We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Celtic Royal Hotel(Caernarfon)
USD 184
USD 117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 197
USD 191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ty Dre Town House(Caernarfon)
USD 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Black Boy Inn(Caernarfon)
USD 167
USD 113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 123
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel(Caernarfon)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Groeslyn Ty Mawr B & B(Llanddeiniolen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
63
42
26
21
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
42
26
21
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrusty breadbefore midnightshared facilitiesfamily friendly pubgreat view of the castlesunny dayfish and chipsham sandwichsunday carverymenai straitsgreat pubbangor universityallow dogsselection of beerspub foodlovely foodwell worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Can only review the bar and surroundings. Dropped in for a drink last night , sun was setting , young lad outside singing in Welsh , fella inside serving me blue coconut cider , sat on the wall for a while with misses taking it in what a stunning back drop , loved it !!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Big N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Called in for a drink and lunch on a busy Sunday , the food and service were terrible , carvery ran out of most things and asked customers to come back later for veg etc !whilst part way through what I can only describe as horrible sloppy food with tough lukewarm meat, staff were stressed and sweating which wasn’t very hygienic , don’t get me started on the toilets , glad I went after the food , which we all left, all 6 of us spent rest of day regretting the experience feeling quite ill .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank elainelaraway58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Probably a great place for a drink as it has a great location at the mouth of the estuary into Caernarfon Harbour. Unfortunately we didn't get the impression any love or care was being afforded to the food! We visited at lunchtime and had simple Ham Sandwiches, however the ham was tasteless and I suspect from a local cheapomarket and they took a long time to arrive despite the place not being particularly busy.
So can't give this more than average as something was missing with the food - perhaps the missing A from the pub name was a clue?

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Mayfield_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

We stayed for three nights in the B&B of the hotel arriving on May bank holiday evening. The pub was heaving as the weather was glorious. Still in spite of the crowds we were quickly and efficiently checked in and shown to our room. The young man who checked us in moving his car to allow us to park on the hotel car park as everywhere was very busy and vehicles parked all over.

Our room was comfortable and functional with a nice on suite shower room. The hotel is a former customs house and is built into the town walls. It is ther fore an old building with the problems this can generate. The enterence to the B&B is up a flight of stone steps and would therefore prove problematic for anyone who cannot get up stairs. We were on the first floor and therefore had relatively easily to access..

The hotel as they advertise is "pet friendly inside and out" and we found our dog warmly welcomed by everyone at the hotel. He was welcome not only in our bedroom but in the bar areas downstairs as well as on the terrace outside.

Breakfast was included in our tariff and was served in the Resturant downstairs, again the dog was welcome, from 8am to 10am. A range of food was available and we had Orange Juice, a full Welsh breakfast with toast and coffee on each of our three days we stayed. At this point I should mention the staff, they are superb, very friendly and very helpful willing to go the extra mile to make the guests feel welcome that particularly applies to the breakfast staff but also applies to the excellent bar staff.

The main thing about the Angelsey Armms Hotel is the location. Adjacent to the castle on the front by where the river joins the Menai Straights and the views across to Angelsey are stunning. Unfortunately we arrived in glorious sunshine but by the next day the weather had changed and we had rain and showers for the next two days before leaving again in glorious sunshine.

The hotel is ideally placed for visiting this part of Wales and we visited Llanberis and the Lake Railway and Slate Museum, Porthmadog, Cricieth, and Phewelli in spite of the weather.

The hotel also serves food in the Resturant bar and outside on the terrace and has an excellent menu.

This is a great hotel and anything it lacks in style it makes up for in spad s as one of the fri milestone hotels we have stayed in and it's great location. We will definitely visit again hopefully in good weather.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank William1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Worst experience ever. We were one of a number of tables outside this evening that complained to landlord about a large group of what looked to be very underage drinkers launching bottle after bottle (4 bottles in 10 minutes whilst we were watching) into the estuary whilst dancing on tables to loud music. The music on its own wasnt actually a problem to us but it may well have been to others. And I drank underage so again, on its own, not the worst crime in the world. But what was hard to swallow (apart from lobbing glass bottles into the sea) was the fact the landlord shrugged off everyone's complaints and carried on regardless despite the broad as daylight issue it was causing the majority of his customers. The service was so bad I couldn't even buy a pint of dark fruits to launch over the halfwitt that thought throwing glass into sea was ok (I kid you not, that was my plan) I couldn't even get anyone at the bar to acknowledge our existence, let alone serve anyone - poor guy in front of me had been waiting 15 mins for a drink and had sat down and given up - he was the only one waiting and with 3 people behind the bar doing very little???! A joke. And what we had of the food wasn't great either.
We left our food and just under half a pint each (unheard of!) and so in summary, highly recommend NEVER EVER VISITING THIS AWFUL PUB EVER

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tora O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews