We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Busdriver

The busdriver coming from Salisbury more stupid in the world. Unpolite 100%. The tour was ok but... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
josefmanuell
via mobile
Great way to get to Stonehenge

I was doing a solo day trip to Bath and wanted to finish the day at Stonehenge before heading back... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2018
Stefanie W
Read all 313 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Salisbury
from USD 295.90
More Info
from USD 9.60
More Info
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
119
99
41
21
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
99
41
21
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide tour bus double decker bus salisbury train station actual stones scarper tours dirt road red bus visitor center day trip winter solstice return journey entry ticket actual site gift shop salisbury cathedral take photos
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Although the arquelogical site is full with tourists, there are some vues that are very impressive. It´s best to get here with one of the tour busses that depart from Salisbury every 45 minutes becuase you skip staying in line to buy the tickets. There is a small path that takes you to the monument or you can take a minibus. At the entrance it is interesting to visit the museum and the shop.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank TonantzinS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

What more could you want for getting from Point A to Point B? We took the bus from the Salisbury railway station. Do be aware that if you plan to buy tickets once at the railway station, you will be buying them straight from the driver on the bus and it's cash only - no credit cards. This is probably indicated somewhere on their website, but it wasn't really on our radar, so glad we had ample cash on hand. The bus arrived exactly on time and provided a comfortable ride to and from the stones. We enjoyed sitting on the top deck of the bus, particularly as it maneuvered through the busy streets of Salisbury. Also enjoyed the audio commentary by way of earbuds that we plugged into ports at our seats. Timing arrival and departure with the Stonehenge shuttles was easy; the longest we ever waited for transport was only about 5 minutes. Our driver was friendly and personable. Would definitely recommend this as a great way to visit Stonehenge.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Bajablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Just to make sure: if you only book the Stonehenge bus tour, you will get to see the stones as close as everyone can. You can also book tickets including the cathedral and the old serum. The bus also has USB charger port.

As you arrive to Salisbury train station, once you leave from the exit, the tour bus is just on the left hand side. As you hop in, you get a headset so that you can listen to the autorecorded guide. It is very good. It follows the bus and as the bus drives forward, the guide gives you almost like live information.

I was there March 24th. Not so many people. But depending on the time of yoi3r visit, you might want to book tickets in advance.

I would definitely recommend to take this tour. They know what they are doing.

Date of experience: March 2018
4  Thank cemremnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Stonehenge may or may not be as thrilling in person as one expects, and the cold wind whips across the plains... but it's certainly a must-see sight. They manage the crowds fairly well, and the visitor center is very well done and informative. Given the book-ahead time slots and generally difficulty of getting there, buying the bus/tour ticket worked very well for us. And it's always fun to ride around in the top of a double decker bus! The only complaint I have is for the Old Sarum part, which was not all that obvious. The bus stopped along the street and the driver just sort of said go left, we had to walk a ways looking for some sign. This site was wonderful (I think I enjoyed it more than stonehenge itself). From that Old Sarum stop, you can catch any red bus back to the city center, so we didn't have to wait for the hourly tour bus.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Far more interesting watching all the documentaries everything seemed bigger and bolder.35 pounds was steep for the bus journey which includes entry into the site which is cleverly designed not to be seen from the road.The 35 pounds also allowed you into a modern gallery with phrases by different people guessing what Stonehenge purpose might of been- unnecessary but pay minimal on the bus from Salisbury arrive and from the paying point you can just walk without actually having to pay to see the Stones-nobody is told of that option.Less than a kilometre on the open Salisbury plain.Making it a very cold place thanks to the wind chill factor. Bus drivers of this Stonehenge buses were selling the 35 pounds quite hard and i felt slightly intimidated by it all the hard sell.

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews