We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement Present Flight in a "Tiger Moth" from "Old Sarum Airfield"”
Review of Sarum Heights

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sarum Heights
Ranked #23 of 59 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2017

This B&B is worth more than 3 Star. Had an amazing view across the local area fields. Very clean and tidy. Very informative info received on arrival, A super breakfast available, I love home made and the local produce being used. The dining atmosphere was good, we were chatting to some German guests, Sue made a very good host. If I were in this area again I would try this guest house as my very first choice. The steps to the entrance were of no concern, because we were very aware by the info in the literature To Sue and Charles a very big "Thank you"

Room Tip: 2 rooms look out over Salisbury, with an extensive view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLPxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Stayed at Sarum Heights as a base for a short break to visit the white chalk horses of Wiltshire - a pleasant welcome on checking in (the steps were not as bad as we expected after all the warning!) Lovely room with view of Old Sarum (proximity of this amazing site was a bonus - as was the short distance from Salisbury) Clean, comfortable, and quiet.Good breakfast and knowledgeable helpful hosts. Easy parking at front of property. Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretburnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

I'd booked a family room for myself, grand-daughter and great grand-daughter. What we got was a double and a separate single with a bathroom solely for our use which was fine. It is a walk from Salisbury centre but once Sue had told us the picturesque route into town we used that and it was lovely to wander in by the river and across fields. Another bonus is the proximity of Old Sarum earthworks - well worth an evening stroll but beware of galloping sheep!! Sue is an enthusiastic ambassador for Salisbury and gave us some useful tips for seeing some of the less obvious attractions.

Room Tip: Beautiful views from the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

A friend and I were driving through Cornwall when we realized at the last minute that we'd rather arrive a bit late in Salisbury to get an early start on Stonehenge the following morning rather than drive from Tintangel early. Through the magic of Google maps (aka "Uncle Google") we found the Sarum Heights B & B. After booking the two rooms in a quick and friendly call with Charles, we arrived *just* at the end of check-in. Thanks again to Sue and Phoebe for being so welcoming and friendly. So lovely. The same could be said for the b & b, which was comfortable and clean. Perfect location for visiting Old Sarum, Stonehenge, the Cathedral, etc.

Room Tip: Nadder is located at the back, overlooks the garden, and is right next to the private shower. So qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

It is very rare for us to write a review, but having now read some of the other reviews, we have to speak out. Yes, the breakfast was good and the bedroom was comfortable. However, the 'welcome' by the husband, and all his long-winded instructions and strict breakfast rules, were somewhat off putting, to say the least.
It was embarrassing and uncomfortable to hear Basil talking down to his wife in front of others, and making 'jokes' that were actually quite unpleasant and unnecessary. Also, we had booked, and had confirmed, a room at the back of the house, but were put in a room facing the road, which was very noisy with traffic for most of the night. Sue is lovely, engaging, chatty and helpful, but Basil is just not a people person. Sorry folks.

Room Tip: choose a room at the back if you dislike traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocsemary6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarum1, Owner at Sarum Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such an original review.
It is important for us to clarify one thing. We have only 3 rooms here and each are different and have different prices. When a guest makes an online reservation as you did, they select and pay for the room they require. We have no input in this choice. When the guest arrives, they are shown to the room they have booked, not, as you state, to the room we have selected for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
1.9 km away
Websters Bed and Breakfast
Websters Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 59 in Salisbury
268 reviews
1.8 km away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 59 in Salisbury
271 reviews
4.4 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
The Old Mill Hotel
The Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harnham
341 reviews
6.7 km away
The Swan at Stoford
The Swan at Stoford
#1 of 2 in Stoford
453 reviews
3.4 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#6 of 16 in Salisbury
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarum Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarum Heights

Address: 289 Castle Road, Salisbury SP1 3SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price Range: $107 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarum Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarum Heights is a lovely family-run B&B in an elevated position with majestic views over the Avon valley and Old Sarum. We offer a delicious full english breakfast with homemade bread and preserves and eggs from our own hens. Free wi-fi and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sarum Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarum Heights Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing