We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“GREAT, LOVELY WITH AMAZING VIEWS AND FRIENDLY...”
other travellers have booked this property
Traditional Welsh Stone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional Welsh Stone Cottage
Patio area with barbecue Hot tub for 8
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Traditional Welsh Stone Cottage
Patio area with barbecue
Hot tub for 8
Large and comfortable lounge
Spacious large dining area with patio doors.
Large well equipped kitchen with range cooker and American style fridge
Superking Master bedroom
View from master bedroom with ensuite and super king bed.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bangor, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Early morning cockerel not for us!”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a spacious, well equipped house with a lovely kitchen. There is an overall feeling of space inside the house.
Our stay of one week which was out main family holiday of the year was ruined by the owners cockerel which would start at an earliest 5.44am and not stop for about half an hour. The cockerel could also be heard at random points during the day, like when you are trying to carry a sleeping toddler in from the car or trying to relax in the hot tub. The listing does say the cottage is on the family small holding but if it had simply mentioned animal noises from early doors I wouldn't have booked.
After days of discussions between cottages.com and the owners, the owners agreed to put the cockerel in the coup until 8am they didn't do this that night or our last night so we had a long drive home very tired.
The owners live next door which is convenient for problems (a drive way gate was built and replaced in two days! Wish I could get people to be that helpful near home) but for me, having the owner and their visitors walking and driving past the cottage back and forth all day was not relaxing. Their drive comes along the front of the house at the front gate. This is very close and whilst cars were all considerately slow driving, it just felt like people were around all the time. This was highlighted in our last day when my hubby and children had just got out of the hot tub and I'd put my toddler down to nap so I could pack and the window cleaners turned up and just started walking around the house. Cranky, tired toddler and all the packing to do.
Whilst the location is picturesque from upstairs the established trees do not allow a view from the downstairs and I would not describe this property as coastal. I could not see the sea all week but maybe it was just the weather or the trees had grown bigger. There is good access to main roads and a big Tesco not far away.
The bedrooms were all of a good size with giant beds in two of them, I would have liked locks on master and the bathrooms but not a big deal. The Master ensuite is in a separate plumbing system which causes the toilet to be very noisy when flushed so we didn't use it once the children had gone to bed.
The house was cold and damp feeling downstairs, there is also a funny smell which despite numerous plug ins, could really be noticed when you came in from outside.
I have included pictures of the 'steep banking' in the back garden as the website doesn't. I hadn't imagined an 8ft rocky drop towards the house from the description, but it meant the back garden was not an option for us.
The Hot tub was well used and great, just be careful not to accidentally knock it onto Ec economy mode as this is too cold!
Not unique to the cottage but the recycling system was fantastic, the rest of the U.K. Should take note.
Top tip, if using the oven, it takes ages to heat up so plan well!
Don't forget soap for all four bathrooms and take extra toilet roll as we ran out and had to share it out across the different w/c's.
Good supply of beach towels for the hot tub so no need to pack your own.
The wifi signal wasn't that strong and I couldn't use my iPhone upstairs. The games consoles in the game room kept older children occupied so they didn't use the wifi much.
I would t recommend this house for toddlers or elderly as there are a lot of steep stairs. But for a group of adults or families with older children I should think it's great as long as you are early risers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
This is the first time we have experienced complaints regarding the holiday cottage and extreme they are. If any issues do arise whilst we have guests in the cottage we respond immediately to rectify them - we have had the odd one mainly regarding understanding the dishwasher and heating. The description of the house states the following - it is set on the owners’ smallholding on the outskirts of the village of Rhiwlas - enclosed, lawned gardens with patio and furniture. Gas BBQ. Hot tub. Ample parking. NB: Sloping banks in rear garden. Therefore as the cottage is situated on our small holding animals are fenced off at the left hand side of the property, previous guests have delighted at the animals and the sound of the country they experience. Once we were made aware of the issue regarding the cockerels we locked our free range poultry in their hut until 9 am every morning - we have not had any other guests complain and the guests currently staying at the cottage have no issues regarding noise from the cockerels. The description clearly states NB sloping banks in the rear garden, there is ample flat lawns at the front of the house to enjoy but we have now put a gate stopping access unless guests wish to use the back lawns. No one has complained of a smell or the house being damp, the property is fully central heated and can be used at any time. We were in the house Saturday to prepare it for the next guests - no smell and no damp. The WIFI is super fast broadband again no issues before, we have tested it and it is fine. There is only one flight of normal stairs in the property and we provide baby gates for toddlers, elderly couples and grandparents have stayed in the cottage and not experienced issues with the one flight of stairs. The window cleaner has been asked to clean the windows on Saturday and we have re a firmed that schedule with him. We aim to provide a fabulous experience for our guests and have achieved that so far and continue to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaneerah...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT, LOVELY WITH AMAZING VIEWS AND FRIENDLY OWNERS.”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Anyone looking to book this property...don't think twice. we spent 3 great nights in the property. Given how affordable the property is we did not expect such luxury. The cottage is equipped with everything that provides a relaxing holiday. all the rooms are very spacious,clean and well furnished. we had a spacious kitchen and a nice dinning room to enjoy our meals with lovely view from the patio. A big thanks to the friendly owners who we did not get to meet unfortunately for the high standard maintenance, the thoughtful welcome pack and the loads of leaflets for walks and activities. Altogether we had a great laugh in the game room and enjoyed the hot tub after a long day climbing the Snowdon. we hope to book it again soon. Thank you so much again.

ZANEERAH

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your lovely reevoo. We look forward to you staying with us again and hope to meet you then. Regards Caron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmap1986
1 review
“Fantastic mini break”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fantastic place to stay, went with friends to celebrate my 30th. Was fab from start to finish. The boys loved the games room, the hot tub was fantastic. There was a hamper on arrival, and the owners couldn't of done more for us decorating the place in banners and balloons was lovely. We will definitely be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
We are so pleased your 30th was a special event at Carreg Y Garth Isaf. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnesell...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, hot tub and hosts”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

5 friends and I stayed for a weekend at the cottage in June. Although weather a bit grey, the views from the property were lovely
We were met by Caron and her husband upon arrival after a lengthy car journey from London. They were extremely hospitable showing us around the property. A maintenance issue arises Saturday which they promptly fixed for us
A lovely welcome hamper was provided.
The property was extremely spacious with everything you need for a family or group holiday
Zip lining us close by which we recommend
Overall a fantastic weekend in a lovely location
We would highly recommend this to all

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you we really appreciate your review and thrilled you had a great weekend in beautiful Wales and you took the opportunity to do Europes longest Zip wire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah W
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic family holiday staying at Carreg Y Garth Isaf”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at this property for a week with 4 generations of my family - it was fabulous and there was something for everyone.

The location of this beautiful cottage is superb, with views of Snowdonia and Anglesey. Watching the sunset, from the comfort of the hot tub after a lovely day out was amazing. We had enjoyable visits to Rhosneigr, Treaddur Bay, Llanberis, Porthmadog, Criccieth and Caernarfon - all within easy driving distance.

The cottage itself was really comfortable. Large and spacious but still cozy with 4 double bedrooms and a games room which doubled up as a second lounge. Two of the bedrooms are en suite and there is a third bathroom upstairs and a downstairs toilet and utility room.

The owners are really friendly and welcoming and left us a lovely welcome hamper.

We would definately stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We enjoyed you staying to you have been lovely guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing