n the bar, which was OK, bu not ideal. 3rd no kids in pool after 6pm. I booked the hotel because I was travelling with my 10 year old son who loves going swimming. Don't really see the reason for this rule, it can't get so bad that it causes problems and why should kids be discriminated against? They are paying guests too. So be warned if you are a family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tariqmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Had our dance weekend here again. Accommodation couldnt fault it. Staff very polite and friendly and nothing too much trouble. Food cooked and served beautifully.Managed to use the facilities this time which was superb.Booked bed breakfast and evening meal but ate in at lunch times both days.More than adequate parking for cars of any size. Food very reasonably priced. The group of nearly 100 mixed age people have booked again for same time next year. However my partner and I have booked to stay over the New Year period we were so impressed with the Hotel food and service.

Room Tip: I dont think there is a bad room in the hotel. This is from the group of dancers this weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie01Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The front of the hotel as you approach is quite impressive - if you park round the back however you do wonder if you are staying in student accommodation. The public rooms however are very pleasant, stylish and spacious. I had a very nice large room at the front corner of the hotel, which was very nice although it was hard to watch the TV since it was tiny, high on the wall and a long way from anything to sit on apart from the desk chair. My bathroom was small and a bit chilly as it had single glazing and was rather battered by the prevailing wind.
There is what looks like a very nice pool and spa, although I didn't use them myself. Food was fine although the vegetarian choices were rather limited. Bar prices are rather high.
The staff are generally really very nice indeed - pleasant and helpful.
I'd stay again - except I prefer the Black Boy.

Room Tip: I had room 122 which was large but the bathroom is cold in the winter at least
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLewises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights half board, and don't have a single negative comment about it! Location is convenient, room was great, staff were lovely, food was excellent. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedupsingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 km away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
10.8 km away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
7.4 km away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
13.7 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price range (per night): $130 - $338
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Priceline, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing