We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holiday let”
other travellers have booked this property
King bed with plenty of wardrobe space and dressing table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King bed with plenty of wardrobe space and dressing table
Spring-time at Celyn Cottage Lounge/Dining/Kitchen with plenty of space to relax in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
King bed with plenty of wardrobe space and dressing table
Spring-time at Celyn Cottage
Lounge/Dining/Kitchen with plenty of space to relax in
Well equipped kitchen with wash/dryer, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster etc.,
Shower room with walk-in shower.
Sunshine on the front seat for most of the day
View from the meadow gate towards the coast and also the distant Cambrian Mountains
View of surrounding countryside
View to the sun facing south of the meadow
Our summer visitors
Stroll along our canopied lane - cool and lush with a stream gently running down the side
Aberystwyth prom walks are so enjoyable
Take a drive up to Cwm Rheidol reservoir and visit Statkraft butterfly house
Merry Christmas - December 2015
Enjoy the evening sunshine from the lounge
Raised stone wall flower beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pat H
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday let”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in this lovely cottage for two nights whilst delivering our eldest daughter to university, I regularly stay in hotels and guest houses for business so can be quite critical of where I stay. I can honestly say this is by far the best accommodation and hospitality I have ever received, the cottage was very clean and well equipped. Honestly the photographs do not do this property justice, for the three of us there was more than enough room, the bedroom large and very comfortable, the third bed was the 'L shaped' sofa which my daughter also found very comfortable. The large bathroom with walk in shower excellent also. What made the stay was the finishing touches the vendor added to make our stay very pleasant. There was a nice patio area with seating which we did not use, outside the property is very much 'work in progress' but nothing to be concerned with.
The only negative (not my own opinion but my teenage daughters) was no WiFi and mobile network not great, this did not put us off wanting to stay at this property again.
I cannot express how welcome we felt and how much we felt 'at home' during our stay, I would not hesitate to recommend this property and have already made another enquiry about our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: At home feel
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
THANK YOU so much for being so generous with your review. It delights me to know that visitors do enjoy staying at the cottage. Though work has been ongoing (while avoiding disturbing the tranquility for visitors) there will have been a fantastic change by next Spring - my husband will have finished the excavation of the earth mound and the grounds and the landscape will be fully planted up. The view from the cottage will be far more distant and panoramic yet the immediate gardens will be a riot of colour and a wildlife haven. Also hopefully BT will have undertaken the upgrade and will provide a better internet and WiFi service. It is a bit frustrating for youngsters not having WiFi and I am exploring options to try and resolve the problem. I aim to ensure my visitors enjoy every aspect of their stay and will always strive to improve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeCT92
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best of both worlds!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in the Aberystwyth area that provides a quiet peaceful retreat in the evening after a day full of fun, then I would seriously recommend you book this fantastic cottage. Myself and my other half stayed for 3 nights, and were more than happy, even wishing we could've had another night or two! The cottage itself was faultless, it included everything you needed for a self catering holiday, as well as being spick and span with modern furnishings but with plenty of character too. The location was excellent, as Aberystwyth is only 10 minutes drive away (Taxi's a reasonable £5) and has everything you need for a fun filled day/night, but when you return to the cottage it's peaceful and offers plenty to do such as scenic walks and blackberry picking.
In Marilyn and her husband, you couldn't ask for better hosts, they really went to extra lengths to make us feel welcome, offering transport to Aberystwyth (as neither of us drive) and providing DVD's in case we decided to stay in.
All in all, Doleos was as close to perfect as can be!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was a delight to have such a charming young couple staying at our cottage especially as they took such good care of it, leaving it very clean and tidy for me. After such a hectic summer period every little help is immensely appreciated. It was lovely to see the young couple wandering through the meadow and picking blackberries along the hedgerow. I do hope they will return sometime soon for another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieRaff...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday cottage - just the right size for 2”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay in this charming renovated farm building. Spotlessly clean and our hosts were extremely helpful and informative. Really lovely shower room and extremely comfortable bed with spotless linen. A really nice touch was the provision of tea, coffee and sugar more than sufficient for the whole period of our stay. Also provided were milk, butter and jam! Wish we had found this holiday home at the beginning of our daughter's year at University and not the end! We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So clean
Liked least: Nothing - but could do with a hook for clothes in bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
THANK YOU for your very kind review. I really do appreciate your comments as ensuring visitors' satisfaction is my priority. I will continue to endeavour to maintain and even improve on the high standard visitors deserve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie R
1 review
“Beautifully renovated farm building set in a tranquil location.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at Celyn Cottage. Thoughtful welcome food gifts on arrival. Canisters filled with coffee, tea and sugar. Lovely fresh bedding and super comfy bed! Hosts were more than welcoming. Wish we had discovered this rental at the start if our daughters year at uni and not at the end! We will be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for being the first to review my cottage and for your very kind comments. I am delighted you liked it and enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing