We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveller rating
372
383
124
28
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
383
124
28
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub wetherspoon hotels car park the river breakfast not included excellent bathroom long stay saturday night biscuits central location excellent location nice room air conditioning street noise would stay again first floor good size
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 943 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017

I went to this pub during a visit to Salisbury, it was fairly busy at the time so I just had a drink, the food looked good, was standard Wetherspoon fare. This is also a hotel, but there is no on site parking. Pub is well worth a visit, recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank B7152FJpeterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Very friendly staff, perfectly located, reasonably priced,very clean.
Would recommend it to anyone
A great place to stay. Good food wonderfully comfortable beds.
In the best position for the town center and cathedral

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank imaci2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear imaci2017,

Thank you for your lovely review and 5* rating!

We’re glad to hear that our wonderful central location was helpful during your stay, as we are only a short walk from all the shops and restaurants that Salisbury has to offer, including our beautiful Salisbury Cathedral.

It’s great that you were warmly welcomed during your visit and that you found our level of cleanliness in keeping with our own exacting standards.

We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we’re thrilled that you would recommend us to others.

We look forward to welcoming you at The King’s Head Inn during your next Salisbury visit.

Kind regards,

Gina Hawkins
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

I like Wetherspoons Hotels as they generally provide a good experience for the associated cost.
In this case I have to report that this was the case.
Firstly there was no Wetherspoons sign outside and as such I walked past it.
Secondly I tried to excess the hotel but the lift did not appear to work (it is very slow and you have to wait a long time for it)
Thirdly as I am a light sleeper I asked for a quiet room however there was quite a bit of noise, this might have been from the kitchen as it subsided at 9pm but started at 5am the next morning.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank ggaryburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear ggaryburgess,

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback.

We appreciate all comments, as this allows us to improve our service and ensure that our guests have a great stay with us.

We do have a Wetherspoon sign, which is located on the right hand side of the building when approaching the Bar entrance, however we understand that this sign can be easily missed when approaching from the other side and we will look into alternatives to ensure our Hotel is well labelled.

We apologise that there was an issue with the elevator during your stay, the Hotel can also be accessed via a stair entrance if this is preferable and I can assure you that our elevator is regularly maintained by a licensed contractor.

While we endevour to fulfil requests, we do have only a limited number of these room types available. Please contact us directly to arrange a quieter room on 01722 438 400.

We hope to welcome you again soon at The King’s Head Inn during your next Salisbury visit.

Kind regards,

Gina Hawkins
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Arrived to check in just after 2pm on a Saturday - hotel reception sign pointed to a lift which looked like it needed a keycard to access. Sign also said to ask at bar about hotel check-in so we went to the bar. 5 deep so had to queue for 30 mins. Eventually get to the bar and bar person says hotel is nothing to do with them and she can’t help! Tells us to use intercom outside the door in the street. We did this and was advised the lift should work as keycard not needed until after 8pm.

So a stressful start to our stay. Room was well decorated and appointed but noise from disco was loud and continued to gone 2am.

After check-in we explored Salisbury for a bit and returned to the hotel & pub for a drink and food. Bar was quieter so we got some drinks. Went to order food and it had got busy again. Took me 45 mins to get to bar to order food! They simply haven’t got enough staff for the size of pub.

It’s a shame but we won’t stay there again or recommend based completely on the performance of the pub. Please sort it whetherspoons as it could have been a great stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JamesJ_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear JamesJ_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We’re sorry that your experience in the Bar negatively affected your stay with us.

As stated on the signage, the elevator only requires keycard access between 8pm and 8am to ensure our guests feel safe and secure over night, however we apologise for how this misunderstanding was handled by the Bar Staff.

Since your visit, we have amended our signage to include information about the intercom system to ensure our guests have a quick and easy check in.

Kind regards,

Gina Hawkins
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Excellent room fairly quiet checked in room freezing. Portable heater arrived in minutes . Pdq down they took my payment twice not happy about that tho 3 days later I got it back. Pub very busy but nice

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Lyn H,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We’re so glad that you found your room to be of excellent quality and quiet despite our wonderful central location based right in the heart of Salisbury.

It’s great to hear that our approachable Reception Team assisted you so swiftly and rectified the issue with your room temperature.

We’re so sorry that you were accidentally charged twice, our card machine was not operational during your stay, which meant we were unable to take payment directly from our guests, as per our standard practice. We apologise that this change in procedure meant that payment was taken incorrectly. Please be assured that as soon as our error was detected, the excess amount taken was refunded, as we wanted the impact on you to be as minimal as possible.

Once again, I apologise for you being incorrectly charged and we hope to welcome you again soon at The King’s Head Inn during your next Salisbury visit.

Kind regards,

Gina Hawkins
Hotel Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews