We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Cinema”
Review of The Regal Cinema

The Regal Cinema
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering far more than an ordinary cinema, our day time up-market coffee shop turns into a wine bar in the evening alongside our Circle and Auditorium Bars. Audiences have the choice to watch films sat at candlelit tables on the ground floor or to snuggle up in the double love seats, regular seats or one of our four Royal Boxes in the circle and enjoy refreshments from any of our bars, before, during and after the film... Films range from blockbusters to classics, family favourites to art house and independent. We have family films every weekend and extra family shows in the holidays, as well as parent and baby shows on Thursday mornings. On Tuesdays we host Silver Screen matinee shows and Big Breakfast screenings are the perfect start to the day. The Regal is a true community venue, and, in addition to films and live screenings from the Royal Opera House, we host a broad range of events live music and comedy, as well as other live performances.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We were visiting the area and decided to book tickets at this Cinema and what a treat it was!! The most leg room I've ever had in a cinema, table service, friendly staff and a fab atmosphere.

Fancy dress and an Easter egg hunt for the children before the film, bacon butties and coffee for the adults.

Just wish we had a Cinema like this in our area. Well done to everyone at The Regal.

1  Thank crackerjack2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalCinema, Manager at The Regal Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Regal and like the concept of our table service and seating with extra leg room as standard! Thank you also for your comments about our friendly staff. We do hope that you will come and pop in again next time you are in the area! Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"comfy seats"
in 50 reviews
"art deco"
in 37 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 27 reviews
"bottle of wine"
in 29 reviews
"loyalty card"
in 21 reviews
"table service"
in 23 reviews
"down stairs"
in 16 reviews
"loads of leg room"
in 20 reviews
"sat downstairs"
in 11 reviews
"order food"
in 15 reviews
"star wars"
in 11 reviews
"royal box"
in 17 reviews
"live shows"
in 16 reviews
"latest films"
in 11 reviews
"nigel kennedy"
in 14 reviews
"paninis"
in 10 reviews
"text service"
in 12 reviews
Filter

85 - 89 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This is the only way to do cinema. Home comfort seating, loads of leg room, table service for drinks and food all set in a fully restored Art Deco delight. Add to that a team of staff who, it seems, can’t do enough to make you feel welcome, why would you want to stay home?

Thank WingcoNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalCinema, Manager at The Regal Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for leaving us such lovely feedback. We're delighted that you enjoy the complete Regal experience and our staff really appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Regal again soon! Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Have been a supporter of the Regal from its inception and donated over £250 to get it back to its former glory which has been achieved to 90% with the top ares to be finished.

We have booked many, many times to go to expensive viewings, enjoyed the films but the staff and support were totally c@*p, and there has been no improvement over 4 years. The object for The Regal is to make money, the cinema is different but you pay a big premium for the experience.

Having made 7 bookings over the last 3 years with drinks at the table, I have had to go and get them myself from the bar; the service this evening when I rang to make a booking was "Sorry we are busy with Peter Rabbit bookings, can you call back at 7 or can we cal you back", the call back was opted for and 2 hours later I rang them! They had forgotten.

So customer service historically is poor and the service is expensive especially given that they are competing against the big cinemas which by comparison to watch a film is cheaper.

2  Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalCinema, Manager at The Regal Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback, Rick, and we are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with aspects of your Regal cinema experience.

We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service and our customers are at the heart of everything we do here. As you will see from the majority of our TripAdvisor reviews, we are frequently praised on how helpful and friendly are staff are and we would be keen to hear your thoughts on how you feel we could improve on this.

We do apologise that you didn’t receive a call back to process your tickets but can see that your transaction was processed at 19:19, and that you took advantage of a special offer for Black Panther, entitling you to a free ticket. We assure you that we carefully monitor our prices to ensure that we offer a unique cinema experience at a competitive price.

We very much appreciate your ongoing support of The Regal and hope that you will continue to visit your local, independent cinema.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We moved to Evesham last December and heard about the Regal Cinema. The description sounded like the place has been going for decades without change. We were delighted to find it pretty much has. It has been maintained really well but has all the charm of the cinemas I used to go to in my youth, and that modern multiplex cinemas just can't match.
My wife and I have been twice and intend to make it a regular treat. It is a little pricey but various membership options offering discounts are available, and its worth the cost if it keeps this lovely place going.
We love the Regal. It's a proper cinema experience rather than what feels like watching a big TV.

Thank MickB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalCinema, Manager at The Regal Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us Mick and we are delighted to hear that you intend to make your visits to The Regal a regular treat!

After sadly closing in 2003, The Regal as we know it today deteriorated and a major restoration project began on the cinema in 2009. The owners and local volunteers worked extremely hard to preserve its original style and beautiful art deco features and we re-opened in 2012.

It's lovely to hear that you enjoy the experience of The Regal over multiplex cinemas and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to The Regal again soon! Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This is an old Art Deco cinema, brilliantly revived and updated with much more added. The management are obviously inspired and provide exactly what today's cinema going public want - a whole experience, not just to see a film- though that as well.
Downstairs it is set out like a night club, with 4 seater tables and very comefortable armchairs, a bar, a café/bistro. Upstairs there is another bar and the seating is extra comfortable and roomy, with double table-seats as well. The staff will bring you refreshments to your seat, or you can take stuff from the café to have during the film. The staff are extra nice and helpful and really seem to like working there.
There are frequent special events, such as Big Breakfast showings, theme films, fancy dress films, Parent & Baby film sessions, and a lot of live shows are put on as well.
Try it. I did, and I keep going back.

Thank Duncaheenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegalCinema, Manager at The Regal Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind feedback, Duncan! We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your visits with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Regal Cinema also viewed

Evesham, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 
Evesham, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Regal Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing