We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Wedding Anniversary”
Review of A la Russe

A la Russe
Ranked #15 of 274 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Modern French & World cuisine in the heart of Windsor, just 200 meters away from the Castle. Exciting freshly prepared homemade food, created and served under the guidance of Chef-Patron Andre
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

We booked A La Russe for our 1st year wedding anniversary after booking at another restaurant but cancelling after reading their reviews.

Quaint little place on Windsor high street, you would miss it if you walked past! Booked for 7.30 on a Saturday evening.

Waiters were extremely attentive, but so clearly rushed off their feet! The whole place was full by half 8 - sign of a good place in my opinion.

Starters (snails & crab) were okay, nothing too special. But the mains (halibut & rib eye) made up for that. Cooked to perfection and seasoned well. My only criticism was that you have to order your sides separately for an extra cost. For example if you ordered a steak, it came with a sauce but you had to order potatoes etc separately, therefore adding on an extra cost of £3, resulting in the main course totalling +£20 overall.

We didn't have desserts, but from seeing others, they looked great.

Overall, a 2 course meal with a drink each, came to £72.50. Expensive, and nearly worth it, but not quite. Add in a side with main courses and it would of been a perfect rating.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

We visited on the Saturday evening having booked a table earlier in the day and were delighted to see that the restaurant was full, clearly more people are getting to know and enjoy this excellent restaurant. The food is always excellent as is the service and it was a pleasure to be back!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

A Leo birthday this month, celebrated with a stylish French meal to suit these strong and versatile creatures, known to roar when disrespected. But with friends and family, when appreciated they relax and become sunny pussy cats. And this was one of those evenings that made our Leo purr. We were a group of six - 3 couples from successive generations: grandparents + their children who were parents to a pair of daughters. Our Windsor Car taxi dropped us smoothly at the door just before seven. We walked into the delightful A La Russe brasserie and were immediately enchanted by the silky tones of a 'chanteuse' on the tape of smoky French background music.

The waiters, Michael and Jose, greeted us warmly; showed us to our table for six and quickly brought a bottle of Prosecco for us to sip while we browsed the menu and wine list. But where were the others? Suddenly a text from daughter: line closures would delay their train from London. Concerned, we told the staff in case we'd need to vacate the table by a specific time. But they were very laid back and said there was no rush since it was only a quiet Tuesday evening, not a hectic weekend. Another 10 minutes, another text to say "on way", swiftly followed by the girls walking in and Daddy following closely having managed to park nearby. So we began our meal at 7.30.

The menu had an excellent range of fish dishes - both starters and mains - which suits us because we like to have food that's not often on our menu at home. The girls started with garlic bread and olives - these they shared with the table. They polished off the green garlic bread, coated with fresh herbs, which was new to them. Other chosen starters were a crab roulade, scallops in creamy sauce, and snails in garlic butter. All quickly disappeared with much sharing and sampling, as the girls tried snails and I had help to finish my crab. All was delightful and given top marks. For main course, I had a scallops starter with salad, the parents had fillet steak with big chips (which were passed round to the girls, one portion went a long way!). Grandpog had liver and bacon, but the sheer quantity of meat defeated him. One granddaughter had a chicken and pasta dish, and the other chose chef's vegetarian meal + salad. The staff gave us constant refills of bread and jugs of tap water which we tend to eat and drink throughout. We had a variety of desserts, including creme brûlée and Eton mess, so light and yummy, and coffees to end the meal.

Now the stats: Food cost £169.50. Drinks - a bottle of prosecco + a bottle of very potable red + a beer for son-in law and 3 coffees were £54-50,
Total Bill = £224. Incredible value for a 3-course meal in a top tourist centre like Windsor! Rounded up, it works out at just under £38 a head. To this, a 12% service charge of £26 was added, to give a grand total of £250. So for two-and-a-half hours, from 7pm - 9.30 pm, of full-on entertainment, including a superb meal, impeccably served + lovely music + our own non-stop chatting, the cost per head was £41, or an hourly rate of £16 per hour for the fabulous entertainment.
Quite simply, superb value for outstanding quality and we shall be back again and again. But there's an anomaly to point out to management. We were happy to pay the 12% service charge, which of course is optional and the customer is free to ask for it to be removed from the bill. But at the bottom of the bill under the total was printed: "Service not included. Thank you". Why is this? Perhaps you apply a service charge only in the evening?

Huge thanks to La Russe for a super evening in gorgeous surroundings, and to your charming staff for looking after us so well. Special thanks for being a restaurant that welcomes families with children and gives them the same high quality attention as the adults. We note from your website that you're soon to have a dinner with music! Must try to come to that!

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank GeorginaS152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This is French cuisine at its best. We had the pate, mussels, and fish main courses. Each was exceptional, in presentation and culinary skill. It means we enjoyed the meal without exception! The staff was helpful and appropriately attentive.
If in Windsor, dine here.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Mariodm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

This is one place to have that great diner experience!! The staff are very friendly, but the on top of that the food never disappoints!!! Its well presented, never disappoints and its great value!!! Once you have been here, you will always come again!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 11,542,014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A la Russe also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Old Windsor, Windsor
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to A la Russe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing