We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Retreat”
other traveller has booked this property
'Pixie Place'  an elegant and enchanting riverside house in Royal Windsor.
Sleeps up to 7, free WiFi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Pixie Place'  an elegant and enchanting riverside house in Royal Windsor.
Sleeps up to 7, free WiFi
Legoland and Thorpe Park
within 10 minuets drive from Pixie Place. Cruising the river Thames in all seasons and every day.. Many tours and packages available
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
'Pixie Place'  an elegant and enchanting riverside house in Royal Windsor.
Sleeps up to 7, free WiFi
Legoland and Thorpe Park
within 10 minuets drive from Pixie Place.
Cruising the river Thames in all seasons and every day.. Many tours and packages available
Our certificate of Excellence awarded in 2018
Springtime In the lawned garden feeding the swans and ducks passing by over the fenced garden wall
Changing of the Royal Guards, Windsor Castle daily at 11am on Windsor High Street.
2 large Leather sofas in spacious and comfortable lounge. Free WiFi, air-con and central heating
Thames river views from the lounge, decking, conservatory and rear bedroom.
Large expanse of living space
Lounge showing two sliding doors leading out onto the decking and giving river views from the lounge
Antique parquetry dining table for 6 people with river view.
Both glass doors lead to conservatory.
Aspect of entrance hall, kitchen, visitor bathroom, study. Open glass door leads into conservatory.
Sumptuous seating in the air conditioned conservatory over looking the Thames.
Enjoy extensive River views from this calm oasis....voted the most favourite room by previous guests
Natural light floods our large and elevated conservatory giving perfect views over the river.
Decking area off the lounge.
South facing, river and garden views.
Late summer river view from the garden at Pixie Place.
Exquisite Mother of Pearl furniture in entrance hall, wood laminate flooring.
Enjoy River life and Al fresco dining on the elevated decking when holidaying in Pixie Place.
Stairs lead to mezzanine floor for Master Bedroom.  2 guest bedrooms & family bathroom on 1st floor.
Study with oak desk plus space for optional roll-away bed.
Exquisite Mother of Pearl furniture in entrance hall, wood laminate flooring.
Guest Bathroom on the ground floor
Fully equipped kitchen with glass breakfast table and access to the side garden.
Kitchen linens, crockery, cutlery, utensils and some cleaning products   are provided.
The kitchen is fully equipped with many appliances and utensils.
Master Bedroom, super king size bed,en-suite shower room, WC, Vanity unit, bidet
All bed linens, towels and hair dryers are provided.
En-suite bathroom for the master bedroom.  Towels are provided
Front twin guest Bedroom with fitted wardrobes and hair dryer.  Bed linens are provided.
Spacious front twin room with high quality mattresses.
Family bathroom, Power shower, full bath, WC, Vanity unit and bidet on  first floor. Towels provided
Rear twin bedroom with river view and quality  mattresses.  Bed linens and hair dryer provided.
Pixie Place front entrance. Off road parking
The rear and elevated aspect of the conservatory.
The steps lead into the conservatory and kitchen.
Side garden of Pixie Place.
Dining for 6 people on the decking....watch passing boats and barges approaching Old Windsor Lock.
A view from the lounge and conservatory at Christmas
Swans and ducks visiting Pixie Place, expectantly waiting to be fed and they're not shy!
Eton College boys celebrating King George III's Birthday with a river procession every June
Grooming horses in nearby fields. Many riding stables are with in a 5 minute drive.
'The Gloriana' passing Pixie Place on its' way to lead the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Pageant in 2012
Carriage rides along the Mile Walk, Windsor Castle where Prince Harry & Megan travelled post wedding
The Mile Long Walk up to Windsor Castle
Queen Elizabeth visiting Royal Ascot in June
Aerial view of Windsor Castle.
Typical English pub in Windsor
The bridge over the River Thames connects Windsor to Eton
Crowds lining Windsor High Street , outside Windsor Castle awaiting Queen Elizabeth.
Aspect of Windsor Castle taken from the high street
The Magna Carta Monument is a 5 minute drive to Runnymede
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
suzanne l
Denton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb Retreat”
Reviewed 3 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Having recently stayed at Pixie Place with my family I feel compelled to write a review about the fantastic time we had!

We booked Pixie Place for a week break whilst our family met up for our annual gathering and we were all exceptionally pleased and happy
with the accommodation and also by its location.

Pixie Place is nothing short of pure luxury and to be honest the details and photographs do not do it justice.
It is large, bright and spacious with breathtaking views from the lounge and conservatory which sits overlooking the river, and I can honestly say that sitting with my family watching the swan's swim past us at the bottom of the garden was the most relaxing time I have had in a long time!

The rooms are all decorated beautifully whilst still remaining homely and cosey. It is pristine and has every amenity that you could possibly want for.

There was plenty for adults and the children to do locally for entertainment, from the beautiful grounds of Windsor castle to Lego Land and plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from, the theatre and it is very convenient to travel to central London by train or bus.!

The booking process was extremely simple and my deposit was returned 24 hours after our departure.
I would be happy to recommend this beautiful home from home residence to all my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many perfect points to choose just one
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2013
We are so happy to realise that our family of guests enjoyed our prestigious property situated in a most idyllic setting by the river and located so conveniently for all their needs,requirements and surrounding attractions. Families with children particularly enjoy this environment as we have made the house child friendly, the front garden can be closed off by the large ranch gate and a picket fence lines the waters edge...cars are a rarity passing down the lane approaching the house. We place great emphasis on ensuring all of our guests receive the highest quality in service thus giving us confidence that our guests are staying in the luxurious and immaculate surroundings as promised. This is a property and location to suit all ages and sizes of family and friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenC77...
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed 16 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

From: Brooke
Sent: Saturday, December 15, 2012 8:35 PM
To: steve

We recently rented this house for two weeks, looking forward to peace and quiet for our long overdue vacation. Instead, things went from bad to worse upon arrival. As required, we checked in after 2pm, actually after 2:30pm, only to find the house had not been cleaned from the previous occupants and was dirty.
The cleaning crew arrived a couple of hours later and we had to endure trying to stay awake after a 10 hour flight across the Atlantic while they took their time cleaning. We decided to make ourselves some tea only to find a old, moldy teabag in the kettle, obviously there for a long time and we were afraid to use it for fear of contamination. Then, we decided to call it a day and climb into bed, only to be awakened by what sounded like huge jumbo jets landing in the front yard. The noise scared us to death and at first we thought it was an airliner crashing near us. Turns out this house is right under the direct flight path for jets landing at Heathrow. Every single morning of our stay we were subjected to this jet noise. It is not a place for peace and quiet. Also, on the first day, the master bathroom lights kept throwing the breaker switches and our entire stay we had no lights in our bathroom so had to keep a light on in our bedroom at night in order to see our way into the bathroom without falling.
Then the British Gas repair guy shows up early one morning there to repair something on the furnace that he said would take about four or five hours. We were still half asleep and asked him to come back another time so we could sleep. Then someone showed up asking us to read the meter for them. This kind of thing continued during our entire stay. The owner will tell you the house is supposedly soundproofed and 'unless you open the windows you won't hear the planes'. That's not true. It was raining the entire time we were there and cold thus we didn't keep our windows opened and it was frightening to hear those jets flying so low over that house. In my opinion it's not even a safe place to stay. Also be prepared not to get the PayPal fees taken out for payment to the owner when you get a refund. They are considerable and you're just going to lose all that money. She deducts them when refunding deposits. There are many other nice places to stay in Windsor and I suggest you look at other options should you stay there, places which would put you more in the middle of the town. This house is very much out of the way from Windsor Castle and downtown Windsor itself. Oh, one last thing. The house was under a 'Flood warning' due to all the rain during our stay and the Thames was right in the back yard. We came very close to having to evacuate and leave the area. Also, don't expect to see the Thames as you're used to seeing it - it's more like a small rapid running creek in that area. Did I mention the sewer plant is a short distance away and when the winds changed we had to endure the horrific stench of raw sewage, as well. Take my advice...don't stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving.
Liked least: Noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2012
Regretfully this is rather an odd, unusual, strange, unbalanced, vindictive, and not based on facts review. This gentleman actually left the doors and the windows of the house open in the rain when he left. He was suppose to arrive at 4 pm as agreed, but he arrived at 2 pm and complaint that the cleaning is not complete. He actually dismissed the professional cleaning team out of the house before they can complete their work. He said he found a tea bag in the kettle that the previous guest, who vacated the house few hours before he arrived, might have possibly left,which would have been removed by the cleaning team if he allowed them to complete their work. We even offered him to replace the kettle, but he refused. We gave him 100 pounds sterling as a good will gesture which he accepted, to arrive at 4 instead at 2 pm as the cleaning was running later than expected. This gentleman complained about the light in the bathroom, our maintenance company, came to check it, and he would not let them in. When he left the house we found out that he had pulled the light pull switch with force out of position. We did not charge him for this damage and we returned to him his refundable deposit in full. Exactly as was received by us, plus the 100 pounds that we promised him. The house is tripled glazed, insulated and sound proofed, certified by BAA. Many areas around London can have planes noise. Windsor is the residence of Queen of Britain and where millions of others live. This person complained about PayPal charges. PayPal bank charges are normal fee for a credit card payments and it is mentioned in our payment conditions which he received before he booked. It is not related to us in any way. There are tens of reviews on our website and adverts that state a more realistic picture about our house. More than forty percent of our bookings are repeats. Please see other reviews. The owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pixie Place is amazing.”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
4
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week at Pixie Place. The house was stunning, spotless and everything you could hope for. There was so much to do right on the doorstep, however it was difficult to tear ourselves away from the place. We had a lovely rest day from the busy day trips. We walked down by the river to the local pub for lunch then spent the afternoon in the conservatory watching the neighbours float by in their boats. It was heaven. Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2012
The view from the spacious conservatory, living room or outside decking all give stunning views of the Thames' River life. The Location of the property is so accessible to many sight-seeing venues such as central Windsor, London, motorways, airport and train stations or it is in the perfect location should you wish to just relax in the sumptuously furnished conservatory or living room....every need is catered for and finer details taken care of to enhance our guests' stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BethB2525
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“House is shown accurately in the pictures and excellent service by the owners”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I travelled with my parents, brother and sisterinlaw and my 9yr old son so there were 6 of us in all. Although we are from the UK originally we live in the US and are used to the luxury and size of US living. Of course there is always apprehension as to whether a place will live up to expectation but we neednt have had a moment of worry. The drive to the house is through some country lanes which adds character and the feeling you are truly enjoying the English lifestyle.....it is worthwhile looking up where Old Windsor is on a map...it is an excellent location to get to Windsor and also to the main highways around West London. It is also very convenient to get to HeathrowAirport. We drove straight into London and were parked at Harrods in 35 mins. The house itself was fantastic from the moment we drove into the secluded gravel driveway. There are a few steps up to the front door and then as you go into the house you are met by a light and airy hallway leading into a good size family room. I dont need to describe each room as the pictures shown on the website are accurate and give a good feel of how the house actually is. In fact if anything the house is better than the pictures especially the conservatory area. The house was extremely well maintained and every convenience had been thought through and made available. The kitchen is especially well stocked with flatware and crockery. The bathrooms were great and there was excellent water pressure in the showers. The central heating was very strong and we had to turn it off, it warmed up so quickly! Although we were on vacation, i did have to attend to some work and there is a nice office where you can shut the door and have some privacy. The Wifi access worked immediately. The owners were very quick to reply to our queries before we got there and the whole time we had the feeling that our dealings were straight forward.
I have been trying to think of something to say that "could have been improved" but i really cannot think of anything. We would most definitely book again and have already recommended it to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable house that felt it could be home.
Liked least: Small country lanes but even they werent that bad and add a certain atmosphere!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2012
Our rental model of ensuring that all our properties have a "home from home" feel and encapsulated in luxury and comfort has certainly
been felt by our guests. We have listened to our clients over the years and created the secluded office area as so many of our guests continue to work while holidaying yet still need quiet time to deal with business matters. The recently built conservatory gives views all day long of passing river boats, swans and other wildlife should it be a little to chilly enjoy the vista from the alfresco experience of the outdoor decking area.....the views are too magnificent to miss at any time of the year!
All amenities in the house are installed to the highest standard and routinely maintained....we have tried to think of everything we would like in our own home surroundings and then transferred it in to our rental properties.
The location of this house is in a gentile residential area and is only a matter of minutes to reach the local shops, restaurants and central Windsor. Travelling to central London or Heathrow airport is easily and quickly accessible by train, bus or car. This house is ideal for a romantic getaway or for a family holiday...there's plenty of activities for any age group.
Another element of our rental procedure is to ensure our guests experience a quick reply or solution be it receiving our quotation, queries answered and the return of our guest's refundable deposit in a prompt manner...we take in to account the smaller things which will enhance the experience of staying at one of our holiday homes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveH_40...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in a great location”
Reviewed 23 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed during the summer with 2 young children and 2 grandparents and had an excellent time. Legoland is nearby and we visited it twice it was so enjoyable. Windsor castle is also worth seeing. Central London is an hour away by train from Datchet station.

The house is spotlessly clean and extremely well furnished and equipped. The large conservatory overlooking the river is fantastic, a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Conservatory
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2012
Our location suits any age with all the various activities Windsor and London have on offer...Our property is ideal for small or large family trips or even a romantic getaway with the idyllic riverside, yet secluded setting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing