We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 139
USD 126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 224
USD 204
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 75
USD 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 249
USD 109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 101
USD 94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
City Lodge(Salisbury)
USD 63
USD 61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 169
USD 163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stones Hotel(Salisbury)(Great Value!)
USD 93
USD 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
88
37
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
37
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade breadold sarum airfieldsalisbury centresuper breakfastcomfortable bedother guestsonly stayed one nightvisiting stonehengelovely roomguest housethe rivercharlessuejamsavonhostsearthworks
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2017

A friend and I were driving through Cornwall when we realized at the last minute that we'd rather arrive a bit late in Salisbury to get an early start on Stonehenge the following morning rather than drive from Tintangel early. Through the magic of Google maps (aka "Uncle Google") we found the Sarum Heights B & B. After booking the two rooms in a quick and friendly call with Charles, we arrived *just* at the end of check-in. Thanks again to Sue and Phoebe for being so welcoming and friendly. So lovely. The same could be said for the b & b, which was comfortable and clean. Perfect location for visiting Old Sarum, Stonehenge, the Cathedral, etc.

Room Tip: Nadder is located at the back, overlooks the garden, and is right next to the private shower. So quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jasmine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

It is very rare for us to write a review, but having now read some of the other reviews, we have to speak out. Yes, the breakfast was good and the bedroom was comfortable. However, the 'welcome' by the husband, and all his long-winded instructions and strict breakfast rules, were somewhat off putting, to say the least.
It was embarrassing and uncomfortable to hear Basil talking down to his wife in front of others, and making 'jokes' that were actually quite unpleasant and unnecessary. Also, we had booked, and had confirmed, a room at the back of the house, but were put in a room facing the road, which was very noisy with traffic for most of the night. Sue is lovely, engaging, chatty and helpful, but Basil is just not a people person. Sorry folks.

Room Tip: choose a room at the back if you dislike traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rocsemary6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarum1, Owner at Sarum Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such an original review.
It is important for us to clarify one thing. We have only 3 rooms here and each are different and have different prices. When a guest makes an online reservation as you did, they select and pay for the room they require. We have no input in this choice. When the guest arrives, they are shown to the room they have booked, not, as you state, to the room we have selected for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

We have been welcomed with pleasant atmosphere and friendly advice about local attractions and restaurants. Sue was a great host. The breakfast in morning was lovely served and we were amazed by home made jams and bread. Trully recommended.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Natalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

A lovely friendly b and b in the proprietor's home. Comfortable home with personalised furnishings. Friendly helpful advice and amazing cooked breakfast.
Ensuite Room comfortable and good temperature.
Only problem was the traffic on the main road could be heard from our room, and it goes on all night.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elephantemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarum1, Owner at Sarum Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are sorry that you found the noise of the traffic disturbing. During December there was an in increase traffic flow along this road as a result of road works and a diversion from another main route into Salisbury. In a normal traffic situation and with our excellent double glazing the sound is not usually an issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

A one night stay in order to be at Stonehenge for the Winter Solstice. We were met at the top of a long stairway by a scruffy man who didn't smile, introduce himself or say hello. He did not give us a chance to speak, and kept talking over us and not listening to what we were requesting. His manner was very abrasive, and quite frankly, rude. If we hadn't already prepaid for the room I think we would have walked out then and there. This man is clearly in the wrong business, and needs to take a basic course in customer service and interpersonal skills.
The room was adequate, but too hot, the bed was not comfortable, the carpet stained and the towels scratchy and a dirty grey colour (supposed to be white). The bathroom was not ensuite and was tiny with a very noisy extractor fan.
Positives: there was a good supply of tea, coffee etc in the room, the WiFi was good, and Sue accommodated us for a later breakfast when we came back from Stonehenge at about 9:30.
All in all, I cannot recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 869Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarumHeights, Owner at Sarum Heights, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

I greeted you with a 'welcome to Sarum Heights' as I do with all our guests but unfortunately you were too busy complaining about the steps to the front door to notice! The 'long stairway' as you describe the steps from the carpark to our front door is clearly described on both our own website and that of Booking.com through whom you booked. There are even photos to illustrate this access, so we consider it a failure on your part not to have taken this into consideration especially when trying to carry such large bags as yours. We obviously then did not get off to a good start! I was not being rude to you, I was simply trying to explain our breakfast times to you. I need not need full details of your days itinerary, and yes we did go out of our way to serve you breakfast much later than normal.
You did not book an en-suite room but one with a private shower room - again the full details of this room are given on the website. If you found it too hot you only needed to have turned down the thermostat on the radiator or opened one of the three windows in the room. My wife did apologise to you for the stains on the carpet and explained that we have had some guests who do not treat our home with the respect it deserves. The carpets have been professionally cleaned and will be replaced as soon as we are able. I am sorry you did not find our towels as white, soft and fluffy as you had hoped. We do replace them on a regular basis. Perhaps next time you are booking accommodation, you may wish to spend more than £30 per person in order to receive the higher standard you are obviously looking for as our 3 star homely B&B was obviously not to your taste.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews