We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Country Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great hotel in beautiful location, close to Broadway village. Excellent food, lovely atmosphere - really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenLime85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    954
    204
    77
    25
    14
See reviews for
162
813
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was our second visit to Dormy Hotel and once again we enjoyed a lovely restful break in the English countryside. We ate dinner in the a la carte restaurant which serves some really special meals. Their staff are perfectly attentive without being over bearing allowing you to relax and enjoy the experience. The beds are so comfortable and rooms have everything you need.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vhale77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location, rooms and guest cottages were well appointed and well presented. the rooms are modern and stylish, although only 2 channels worked on TV, when i asked if this could be looked, i was told twice it would be but it didnt. Food was OK, not great, what concerns me most about this hotel was the really rather uninterested and unfriendly staff. For a country house hotel to work really well, it should always be about the staff, how they welcome you, how they interact and of course the overall service. I am afraid that all were, in my view, lacking.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James4298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am very sorry to read that your stay with us was not as expected.

I would like to assure you that we do take all comments made by our guests seriously and always endeavour to provide professional and friendly service. I have personally discussed your comments with the Heads of department concerned in an effort to rectify any problems.

Should you decide to return to the Dormy House on a future occasion, please do not hesitate to contact me direct so I can personally deal with your reservation.

Kind regards
DAVID FIELD
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex, england
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel must have been wonderful thirty years ago but over that time has been haphazardly extended. Food and service reasonable although bedroom (mine was in a terrace of snmall cottages outside) are like something from a B and B. Parking difficult.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mutley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
The Dormy House is currently undertaking a re-development plan to upgrade all our bedrooms, this plan also includes our car parking facilities, which will alleviate the problems you encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I have been visiting the Dormy house for nearly 20 years, ever since I first started working for Group 4. During this period we have seen the hotel grow and develop to what I would argue is one of the finest small country hotels in the country.

With its stone walls, open fires and contemporary furnishings the hotel exudes warm and charm. Service is discreet and efficient with the staff charming and exceptionally pleasant but without being overly familiar.

I love the formality of the main restaurant and just wish more gentleman would remember to pack ties. The house wines are exceptional, well priced and very drinkable with full marks going to the sommelier. For those with deeper pockets the wine list will never disappoint, but quite frankly I find the house wines tick all the boxes.

Foodies are well catered for and I can vouch for the mass catering, just in case anyone is interested. The last time we visited (last month) I had pork cooked 3 ways, an exceptional dish that compared very well with a similar dish I had at the Connaught some time earlier.

The fact that many of the staff have been there longer than I have been going, speaks volumes about the hotel and the way it treats is staff and guests.

At the time of writing the hotel is going through an upgrade and indeed the New Years bash I had hoped to go to in 2012 is not on to accommodate further improvements.

It looks like the best is about to get an awful lot better!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, although it is always preferable to stay in the main hotel building when it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
2.4 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
4.4 km away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 km away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
3.3 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
2.5 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price range (per night): $405 - $659
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing