We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
99
77
26
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
77
26
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfacing the seaattic roomtown centrebay windowoff road parkingwarm welcomehuge bedcooked breakfastlarge carreasonable rateslast minute bookingchoice of cerealsprivate parkingtea coffee facilitieshot wateron arrivaldressing table
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Arrived at the hotel to a freindly welcome i had two rooms booked a king room on the ground floor and a king room on the first floor the ground floor had no radiator but did have a heater large rooms but to be honest the whole place was looking tired No cooked breakfastand £7 a head for cereals and toast did seem expensive when you could cross the road to Morrisons and have breakfast for £3 huge bed but not particularly comfy water took an age to get hot shower just about passed all in all two nights here was enough

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 24,240,070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

I suppose ok is ok! However it's difficult to know how to respond sometimes to some observations. e.g. here...about the radiator? It was I recall mentioned once before. Since then I try always to point out to anyone upon checking into that room (and I did so on this occasion) that the heater is a high tech (Expensive!!) one with remote control so that you the customer can select the room temperature that's desired. So far no one has said it doesn't do that. We have tested it ourselves on some of the coldest days in Winter and it maintains the room temperature selected better than the old radiator it replaced. You are correct about no cooked breakfast,- since start of 2017 we no longer do one.. You are not quite correct about the buffet Breakfast details as you did not have it. £7 yes.
If you had had the Breakfast you could have had Starters, with Juices,Cereals, a(choice usually of five or six), together with fruit, Toast, Choices of Cappuccino, Latte, Espresso, freshly ground Italian Medium Roast Coffee with FREE repeats. Tea drinkers have a choice of teas as well quite a range of herbal teas. Lots little extras include Marmite ,Vegemite for our Australian visitors,Local Honey, as well as usual jams and marmalade...except that they are homemade here on the premises. This breakfast has proved to be very popular especially this year and vast majority of comments have been on the lines of "We've had so many cooked breakfasts on our tour around UK we're delighted to finally be able to have a light buffet self service choice". It's even better value when it's included in the room rate,- which it is when booked direct!
Morrisons is good value too but you pay for every item and when you add the cost of say two cups of coffee, plus all the above it comes to a lot more than £3 there! I know...I sometimes eat there too :-)
Back to the hot water issue. It's been mentioned before. There is plenty of hot water. This is a large Victorian building and the hot water has to travel a little further than in a modern hotel...so a few minutes patience is required. Once it arrives there is no shortage of it! We also realise that at this time of year the hotel as you put it can look "tired". But rest assured after it's Winter break it be rejuvenated by Spring. At £65 for a King room with Seaview including Breakfast I know from the majority of reviews and our large volume of regular customers that this represent great value when compared with any other hotel locally.
Even our Bar prices compare with that famous chain of pubs :-)
Bearing in mind the above please compare "like with like" when writing a review.
Thanks however for taking time to review us and let's hope I've given you food for thought and that we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Lucky us, we had room #2 with a very good view down to the river. Room was big and light, clean but old. It really needs lots of TLC through out. Nice bar, with an attentive owner Patrick who served us over the 2 days there. Breakfast is continental, with Patrick there to assist you. Parking a bit on the small size. Easy to get to shops or pubs/bars. Thank you Patrick for some nice Swiss chats over a few double malt. Tchuess

Room Tip: Our room was Room #5 with good views and was nice and big
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MozziL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Danke viel mals! or Vielen Dank in proper German!! My Swiss German is a bit rusty now. Yes the hotel is old (1860)...a bit like ourselves and we both need TLC and updating here and there. Every year we rejuvenate some areas and some rooms (and ourselves). It's requires constant maintenance. Daily routine means keeping it clean with good housekeeping.
PARKING TIP:
Stop at the hotel entrance when you arrive. Unload your luggage and we will show you which parking bay is best for your car/van.
Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Spent a very pleasant night at this hotel. last minute booking. Patrick was a good host. we were given the attic room which was great, very clean. shower worked well. very close to five stars and would have got the five stars if he supplied breakfast. well recommended. would stay here again, no problem.

Mart

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martdodd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Don't know how you missed Breakfast?? Perhaps you might enlighten me with a quick phone call or email? Look forward to seeing you again...and making sure you have Breakfast :-)
Many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Central to the town centre. Ideal for touring snowdon etc Clean hotel with a lovely comfy bed. Close to Morrisons and Asda. Views over to Anglesey if you're lucky, which we wasnt but we were out and about most of the time. Helpful owners and free parking. Enjoyed our two night stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kazablanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Glad you enjoyed your break. The sea-views over to Anglesey change constantly with the weather :-). Even in Winter they can be spectacular especially the sunsets.
Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Now I don't believe in bad reviews, it's disrespectful to the establishment and childish. If I enjoy a stay they get a review if I don't we take our custom elsewhere.
We came here for a few day's break, and after reading some reviews I was unsure of whether we'd like it. Yes the furniture is old fashioned, but I thought it was lovely reminded me of stays with my gran, homely and comforting, big wardrobe (sure there's a name for that) and dressing table. The room was large with a double bed and a single bed and a bathroom ensuite. It was close to all the bar's and shop's also morrisons is over the road if you want something. I mean all you need is somewhere clean that has a comfy bed for a good night's sleep and somewhere to get changed for a night out. And in august it's a miracle we found somewhere as everywhere was booked up.
Also a big thank you for returning our shirts that we'd left in the wardrobe hubby must have had a blonde moment and forgot them.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank poppie1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for a fair and balanced review,- and for restoring our faith in our reviewers :-)
Not sure but I think that old large wardrobe might be called an armoire?
TIP: If it looks like we are full on line try telephoning (the old fashioned way)as all our rooms are not on line and you may even get a better deal (subject to availability).
Hope this helps. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews