We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chapter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chapter House
Ranked #5 of 58 Salisbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Only stayed one night, but will definately go back again. I don't think I've ever thought of a hotel as 'fun' but this one is. The cow theme runs all the way through from the bar and restaurant through to the lovely rooms. The staircase is 'interesting' - not a single step that's level. Not easy in 4" heels! The room was very well furnished and decorated. Slices of tree trunk on the walls isn't something you see every day, but it really worked. The floors in the bedroom and bathroom were sloping in different directions, and like the staricase, added to the charm. complimentary bottle of wine, little pack of sweets, sleep spray, and great coffee maker (once I'd worked it out!) all helped to enhance the stay. The only slight problem with the room was that the cold tap only seemed to give out hot water, not a big issue and no doubt due to the age of the building.

Breakfast was very tasty, with lots of choice and the staff very friiendly. They seem to have some very good offers on, so we'll be going back to try the food one evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    146
    62
    43
    35
See reviews for
89
310
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Really different quirky hotel with great attention to detail.
Room and bathroom spacious and well decorated.
Nice touches re coffee machine, bottled water, sleep spray etc.
Restaurant good with amazing breakfasts

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Great hotel to be commended for its attention to detail. It was refreshing to come to a hotel that is not run of the mill. Very friendly staff. Vegetarians beware (the clue's in the name!), definitely for meat eaters. However, given the responsiveness of the management, I'm sure they'd willingly offer more vegetarian options if you asked. Fantastic location for the cathedral and centre of Salisbury.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel doesn't have a level floor or straight wall in the whole place which surprisingly adds to it's charm. The rooms are spacious and decorated to a high standard. It's situated in a central location with The town centra and Salisbury Cathedral just a short walk away. The hotel has a fantastic steak house attached serving breakfast lunch and dinner and is well worth a visit (the onion rings are an absolute must). All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWelshTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here as a place to rest our heads after a friends wedding. I know Salisbury very well but this hotel is relatively new. Having looked at the website I thought it all looked all out of budget as its very high spec but in a word it's not,it's incredible value for top notch everything! The attention to detail,complementary bottle of wine, old school sweets,White Company toiletries which your encouraged to take home in your "swag bag"! The staff could not have been anymore helpful,they were chilled out yet organised and bent over backwards to make us feel welcome even when we returned at 1am and had drinks in the bar.
I haven't even mentioned our room,we had room 5 which is big. Upon entering the room we were suddenly embarrasses thinking there's no way can afford this,it couldn't be the £80 we were quoted but it was! Everything had been thought of,the room had everything and more that you'd need. iPod dock, 42 inch tv,Teapig tea bags,bottle of wine,fluffy dressing gowns.
Breakfast the next morning was very good. We didn't feel rushed or the need to get up at a ridiculous time, 9-12pm. Plus the food was never ending,all the hash browns you can eat.and again waitresses who were friendly and more than accommodating.
For what was meant to be a just a place to sleep had made our weekend even better than expected.
If we had to have one niggle is that there is no car park so we parked in the multi storey over night,this is expensive at £39. However there is a normal car park down the road which is £10 over night. But on the whole i can't praise this hotel enough!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i-love_holidays10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salisbury hotels
0.4 km away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Red Lion Hotel
#10 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.8 km away
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
Legacy Rose & Crown Hotel
#7 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.0 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapter House

Property: The Chapter House
Address: 9-13 St John's St, Salisbury SP1 2SB, England (Formerly The Lazy Cow)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Salisbury
Price range (per night): $150 - $216
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chapter House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of historic Salisbury, The Chapter House comprises a cosy steakhouse restaurant, friendly pub and 17 comfortable letting rooms. It lies within easy reach of some of Southern England's most important landmarks. The stone for the Salisbury Cathedral, a mere five minute walk away, was cut in what is now the restaurant, making the hotel's initial construction almost 800 years old. Some of the original stone and ironwork is still left exposed inside the property. The 17 boutique en-suite rooms are all unique and quirky, some with original panelling and fireplaces and all with fluffy goose down duvets, Egyptian cotton linen, luxurious H2K toiletries and flatscreen TVs. The Chapter House boasts a bustling restaurant and grillhouse where flame grilled steaks, a la carte dining and hearty pub food are served in an ambient environment. The perfect base when visiting Wiltshire's historic sites, The Chapter House is also an ideal stop over en route to the coast or as a home-from-home option when on a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your The Chapter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lazy Cow Hotel Salisbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing