We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek Lunch”
Review of The Greene Oak

The Greene Oak
Reserve with OpenTable
The Greene Oak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 274 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 19 - USD 76
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Greene Oak is ideally situated on the edge of Windsor with easy access from the centre of town as well as local business parks and LegoLand, with ample free parking. The pub believes in using fresh,locally sourced food, simply prepared and beautifully presented for it's predominately British menus. A great place for lunch, dinner or a party with either friends, family or business colleagues.
Reviewed 17 October 2018

I had bought a Travel Zoo voucher for lunch at The Greene Oak and found that the booking service was quick and efficient. When we arrived at the restaurant we were greeted and shown to our table. The service was good, the waiting staff were discreet and polite. Our starters were well presented and extremely tasty, Red mullet and wild rabbit terrine. We both had the 45 day flat iron steak rare which was tasty and as succulent as you would expect this cut to be. My dessert of sticky toffee pudding was large and once the sauce had been eaten a little dry but still good.
All in all a good experience, the place has been done up well and is worth a visit,

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank XFjollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameslyonshaw2018, Owner at The Greene Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Thank you for such a kind and positive review.

We are pleased you found us through the TravelZoo offer and that you enjoyed your experience, we hope to see you back again soon.

All the best for now

Jamie and James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2018

Welcoming reception from the staff but the rest of the experience did not match up to that standard. The roast beef lunch would be improved by some decent vegetables and by some crisp baked potatoes which these certainly were not. The yorkshire pudding also dwarfed the whole meal and was soggy with the gravy poured into it.
The highlight was the fig tart which was quite delightful and the Otter beer too but that was hardly the reason for the visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tobywebb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameslyonshaw2018, Owner at The Greene Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Dear Mr Webb

I am sorry to hear that your experience with us last Sunday fell short of your expectations and our usual high standards. I remember your family well and enjoyed serving you.

Whilst we know everyone has varying opinions on the perfect Sunday roast, we always try our best to deliver on any special requests or preferences to ensure our guests have a great time with us.

I would like to discuss your experience further and would be grateful if you could contact me at your convenience on james@brucanpubs.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We have been here a couple of times previously and always thought it was ok, but it has recently undergone changes and wow what changes, the service has improved, the menu is full of new dishes, great flavours and unusual combinations, it’s not quite a gastro pub, but it’s the next best thing if you want a nice meal, in nice surroundings without a hefty price tag. We have had several items on the menu and have found all of them to be cooked well. We have also had the Sunday roast, I loved the service with this, you get your meal with all the veg and a separate plate with relevant sauces and a small dish of cauliflower cheese. The greeting is warm and the staff friendly. If you’ve not been here before or have been before and been disappointed (we last ate here about a year ago) then give them another go, you won’t be disappointed

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank justustwo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameslyonshaw2018, Owner at The Greene Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thanks for such a positive review

Its great to hear the new look and new menu are being well received by the loyal regulars, thank you for your continued support.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Jamie and James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Had Sunday Dinner with the family and it was fantastic everyone of our family loved what they chose and the staff were so warm and friendly which made our night so enjoyable and relaxing. Will differently recommend to anyone we know that would be in the area. Big thumbs up from the whole family

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameslyonshaw2018, Owner at The Greene Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Shane

Thanks for such great feedback we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your visit to The Greene Oak, you guys were a great table to host

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

All the best for now

Jamie and James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Attended the launch party and Wow, what an amazing transformation. Beautifully decorated inside and out. Every detail has been thought through. Food served on the evening was top notch and offered a taste of things to come on their daily changing menu, with emphases on seasonality and the best in suppliers. There is also a charming private dining room, with wood panelled walls, which I can tell will be popular. The Greene Oak is a must. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank TGLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameslyonshaw2018, Owner at The Greene Oak, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Tom

Thank you for such great feedback.

we are pleased to hear you had a great evening at our launch party, it was great to see so many regulars and new faces all join in the celebrations.

we look forward to welcoming you back to The Greene Oak soon

Many thanks

Jamie and James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greene Oak also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Bracknell, Berkshire
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Old Windsor, Windsor
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Greene Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing