We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful, romantic break”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was our second visit to Dormy Hotel and once again we enjoyed a lovely restful break in the English countryside. We ate dinner in the a la carte restaurant which serves some really special meals. Their staff are perfectly attentive without being over bearing allowing you to relax and enjoy the experience. The beds are so comfortable and rooms have everything you need.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vhale77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
There are newer reviews for Dormy House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,252 - 1,256 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location, rooms and guest cottages were well appointed and well presented. the rooms are modern and stylish, although only 2 channels worked on TV, when i asked if this could be looked, i was told twice it would be but it didnt. Food was OK, not great, what concerns me most about this hotel was the really rather uninterested and unfriendly staff. For a country house hotel to work really well, it should always be about the staff, how they welcome you, how they interact and of course the overall service. I am afraid that all were, in my view, lacking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James4298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am very sorry to read that your stay with us was not as expected.

I would like to assure you that we do take all comments made by our guests seriously and always endeavour to provide professional and friendly service. I have personally discussed your comments with the Heads of department concerned in an effort to rectify any problems.

Should you decide to return to the Dormy House on a future occasion, please do not hesitate to contact me direct so I can personally deal with your reservation.

Kind regards
DAVID FIELD
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This hotel must have been wonderful thirty years ago but over that time has been haphazardly extended. Food and service reasonable although bedroom (mine was in a terrace of snmall cottages outside) are like something from a B and B. Parking difficult.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mutley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
The Dormy House is currently undertaking a re-development plan to upgrade all our bedrooms, this plan also includes our car parking facilities, which will alleviate the problems you encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I have been visiting the Dormy house for nearly 20 years, ever since I first started working for Group 4. During this period we have seen the hotel grow and develop to what I would argue is one of the finest small country hotels in the country.

With its stone walls, open fires and contemporary furnishings the hotel exudes warm and charm. Service is discreet and efficient with the staff charming and exceptionally pleasant but without being overly familiar.

I love the formality of the main restaurant and just wish more gentleman would remember to pack ties. The house wines are exceptional, well priced and very drinkable with full marks going to the sommelier. For those with deeper pockets the wine list will never disappoint, but quite frankly I find the house wines tick all the boxes.

Foodies are well catered for and I can vouch for the mass catering, just in case anyone is interested. The last time we visited (last month) I had pork cooked 3 ways, an exceptional dish that compared very well with a similar dish I had at the Connaught some time earlier.

The fact that many of the staff have been there longer than I have been going, speaks volumes about the hotel and the way it treats is staff and guests.

At the time of writing the hotel is going through an upgrade and indeed the New Years bash I had hoped to go to in 2012 is not on to accommodate further improvements.

It looks like the best is about to get an awful lot better!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, although it is always preferable to stay in the main hotel building when it...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We went to the Dormy House for a celebratory lunch this past Sunday and were impressed by the food, the service, the ambiance, everything really. The hotel itself is charming and reserved in a way you don't find much of anymore; we could easily have imagined relaxing by the fire in the lounge, reading a book and enjoying the atmosphere.

Lunch itself was excellent; the food was exactly as you'd expect at such a nice hotel, but the portions were surprisingly generous (none of this two slices of carrot and three peas on a plate nonsense) and at a very fair price. The wine list was really good, and covered all the bases from a decent tipple if you're on a budget to some well selected wines if you're planning to splash out a little.

All in all, I couldn't think of anything they could have done better, what an excellent experience!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonshine132435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
4.3 km away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
2.4 km away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
6 reviews
1.2 km away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,058 reviews
19.5 km away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,331 reviews
8.0 km away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: $419 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing