We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate and convenient”
Review of Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence Hotel
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I attend an annual function in Windsor and always stay at the Clarence.
It is ideally situated for shops and restaurants. I only ever book a single room, so I obviously get one of the smaller ones. The room is always clean and neat, with tea and coffee maker and a decent TV. There are no doubt more opulent establishments in Windsor, but I've always had a fair deal for the price. Breakfast is the usual self-service for starters and a main course cooked to order. The "full English" is a very decent and satisfying plate - I can whinge with the best, but had no complaints whatsoever. The staff are helpful too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

Just returned from a three day break with my partner having found this gem of a hotel which is perfectly located within a short walk of all the shops and attractions. Our room was beautifully decorated, warm and comfortable. The only disadvantage being no lift. Facilities at the hotel are nicely decorated and the steam sauna an added treat. Breakfast was hot, appetising and plentiful. We definitely plan to return to the Clarence.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sj23467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013 via mobile

my husband and I recently stayed at the Clarence Hotel for a weekend break in Windsor, upon arrival it was difficult to find parking a there is only a driveway with 4 spaces, however the staff did help us get parked across the road which was handy!
our room was nice and clean with a good modern bathroom and comfy bed and had all what you would expect to find and need.
staff were very friendly as we enjoyed a drink in the bar and had a good chat with one of the receptionist.
breakfast was a nice full English, which we both enjoyed!
the hotel is in a great location for windsor, just around the corner is bars and restaurants and the shopping centre.
the castle is also very close, just a 5min walk up the high street as was a good day out!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m2682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I booked this last min, and it was cheap, so value for money it was. It's in a good location, close to shops,10 min walk to the castle. The rooms are fine, bed comfy, but the shower is terrible, cold water in the morning so I waited until the afternoon, then it was barely tepid. I thought it was maybe only our room, but at breakfast I heard other guest complaining. The breakfast was also very average, as in one of the other reviews, I can testify that tinned mushrooms are disgusting. The bacon looked sweated, certainly wasn't grilled, scrambled eggs had no taste, the cooked vegi option is egg, beans & the mushrooms & toast. The plus points are the staff are lovely and there is parking for 4 cars, so that saves cost. I was very satisfied with most aspects, but cold showers & poor breakfast just let it down.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the back as there is a pub across the road & their patrons are foul mout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Easy to find, the Clarence Hotel on Clarence Road, we enjoyed our two night stay in Windsor. All rooms are en suite with clean, modern bathrooms. Furniture is antique and the hotel has the trappings of a sturdy and elegant home in a neighborhood of similar homes. We found it quiet, comfortable, and equipped with everything the traveler needs: toiletries, a beverage tray, hair dryer and radio alarm. Full breakfast is served daily in a lovely dining room that overlooks the garden.

In addition to the comfort of the Clarence, the location is matchless. One street over is a lively street with a pub and all varieties of cuisine and shops. A few blocks north of Clarence Street is Windsor Castle and a three story shopping Mall, as well as many smaller shops in the neighborhood. Windsor is definitely a walking city if your base is in the right location

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the house are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 km away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.7 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
4.3 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.5 km away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Hotel

Address: 9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $80 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing