We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
89
38
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
38
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread old sarum airfield super breakfast warm welcome comfortable bed other guests powerful shower main road only stayed one night visiting stonehenge city centre salisbury cathedral guest house charles sue avon hosts
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Stayed at Sarum Heights as a base for a short break to visit the white chalk horses of Wiltshire - a pleasant welcome on checking in (the steps were not as bad as we expected after all the warning!) Lovely room with view of Old Sarum (proximity of this amazing site was a bonus - as was the short distance from Salisbury) Clean, comfortable, and quiet.Good breakfast and knowledgeable helpful hosts. Easy parking at front of property. Hope to stay again.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretburnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I'd booked a family room for myself, grand-daughter and great grand-daughter. What we got was a double and a separate single with a bathroom solely for our use which was fine. It is a walk from Salisbury centre but once Sue had told us the picturesque route into town we used that and it was lovely to wander in by the river and across fields. Another bonus is the proximity of Old Sarum earthworks - well worth an evening stroll but beware of galloping sheep!! Sue is an enthusiastic ambassador for Salisbury and gave us some useful tips for seeing some of the less obvious attractions.

Room tip: Beautiful views from the front rooms.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

A friend and I were driving through Cornwall when we realized at the last minute that we'd rather arrive a bit late in Salisbury to get an early start on Stonehenge the following morning rather than drive from Tintangel early. Through the magic of Google maps (aka "Uncle Google") we found the Sarum Heights B & B. After booking the two rooms in a quick and friendly call with Charles, we arrived *just* at the end of check-in. Thanks again to Sue and Phoebe for being so welcoming and friendly. So lovely. The same could be said for the b & b, which was comfortable and clean. Perfect location for visiting Old Sarum, Stonehenge, the Cathedral, etc.

Room tip: Nadder is located at the back, overlooks the garden, and is right next to the private shower. So quiet and peaceful.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

It is very rare for us to write a review, but having now read some of the other reviews, we have to speak out. Yes, the breakfast was good and the bedroom was comfortable. However, the 'welcome' by the husband, and all his long-winded instructions and strict breakfast rules, were somewhat off putting, to say the least.
It was embarrassing and uncomfortable to hear Basil talking down to his wife in front of others, and making 'jokes' that were actually quite unpleasant and unnecessary. Also, we had booked, and had confirmed, a room at the back of the house, but were put in a room facing the road, which was very noisy with traffic for most of the night. Sue is lovely, engaging, chatty and helpful, but Basil is just not a people person. Sorry folks.

Room tip: choose a room at the back if you dislike traffic noise
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rocsemary6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarum1, Owner at Sarum Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such an original review.
It is important for us to clarify one thing. We have only 3 rooms here and each are different and have different prices. When a guest makes an online reservation as you did, they select and pay for the room they require. We have no input in this choice. When the guest arrives, they are shown to the room they have booked, not, as you state, to the room we have selected for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

We have been welcomed with pleasant atmosphere and friendly advice about local attractions and restaurants. Sue was a great host. The breakfast in morning was lovely served and we were amazed by home made jams and bread. Trully recommended.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank echoess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews