We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worse than faulty towers”
Review of Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed 10 May 2015

This hotel has 25 rooms and unfortunately we were on the 2nd floor. There is no elevator and when we asked for assistance in carrying heavy cases there was a perplexed look and no-one was available. (no apology was offered). Our room was minute with barely room to move. A tiny little shelf held the electric jug with barely space for 2 cups with plastic spoons. The room overlooked the street and construction work which was going on opposite the hotel. We discovered that the construction workers were all staying at the hotel at breakfast. The one window was not double-glazed and all noise from frequently passing jets (every 1 1/2 minutes, traffic, and passers by) was heard. It is without doubt the worst B. and B. (we asked for a B. and B. at the information centre and were not told it was actually an hotel) we have ever encountered.

Room Tip: just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2101annabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2015

Stayed here before a day at the Races & what a gem of a find. We stayed in a Suite on the Ground Floor which was really good. Bed was firm, bathroom whilst small had a good shower & was very clean. The Cooked breakfast was cooked was good, although would have liked some fruit & yoghurt. A reasonably priced B & B in a good location in Windsor - bring a swimming cozy for the steam & sauna!!!. Would definitely come back again. Garden looked lovely but as it was a little breezy did not venture out. Only downside was parking - only room for 4 cars & everywhere else is Residential.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emsyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Stayed just for one night. A very comfortable room, everything we needed. The staff were friendly and worked very hard. The full English breakfast was excellent. The shops and the castle just a five minute walk. Very good location.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Having just spent a night in the Clarence hotel I would like to say, hotel very nice and clean but staff failed to mention about the parking, there isn't any really. There were four cars parked on the drive so we couldn't get on there, the side road is all permits until 8 in the evening so we couldn't relax because we were nervous in case we got a ticket or clamped. The lady on the desk think her name was Finnola sorry if that's wrong just kept saying sorry which didn't help at all until another young girl came on and said don't worry my dad is a parking addentent I will ring and ask if it's ok.
Breakfast was very rushed the woman Penny didn't even look my 14yr old in the eye she ask me what he wanted! When we all said no fried egg she then said really no fried eggs which is our choice because when someone asked for scrambled egg she replied crossly no we are too busy well I'm sorry but if the hotel holds so many people yes it will be busy.
Two other guest came into the busy dining room but the tables were still full with plates Penny then said to the couple well you'll have to sit down there and I'll clear it, (maybe Penny shouldn't work Sunday's).
We've come from Nottingham for a Celebrations of our son's bravery award at the Windsor scout parade and although it hasn't been dreadful it hasn't been pleasurable either.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I spent two weeks at the Clarence a while back. I found the experience quite quaint, like you'd expect from a cozy cottage tucked away in the middle of nowhere. It was pretty good.

Service was alright, the full English breakfast served in the mornings was quite nice, its also located not too far from Slough where we were undertaking our business so the ride to and fro generally didn't take too long.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for quaint accommodation at a budget. It isn't exactly five or even four star, but its pretty adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 km away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.7 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
4.3 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.5 km away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Hotel

Address: 9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $80 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing