We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The icing on the surprise birthday cake!”

The White Horse Inn
Ranked #104 of 280 Restaurants in Salisbury
Price range: USD 7 - USD 40
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The White Horse Inn welcomes you and your family to our historic pub and gardens. Whether visiting Salisbury or heading to the New Forest or South Coast we are ideally situated. Serving delicious meals 7 days a week, with thirst quenching local ales and a varied wine list we have something for everyone here at The White Horse Inn.
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I can't recommend The White Horse Inn and the team there highly enough. Suggested as a venue by family when a prior venue had let me down quite close to the date of my husband's surprise 40th birthday party, Cheryl, Clare and the team came to the rescue! Firstly they were a pleasure to deal with, nothing was a problem, they sent emails and menus promptly and when they said they would, meaning that it was all sorted very quickly! They gave us use of the Old Stables private room without additional fees as long as we were eating which was fantastic. The menus were delicious and very reasonably priced making it an affordable event, plus they had a BBQ option which was great and just the ticket for a bloke-filled party! They were flexible about menu options and kindly accommodated my requests. On the day, the food exceeded expectations, being even tastier than described and of a very high quality. All the guests have raved about the party and have been complimenting me on every aspect, especially the food, but I have to share that praise with the White Horse and team, as without them it would have been a bit of a nightmare! This venue helped make the day extra special and I would recommend them to anyone thinking of having a party or get together. Thank you Cheryl, Clare and all the staff there.

1  Thank kimhandford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled that your husband's birthday party was a success. We take every effort to ensure that a special occasion is just that and the whole team appreciates your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

We have used this Pub twice now and had very good food and good service. We visited early evening, we were served promptly choose our own table and ate from the Specials Board. Very clean through-out and checked during the meal, what more could you ask for.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SimonRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We change our specials regularly so will always have something new for you to try! We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

After staying locally, we spotted a sign for a live band so thought we would pop along for dinner. The food was pretty good and the staff were very friendly. The music was not to our taste (70/80's rock tribute style act) but others seemed to enjoy it. The evening was not perfect due to another customer constantly smoking on her vape stick whilst we were eating (thankfully just finishing our meal).

A really lovely pub though with a lot of character

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mountier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that your overall experience was positive and that you appreciated our extensive gin collection! We have recently reviewed our policy on vaping and now no longer allow it within the building but will be looking at additional signage to make customers aware of this. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing food. Very accommodating staff and child friendly venue. Will definitely go again and try their other menus.

Thank Brandon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Last visited nearly four years ago when I said we would return,. And we did. Family lunch to "celebrate" the end of the schools holidays. Goats cheese salad, ham, egg and chips x 2, and halloumi, pesto and pine nut salad all good, as were the desserts. Unfortunately, my fish and chips were undistinguished to say the least. No problems with four stars, however.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex450212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl P, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you chose to return and that you were pleased with the majority of the food. I'm not entirely sure what to make of your comment about "undistinguished fish and chips" but I'm glad that you experience was a positive one overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

 
Redlynch, New Forest National Park Wiltshire
 
Salisbury, Wiltshire
Salisbury, Wiltshire
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing